We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place but a little expensive, studio room small”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 March 2008

While the hotel is truly nice and very new, the studio room we stayed in was very small.
I think that area generally had very nice hotels so we overpayed the 200$ a night there. The people managing were very nice and helpful,but most people in small towns are.
It is a 5 minute walk to the beginning of the restaurant lane.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank goingtoindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2008

The Hotel studio rooms are for Guests that are either looking at booking for a short stay or if they are not wanting to cook at all. The Kitchenette in the Hotel room has tea/coffee, toaster, kettle, microwave, a bar fridge and crockery etc... The Resort does have a large BBQ area, the Guest just brings along their food, everything is supplied at the BBQ area to enjoy a night outdoors. Our rates are very comparable to the other “newer” properties in town for what we offer our Guests, in the way of personal service, being an adults sanctuary, Day Spa, gymnasium and close to town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

976 - 982 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2007

I need to tell everyone about our most recent trip to beautiful Port Douglas in Tropical North Queensland.
My husband and I stayed 5 nights at the new Shantara Resort and Spa which is approx. 2 blocks for the main street in Port...

We booked directly with the property, and being in the industry myself, would highly reccommend...

What a beautiful Resort.. we had a 1 bedroom apartment, comes with everything you need and we had a balcony with a little outlanding off it that you could access the pool... I highly reccommend these apartments as you can be lying around.. feel a little hot and jump straight in for a quick drip..
The Managers are very nice and made us feel very welcome. As mentioned the Resort itself is only a couple of blocks for the main street of Port.. I would not stay anywhere further away than the Shantara. It was just the right distance away from the main street.
Very relaxed and NON pretensious place with some great little cafes and shopping was really good. Favourite shop was Josephines which is a ladies swim wear and Resort wear boutique. Very beautiful and great labels. I would also recommend trying Michael Angeles for Dinner as they have the best wood fire pizzas and it is in the main street with a deck looking over the street.

I would recommend going and doing either an outer reef or Lowe isles day trip. As my Husband and I did the Outer reef tour last time we choise the Lowe Isles day trip. Went out on a sailing cataraman to a little (and I mean very little) cute Island where you spend the day snorkling the reef with an expert guide. You can even hold some sea creatures. We did the Wavedancer day trip, however there is also the Sailaway cruise as well.

I must say Port Douglas peak time is winter (June, July etc) where prices of accommodation are higher and the town is a lot busier. However I must say if you go over Christmas it is very hot and if you want to swim in the ocean you have to swim in the stinger nets (you still are not 100% safe), however the town is so much quiter so we loved this time.

Well I could go on for hours about this place, but I will conculde by saying if you get a chance to go to Port you must stay at Shantara Resort and Spa, you can even book in for a massage right in the Resort. There is a lot of accommodation on the road into Port and in the main street and whilst we where there we checked a look out, but choise the best.
Oh, just quickly you must go to a new Resort called Bale for a drink. You may need to dive or its about a good 25 minute walk on the way out of town, but how beautiful is it. Accommodation starts at $900 AUD per night, however it is worth it (in my next life).

If there is anything else you want to know, I would be happy to assist.

Cheers

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Buddy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2007

We enjoyed our stay in this new hotel. It is quite centrally located, about five minutes walk from the beach and ten minutes to the main shopping street. The beach was closed when we were there due to strong wind but it is very nice on days with good weather.

The hotel was very quiet and not too large. The room was nice with a large fridge, microwave and a good selection of glasses, plates and cutlery. Our room had a nice but cramped veranda overlooking one of the two pools. The bathroom was stylish and had what we needed. Everything was very clean.

The hotel does not have any restaurants but we did not miss it due to the location of the hotel and possibilities to prepare food in the room.

The staff was very helpful with booking tours and gave honest and useful advice.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank osloaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Arne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdelingF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Valeria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2016

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
743 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,573 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantara Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £93 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools - heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing