We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Winter Escape”
Review of QT Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
QT Port Douglas
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Port Douglas
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Winter Escape”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I travelled to QT Port Douglas with some friends who were visitng from SE QLD. The 2 bedroom villa was more than comfortable for 3 adults and toddler and the location of the villa was quite and perfect for families.

Breakfast at QT is always a treat with the Chef cooking fresh omlettes every morning. The juice shots are also a nice touch and a great way to start the day. Great variety of food and and wonderful relaxed location. The dinner at Estillo Bar was also really good and the staff were very accommodating and helpful.

The 2.5 hour trip to the day spa was the highlight of my stay. The prices are really reasonable for the high level of service and quality of products used.

I didn't quite get to make it to the Moonlight Cinema located at QT but will definitely make point to go on my next visit.

All in all it was another great escape and a wonderful weekend away. The hotel has a great vibe which is complimented by the helpful and polite staff. Will definitely be returning in the near future!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ME_Petersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    505
    397
    206
    97
    44
See reviews for
301
573
43
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (322)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I left QT Port Douglas with only one disappointment… that I wasn’t staying for longer. On my recent visit to QT, the staff were friendly, attentive and go above and beyond where they don’t need to.

The dining experience at Bazaar Marketplace is one of particular note, both the service and the quality of what was on our (very quickly empty) plates was outstanding. The chef was also able to accommodate for tricky requests (we had a vegan in our party). But for me.. that pork. Wow.

The bar staff were consistently charismatic and energetic; they will not only know your favorite drink within a day but be able to whip something new and tasty according to what your feeling like. Nothing like relaxing poolside with a good cocktail in hand!

The service was flawless and really did exceed expectations (of which are already quite high having stayed at one of their sister hotels, QT Gold Goast.)

Thank you QT, will be back soon again to escape this Sydney summer.. You were stellar!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanna_Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Port Douglas guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Loved our 4 night stay here with my husband and baby girl! We ended up eating in the Estilo Bar every single night as they had a great special on every night. The $3 taco night was the best! The meat inside the tacos was superb and high quality. In fact all the food was high quality (but reasonably priced), they obviously hire good chefs here.The drinks were good, funky bar area, loved the colourful scatter cushions and different seating options. The staff were friendly. The rooms were the best, luxurious and trendy, I was pleasantly surprised at how spacious the one bedroom apartments were. TWO balconies! nice looking onto the tropical gardens and pond. The house keeping people were great. It is good to finally stay in a hotel that is up with the times and not outdated!! (Free portacots available if you have a baby!)
Only improvements would be an improvement in the coffee (perhaps hire a really good barista?), heat the pool up a bit and while I liked the music choice it got a touch loud after a while.
I'll definitely be back!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Emily888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Port Douglas guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights and although our stay was pleasant, we feel the resort is more suited to the younger tourists. We are in our mid 50 s and felt out of place. Lying around the pool was nice but the music was played very loud. We purchased lunch and coffees from the inside bar and felt we were interrupting the staff by placing an order. All the younger female customers got all the attention from one batman in particular who gave them a hug and an extra shot of alcohol after they shared some friendly chatter with him. I would however like to compliment Jason from the house keeping staff who was very helpful and courteous after our towels were not replaced one morning.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monfrique, Guest Relations Manager at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Yvonne,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us some feedback. We hope you were able to have a lovely time at the resort even if you did feel a bit out of place (We're firm believers that guests of all ages are entitled to the same amount of fun at our hotel!).
We will pass on your feedback about the staff, thanks for letting us know - it's reviews like this one that help us to continually improve.

We hope to see you again in the future,
Monique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We turned up at Port Douglas around 5pm without any bookings and first tried the Sheraton but they were booked out so we booked them for the next couple of days. The person at the desk recommended the QT (just across the road) so we went there and got a room for the night. We were upgraded (I think) to a bigger room.

The room was amazing. Lounge, full kitchen, free WiFi, and very handy for up, a laundry. Not much of a view but no complaints there. We had dinner at the bar (rather than the buffet) and then had a swim (by ourselves). There was a swim up bar (but it was closed). Very comfortable bed, quiet night, not sure if we had neighbours or not. My only complaint would be that the decor is slightly "funky" and "modern" but at least it is new. Also, there was a handprint on the wall above our bed which was a bit creepy but easily missed by the cleaners I guess.

Breakfast was included and it was brilliant. The buffet was incredible with a huge choice of food. I'm told people walk across from the Sheraton for breakfast and I'm not surprised.

We spent the next two nights at the Sheraton and honestly I'd recommend people stayed at the QT instead of the Sheraton. It's much better value for money and generally better quality (although the Sheraton pool is amazing).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anaussiemusicfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Port Douglas guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for 3 days. Dinner at Bazaar was very nice and of good value. Would definitely go back ! The only downside i could think of was only the wheather but ofcourse it has nothing to do with the hotel. So overall it was a great experience!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanofOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petrie, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I cannot boast enough about this place. Its like no other i have ever been to. Stunning to look at, the layout is different to anything else ive ever seen. The room we stayed in had its own lounge and dining, mini kitchen, two balconies and a spa bath. The beds were really really comfortable. The pool was flawless, and the view from our room was just palm trees and greenery everywhere. The staff were friendly, and we ordered room service from the bar, and the waitress took it up to our room and put it in our fridge for us! I do believe I have put on about five kilos, because the food was AMAZING.. the breakfast chefs cooked anything that wasn't on the buffet (which wasn't much, there was almost everything and anything, i asked for fried mushrooms) at your request with a smile. I would give this place ten stars if I could. I went with a girlfriend as a weekend away, and am reviewing based on that. It is the ULTIMATE chick trip. THANK YOU QT

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krystal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Port Douglas guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 42 in Port Douglas
810 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pool Resort Port Douglas
Pool Resort Port Douglas
#24 of 42 in Port Douglas
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#27 of 42 in Port Douglas
486 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
686 reviews
1.6 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Property: QT Port Douglas
Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#6 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#17 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing