We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great but could be amazing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of QT Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
QT Port Douglas
Ranked #22 of 43 Hotels in Port Douglas
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great but could be amazing!”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We were most fortunate to stay here for 6 nights in a Mai Tai Spa Suite.
Our accommodation was spacious and well-equipped and the standard of housekeeping was excellent. We also had the added advantage of a private deck with jacuzzi. Absolute bliss after a busy day sightseeing. Our huge bed was a great deal softer than what we are used to, but we soon got used to that.
The hotel is nicely situated in beautiful gardens with waterways that are stunning with beautiful flowering lilies. The pool area is attractive too.
We ate and drank in the Estilo Bar on a number if occasions. It was good quality informal dining and the service was friendly and attentive.
However, there are two key improvements which would make this hotel one of the best:
The music: in the Bazaar Restaurant, the Estilo Bar, by the poolside, always booming club music. Not to everyone's taste!
Breakfast: our experience of breakfast in Bazaar was variable; good selection of fruit, juices, pastries, coffees and teas. However the quality and presentation of the cooked fare seemed to depend on the staff at the cooking station. For example, on occasion there were piles of fried eggs heaped onto the hot plate when it would have been far better to have cooked these to order or in small numbers. Same with the poached eggs which seemed to sit for a while, hardening. It was also the case that we needed to seek out bowls for fruit, spoons, etc. Seemed that sometimes the staff, whilst friendly and helpful, were not on top of things. Such a shame.
This is a lovely hotel with great potential. Just a few small improvements would make this something really special.

Room Tip: We had a Mai Tai Spa Suite which was lovely, with private deck and jacuzzi. The Mai Tai block is aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Invernesstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    480
    368
    185
    90
    42
See reviews for
278
530
43
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

Very pleasant tropical and trendy bar and reception area. Room not to the same level, even smelling mould but still ok. Breakfast was good ( specially with the chef cooking minute-food) but way too expensive. The only coffee inc in breakfast was the average black coffee from the automated machine, and anything from barista is coming as an extra. Service smiley even if slightly approximative. Large and nice pool area! Overall atmospheric hotel with a good vibe.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karine022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear past QT guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team. I do think you mean 'Mogans live here', not 'Bogans live here' though.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qld, Australia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I loved this hotel this time last year but this time it was hit and miss. E.g. Room not ready when I arrived early so they said they'd phone me but didn't. A housekeeper knocked over my flowers in their vase so cleaned it up but left my roses on the bench and didn't tell reception (all the in room stuff is for sale); and the service from the young backpacker staff was very spotty. After 3pm the housekeeping carts were just left in corridors and supply rooms left wide open all night. One bartender told me emphatically there were no premium wines, only the bar list although I asked specifically about the restaurant (which was hardly open). Next night I mentioned it to a different bartender who immediately checked and there were off list options after all- I'm allergic to some wine so it matters. There are no lifts so I lugged my own luggage two floors although staff walked past me without comment. It sure isn't QT Gold Coast. A wonderful town but I am going to check out another stay next time cos nothing is standout.

Room Tip: Avoid overlooking the pool, noisy. The Maitai wing at back is quiet and scenic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grismans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear past QT Port Douglas guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

stayed here 1 night for a 2 day work conference. Got in early at 9.30am and 1 of our 2 rooms was ready and they let us check in! That came as a pleasant surprise straight away. The room was the garden view room and was really lovely! The staff uniforms left a lot to be desired and not much to the imagination with the girls! The venue was beautifully designed and decorated and I'd be happy to stay there again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kristy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Port Douglas guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We stayed 1 night at this hotel in July and this is what we found:
- Hotel room itself is spacious and modern with lots of bright vibrant colours which I love. The hotel has an interesting concept in that a lot of the things within the room itself are actually for sale. But that is when we realised there was no room for practicality. For instance there were no baggage racks which meant everything had to go onto the floor - very inconvenient. The hairdryer was for sale... does that mean one can't use it if required? And even if you wanted to purchase, would one really want to buy one that's been used by previous patrons? Hmm.... Oh and by the way - when you're listing something for sale like a metal pineapple, make sure you remove the old price of $30 on the bottom when you're listing it for sale at $45...
- Bed was large and very comfortable BUT unfortunately my sleep was disturbed by a group of very loud obnoxious ill-mannered girls in the room opposite who wouldn't stop laughing and talking loudly and playing music loudly into the early hours of the morning. Yes we complained about the noise but then you could hear them even flirting with the guy who was sent to shut them up!! They didn't seem to take note and continued on their merry way throughout the night which made this the worst night to put up with - not really a fault of the hotel but seriously people have some respect for others!!! Next time I will be tempted to simply call the police to attend...
- The shower isn't properly sealed, as water was still able to spurt out between the joins which meant a small puddle of water piling up outside and which unfortunately soaked some clothing left on the floor, so not happy with that!
- There was free room WIFI which connected well, however we had to ring up for the password as reception ommitted to mention this to us on time of checking in.
- There is plenty of free parking available. We had a hire car and found it wasn't very far from the main city area, although it would be too far to walk there on foot...

Overall this hotel had very little character despite its desire to be vibrant and modern. We booked the hotel as a mystery hotel but even then it was not cheap and I would definitely not be back here any time soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kimbopumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear past QT guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team. I do think you mean 'Mogans live here', not 'Bogans live here' though.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The Good:

Fantastic breakfast (and barista coffee at extra cost). Breakfast was really great. There was a wide variety of options on offer and it really added value to the experience of staying at QT. The restaurant and bar staff were super friendly, I couldn't fault them.

The housekeeping staff were bright and happy which is a great change. Each time you would walk past them they would smile and say hello. This is a real refreshing change.

The gardens are great here and there is an impressive lagoon on the property next to the restaurant which has a collection of exotic fish. Much of this is unnoticed by guests and perhaps QT could use this asset more to their advantage?

The room we stayed in was a self-contained one bedroom apartment. Now we didn't expect this and it was a pleasant surprise to stay in a massive room with 2 large flat screen TVs, 2 balconies and so on. The room also had a small kitchen but I was puzzled to discover there was no range hood, so I'm not sure how it would go cooking inside (I never tried)?

The complimentary Wifi was very good at this hotel as compared to other major resorts I've been to. QT clearly value this facility for guests.

The pool area is quite large and space never seemed to be an issue and there was always a lounge chair to be had.

We also tried the buffet dinner at $65 per head one evening. Now this is expensive, however the variety of food was expansive and the seafood was a plenty. You have to expect this price in Port Douglas Australia for what was on offer. The food was delicious and we really enjoyed ourselves!

The Bad:

The pool is too cold for winter even in Port Douglas. It could be tolerable if they heated the spas, but this wasn't the case. This isn't an issue just for QT Port Douglas as I experienced this at other resorts in Queensland. I think this comes down to money.

We hired 2 bikes from the gym one day which were complimentary to resort guests. However, the hand-over process is bordering on stupidity. I had to fill out a condition report on 2 bikes which were not worth more than $50 each. It was so stupid and a waste of everybody's time. The condition report was highly detailed and it was up to me (the guest) to perform tests on the bikes and a detailed inspection of the condition. It is pertinent to note that I hired a $30,000 car for my stay in Port Douglas and I didn't have to fill out a condition report like I did for these worthless bikes. Here is an idea QT, why don't you keep a condition report on each bike, let the guest know the known faults/condition and for them to report back to QT if they feel it's any different? Why does a condition report have to be performed from scratch on each occasion? Really, they were cheap bikes and not worth the trouble of the process. Also, there is no booking system for the bikes, so you have to walk all the way to the gym, some 200 metres to find out all the bikes are gone. Could it have been too much trouble for front desk to call the gym and find out availability upon my enquiry?


All in all, this is a good modern place to stay with a young funky vibe and a killer breakfast to boot. However, some processes need reviewing.

Room Tip: Mosquitos do inhabit the area. Bring repellant and spray it under your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mcommins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear past QT Port Douglas guest,

We appreciate your feedback and will take time to run through it with our team.

With warmest regards,

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I liked this place, I think QT hotels have a great feel to them with the modern and bright decors. The lobby and bar area is great for indoor and outdoor food and drinks featuring a pool table and table tennis. Overall it was a very pleasant experience, fans and air cons in rooms which is a bonus, nice breakfast buffet. Overall good value

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sasrowlandsQT, Director of Social Media at QT Port Douglas, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear gorgeous QT Port Douglas guest,

Thanks so much for a brilliant shout out! We love that you loved us and look forward to seeing you again soonest.

Sas
QT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
0.6 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
1.4 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
689 reviews
1.7 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oaks Lagoons
Oaks Lagoons
#16 of 43 in Port Douglas
736 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Paradise Links Resort Port Douglas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to QT Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about QT Port Douglas

Property: QT Port Douglas
Address: 87-109 Port Douglas Rd, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia (Formerly Rydges)
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Port Douglas
#7 Spa Hotel in Port Douglas
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Port Douglas
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Port Douglas
#18 Luxury Hotel in Port Douglas
#22 Family Hotel in Port Douglas
#24 Romantic Hotel in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — QT Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The next instalment in the QT Resorts series, QT Port Douglas, will be ready to bed on May the 12th, 2012.QT Resorts were launched by QT Port Douglas' gorgeous sister resort, QT Gold Coast, and this second coastal paradise will also include signature concepts such as the Bazaar Marketplace dining option that has quickly become the number one rated culinary experience on the Gold Coast. All guest rooms have been given a facelift with new QT beds, 42" flat screen TVs, and hand-sourced stylish fabrics and finishes. You will see in this resort the thread of designer decor that lifts QT Resorts to a new level of sophistication. The addition of 100 sun loungers by the pool can also be seen, forming the perfect vantage point from which to sip the day away. QT Port Douglas has a new open bar area, Estilo, which will be the place where you whet your lips before you dine in Bazaar, and to keep you swimwear ready, we also have begun an update on our gym and leisure offerings. From June until September, you can take in the balmy nights in front of a custom cinematic experience, Moonlight Cinema, designed especially for our guests. This sun kissed resort is a must for a lover of designer hotels and resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your QT Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges Sabaya Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing