We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2008

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rheaLwrPlenty_melb_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (989)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

968 - 974 of 989 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2008

Travelled to Australia recently to visit family and decided to spend a week in Port Douglas. Really liked the Shantara because of its no U16s policy. The week was divine. Luigi and Mariane were delightful hosts and were always on hand for any queries, suggestions for places to eat, tours to take etc. The resort is only a few minutes walk from the main street AND the beach so very well positioned. Accommodation was excellent, absolutely beautiful and clean. The two pools were divine and some of the ground floor rooms have access straight on to the pool deck. A barbecue area is also provided if you wish to eat outdoors. We sat out on our lovely balcony each evening having some drinks before we sauntered into town to choose from a wonderful array of restaurants. The best part of our stay here was the wonderful quiet. No kids screaming by the pool at 9.0am, or even 9.0pm! Can thoroughly recommend a stay in this beautiful resort.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank galwaygirl58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2008

Shantara is a compact resort, a three story concrete-and-glass affair, with concrete and glass balconies and suspended walkways. It's relatively new and easily spotted from the street due to a complete absence of foliage outside the front. The manager was very friendly and helpful and showed us to our room on level 3: a one-bedroom apartment with pool view. In a windowless air-lock outside the front door is a laundrette, discreetly tucked away in a cupboard, which is shared with the next-door neighbours. Once inside the apartment we could see the kitchenette, built along one wall of the long, angular entrance corridor, which itself opens out to the lounge area. There is nothing on the opposite wall, no pictures, no plants, just a light beige expanse of wall, and the flooring is large, pale-coloured tiles throughout. The place is scrupulously clean, a job made easier by the fact there are absolutely no carpets, rugs or mats anywhere to soften the ambiance and dampen the acoustics. The doors to the bedroom and bathroom are stylish, Japanese-style screen doors with wooden frames - the only part of the apartment that were once living. There is a comfortable king-size bed with a view out one window to the holiday apartments next door, and a view out the other to the backyard of the neighbour’s house. The bathroom is again scrupulously clean and spacious, with a spa-bath for two. In fact, everything is for two: there are two seats at the table, two electric cooker rings, two cups, cutlery and crockery for two, two chairs and a two-seater couch. You get the impression you are in a well-appointed cell, for two. And the lounge room affords a view of between nine and twenty-four other well-appointed cells, depending on how close you are standing to the window. The Shantara is arranged in two tight U-shapes around two pools, which means that you see the balconies, and when the light is right, into the lounge rooms of the other patrons. From our lounge room we could see the people in the apartment directly across from us chatting, arranging their wet clothes over the seats on their balcony and getting changed for dinner. Any review which doesn’t mention this is not helpful.

We were on level 3, but the ground level rooms would be a great deal better. They have direct access to the pool, and some foliage outside and light fencing which would give the illusion of privacy. There is underground parking and a lift that takes you up to your floor. I didn’t see a staircase, but I expect that safety requirements would mean there has to be one, perhaps discreetly tucked away in a cupboard somewhere.

I would recommend this place to people who don’t like nature, and who don’t mind high-density living and a lack of privacy. We changed our accommodation to a five star luxury bungalow in a forest with sea views and a short nature walk to an expansive, private beach (see Thala Beach Lodge). But we’d paid in advance for Shantara and unfortunately didn’t get any money back, which everyone involved in the package deal – Flight Centre, Infinity packages and Shantara management - blamed on everyone else, but mostly on us for being silly enough to say yes to the place and paying up front without checking it out first.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank amjabro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2008

I expect when people are looking for accommodation and they know what their looking for, one would book what would suit their requirements ! especially now that we live in the world of the internet, all your research can be done from home !
In this case it is very clear that Shantara did not suit. It is disappointing that we were not able to please the Guests as we did try to offer them other options, but is seemed that they had already made up their mind to leave (after 1hr of checking in) as they began to explain to me that they wanted to be in a “secluded rainforest area”, which Port Douglas is not a secluded area of rainforest, I explained to the Guests that i would need to talk to the Travel Agent in regards to refund of monies and that this would be very unlikely, as we had supplied the correct accommodation.
I would like to point out that the 1 bedroom apartments do have a full kitchen with settings for 4 people , we do cater for couple/adults therefore the apartments are furnished for 2 , the rooms are not cluttered and are spacious. Directly opposite the apartment were the stairs, which is at the front of the building and at the rear of the building . As we live in a Tropical area prone to cyclones the building is built to withstand these conditions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We spent 9 days at this very new resort, just minutes walking distance from both the main street, and main beach (4 mile beach) in Port Douglas. The 1 bedroom apartment we were allocated was beautifully fitted out, with pool deck access from our balcony - steps leading directly to the pool! The resort tends not to have children guests, so the pool areas were very quiet and perfect for reading, relaxing and swimming. The apartment was fully fitted out with kitchen, laundry and spa tub for two. No restaurant or bar facilities, which wasn't a problem, given the proximity to the main street bars and eateries. Highly recommended, we had a great stay... tip - if you are a sun worshipper, request a room facing the prevailing sunshine, so you can use your own balcony / deck for that purpose.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank karsljoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2008

We were a party 0f 10 ranging from 20s to 80s. Three generations. We had four apartments which met everyones needs. They were large and extremely comfortable with everything one could want. Every apartment had a balcony
overlooking one of the pools. The management and staff
could not have been more helpful. We went to celebrate our
parents 60th wedding anniversary and when we arrived they
had put a lovely platter of fresh fruit and champage in the fridge
(complimentary). It was a 2 minute walk to the beach and the
main street. Can't wait to go back next year. If you want a quiet,
luxurious holiday without kids (as they do not take children under
the age of 16) then this is the best.

Stayed: July 2008
1  Thank patti_224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2008

Al, I can say, is i love it when a family runs a business. And they were fantastic. Nothing was too much to ask and very helpful with recommendations for food, transport, and ideas. Rooms were lovely, overlooking the pools, and plenty of banana lounges. Nice and close to main street, and a minutes walk to beach. Added bonus, no young kids in school holidays, so very quiet, which i desperately needed. Small gym downstairs meant i could keep up my fitness or do classes at the gym nearby. Loved port douglas and was so happy with accomodation. Woulsd stay there again in a beat.

Stayed: June 2008
1  Thank ipod54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2008

Brand new, very well appointed and comfy. We really enjoyed the in-house day spa service, plus a spa in the room, and choice of two outdoor pools. Good restaurant as close as across the road, and only a few minutes from Macrossan St or the beach, made this location very convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VicBeaches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
989 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 42 in Port Douglas
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 42 in Port Douglas
745 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,576 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantara Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £92 - £358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools - heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing