We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it - we didn't want to leave!”
Review of QT Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
QT Port Douglas
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Reviewed 4 March 2014

A fantastic place to relax and enjoy Port Douglas. We loved the modern rooms with fun and colourful decor. Bar, foyer and dining areas were equally as eye-catching. Comfy bed. Beautiful pool - I could happily have spent my entire stay on a poolside sun lounge, ordering cocktails from the swim-up bar. Friendly staff. Nice grounds. Outdoor yoga class and lap pool were nice touches. Hubby and I enjoyed a night at the outdoor cinema. Taco night was tasty. Having a washing machine in the room was handy. Great pool snacks/meals/cocktails. Spa treatment was divine. Excellent buffet breakfast with lots of choice - the old guy making the omelettes and pancakes was fantastic and made food to order each morning, always with a smile. Easy walk to the beach. Only downside is that the resort is a bit far from the main Port Douglas strip. But we actually didn't mind this too much and enjoyed the 20 minute stroll into town, sometimes catching the bus when we couldn't be bothered walking. Probably not ideal for people who are only staying for a couple of days and are short on time, or for people who have limited mobility. But I'd definitely stay here again and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sendmail2linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

941 - 947 of 1,317 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

It was an awesome stay at QT. Awesome ambience, rooms were very comfortable, food was good, the staff was really helpful.
The guy at the bar made us a Cocktail of Dragon fruit with our choices, it was really very very good.. Also you should definitely try the MANGO HABANERO DRUNKEN PRAWNS, it is an awesome dish.
We had a booked a package for 2 nights, which included breakfast and 1 dinner.. It was value for money as it was a great Lavish stay. Also for dinner, the chefs personally asked our taste and what would we like to have, they prepared an awesome meal.
The rooms were amazing. The pool area was great..
A really recommended hotel to stay and enjoy your time... I would definitely stay here again....

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiharikaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We had three nights QT (Friday to Mon). Our room was a bit smelly (damp) but nice. Comfortable!! We had two children with us. We had a great time and all was fab until Sat night. The hotel became very busy but the staff did not increase. The hotel was filthy especially the pool which was not being cleaned. Drinks glasses and fruit peel used straws littered the pool surrounds and were floating in the pool. It was disgusting. Staff became tired and as a result grumpy. Customer service went down the toilet.
The next day (Australia Day) things got worse.
Overall we had a nice time but felt that we did not receive value for money.
Mozzies are bad here too. We all got numerous bites. Mostly at dinner time in the restaurant.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank jarvisnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear past QT Port Douglas guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Firstly I have to say that the previous review in regards to food I completely disagree with.

My now husband and I have just returned from a 13 day stay at the QT port douglas for our honeymoon and we have enjoyed it immensely.

The customer service provided to us at check in and check out was fantastic. All staff were extremely helpful during our stay. Thank you to Dave from Estillo for your fab cocktails and your chats to make us feel welcome. The chef at breakfast service became our best friend and he rushed over to us every morning for fresh eggs Benedict!

We stayed in a one bedroom pool side apartment and it was great. Wasn't the boring old hotel room you usually get and we were very happy. We were greeted with a lovely bottle of sparkling wine to congratulate us on our recent wedding, although the incorrect name, it was a lovely thought haha!

The toiletry supplies were what I thought luxurious and loved them! I loved that you could buy everything in the room also.

The pool area was great, although unfortunately the pool bar did not open until our last day which we were so busy could not enjoy. Also further to disagreeing with the precious review, all the pool glasses ARE acrylic plastic, there are signs EVERYWHERE stating that glass cannot be taken in and I would highly doubt that the trained staff would allow otherwise. Very safe area in my opinion.

We had a lovely massage in our room as spaQ was closed for renovations, it was so relaxing and the girls did an awesome jobs adapting to the unusual surroundings.

We were a a bit disappointed that bazaar was closed throughout the duration of our stay besides the first day, however the once off dinner we had was amazing.

Overall, we loved our stay, I wish that there was more entertainment offered for the guests in the wet season when there aren't much activities outside of the resort to do. However we would stay again and I hope we do!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Brooke F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

The staff were all great but it was odd to be greeted by needing a credit card on check in and then saying that $1 would be charged for them to check it! On check out we were told this was to be returned some 5 days after our stay. As I say the staff were all young, zippy and very helpful.

We were very worried by people having their drinks supplied in glasses around the pool. This is just so dangerous. Acrylic is really essential round the pool area in case of breakage. The dining let the resort slip from 5 stars for us. Lunch was excellent on day one but day two maybe saw a change of chef as the evening meal we ordered was very ordinary. The bruchetta was just bread with topping and the Caesar salad came with chopped up iceberg lettuce with large pieces of bacon and was smothered in dressing. Breakfast the next morning was strange with an odd brew of what looked like mizo soup but was apparently porridge soup according to the chef! Has anyone heard of such runny porridge that you have to call it soup? Also to put out black skinned bananas is just poor. Yes, they go black if stored in the fridge but for such a resort they should be cooked or used elsewhere. Finally the coffee was p... weak. With your eyes shut it could have been tea or just hot water. Again, the staff were fun, helpful and lovely but the kitchen needs attention.

Room Tip: If you book a disability room the water runs all over the floor! We used lots of towels to mop it u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darknell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear past QT Port Douglas guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at the QT Port Douglas for a week for a relaxing break. This resort is so lovely but what really made the difference for us was their AMAZING FRIENDLY STAFF! Every single person we came into contact with was friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The resort is beautiful, restaurants, pool and amenities are fantastic. Thanks so much QT :)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Odette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear gorgeous QT Port Douglas guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

The bed was to die for, very comfortable.
Staff so-so, pool just ok, very shallow, and bottles , glasses, etc not cleaned up from the day before, till around lunch time.
Just felt, its more of a holiday resort for the staff.
Paying holiday makers need to come first.
Staff not rude, just not going to pass away from stress. Oh before i get a reply from the manager, please go to Bali, and see how the customers are looked after.
Could be a really great place, But just isn't

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank common1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear past QT Port Douglas guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.9 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
530 reviews
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#15 of 42 in Port Douglas
910 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
721 reviews
1.7 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,031 reviews
1.6 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#16 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range: £95 - £208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing