We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place made our honeymoon!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“This place made our honeymoon!”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We stayed at shantara for 5 nights for our honeymoon.
We booked the shantara suite which is a 1 bedroom apartment with spa in bathroom, a Jacuzzi in the private courtyard and also a pool deck with direct access to the beautiful pool.
The apartment was incredibly spacious and equipped with a full kitchen including cooktop.
It was decorated very tastefully and the big bed was so comfy!
I can't fault shantara, from beginning to end, we enjoyed every minute of our stay here.
Perfect for honeymooners as its kid free so very relaxing and private :-)
Thank you for making our honeymoon memorable. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and book room 4A!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    700
    203
    37
    22
    8
See reviews for
36
765
25
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Where do I start?. This beautiful place is just what I was expecting and more. My first impression upon walking into the Jacuzzi 1 bedroom apartment was breathtaking. It was spacious and comfortable and clean. When you opened up the doors to the deck area, you could just take a few more steps and you are in the gorgeous pool. There are many things I liked about this place, was the way in which we were welcomed by the lovely Kay. She explained everything to us and even showed us to our room, which most places don't. I really loved it that there were no kids here during our stay as it may it very quiet and relaxing. We were on the main road to Port Douglas but we never heard any road noise. I can recommend this place to anyone that wants to chill out in beautiful surroundings. Can't wait to go back there again!

Room Tip: I would be happy to be on any floor level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank buzydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

The website a little deceiving. Our apartment??? was a studio clean and modern but no bigger than a motel room. Not suitable to spend any time in during the day. On our arrival unfortunately late after 10.30pm we were starving. Not even a complimentary biscuit in the room. Best western must be 6 star. Had a swim in the pool and felt uncomfortable as the other units surround the pool in close proximity giving a fish bowl effect. Very sterile environment lacking a holiday feel. Could not believe no dining or restaurant facilities no breakfast available. 5 star???. Front desk staff not overly friendly. Location great. Port Douglas a must see and stay but would seek a different resort next time.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scorpion495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livenow13, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Scorpion495 – Thank you for having stayed and for your comments.

It is very disheartening to read your review and that you have actually been on the Shantara Web site and yet did not establish that Shantara is not a Hotel or Motel .

The Shantara web site clearly states what the property has to offer ! the site does not promote any restaurant facilities, however we do have the Facilities Tab that has a catering menu for Guests that wish to pre-order food, which we have a professional catering Company arrange this for our Guests.

The Apartments tab shows and describes all the room types, it clearly states that the studio is for the shorter stay and there are images to view also. (we are not able to change the size of the studio room but we do present to our guests a clean, modern and comfortable studio room).

The room rates are offered based on what price a Guest would prefer to spend which includes a free night offer or even 2 free nights.

It seems that perhaps you are more used to a Hotel/Motel style property rather than the experience of staying in “self Catering Apartments” .

Its a shame that this review had to be published based on a person not taking the time to read the Shantara web site before making a booking and then stating that the web site is deceiving when really they should of booked elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosford, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week with my partner and we enjoyed it's immensely. Pool suite and a good sized room, aircon and facilities. Loved walking straight out to the pool and made use if the bbq area. Really short walk to the shops and main touristy spots. Recommended. It's a safe, clean and good positioned spot. Do it! :-)

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JodieT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geraldine, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 November 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights was a great peaceful resort, with great facilities and nice modern rooms, very friendly and helpful staff. Walking distance to town and beach, would highly recommend to others and we would return here ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We spent 5 nights at Shantara resort for our honeymoon. We stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment with jacuzzi. Such a beautiful, clean modern apartment! A great spot if you want peace and time to unwind. We used the bbq area a few times which was great. Overall had a fantastic time and will visit again for sure.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Morgan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Great facilities, close to town and beach. An excellent modern facility. Sadly some of the staff were devoid of any charm or personality. The two ladies at reception seemed to lack any desire to attend to any special requests or needs, I felt like a number not a guest. Our apartment backed onto the gym and the paper thin walls did not mask the sound of dumbbell's dropping to the floor or the grind of treadmills early in the morning. The couple taking tango lessons above us at 5 a.m. also proved a bit of annoyance ... no staff seemed to care. Our private pool deck was always occupied by the couple in the adjoining apartment ... Otherwise we had a great stay! No kids, very peaceful and tranquil surrounds. When we come back to Port Douglas we will stay clear of this place, there are so many other places to stay.

Room Tip: Ground floor AWAY from front entrance! Rooms in shaded area to the north of complex with private poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PeterSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Peter,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear that you had a great stay and relaxed during your time at Shantara and that you found the facilities excellent .

The staff are disappointed to hear that you were made to feel neglected; this is truly not how we approach our Guests requests, we do apologies as the comments are always positive from our Guests.

I do recall that we did receive a complaint from your room and that the people above you were making noise, the Manager did approach these Guests personally that morning at 5am and asked them to be mindful of not making so much noise, the staff also informed you at the same time that she had been to their room and spoken to the Guests and that they were leaving for their flight and that they apologized not realizing that they had been so loud and the staff apologized too.

Except for the Shantara Apartments , the Shantara web site specifically states that the pool deck rooms are not private decks but to give our Guests access to the pool from their apartment.

The Gym is for Guests to facilitate, however we were not aware that the noise was that extreme to penetrate the walls, thank you for bringing this to our attention and we will look at what we can do to alleviate this issue.

All of our Guests are attentive of others staying at Shantara , unfortunately a minority are not so conscious of this and at times it is very hard for us to regulate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
954 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#9 of 42 in Port Douglas
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
731 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantara Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Property: Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools - heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing