We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So peaceful & excellent location walking distance to everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So peaceful & excellent location walking distance to everything!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great place to stay away from noisy families. Beautiful pool get a poolside room you wont regret it!!! Excellent location, you can walk everywhere. Massage service
was great aswell. Helpful staff clean rooms very accomodating for any requests. Great bbq facilities. Not in full sun all day but you can easily gead to the beach in the afternoon. Definately going back to shantara!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joelene24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

960 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    200
    37
    22
    8
See reviews for
36
756
24
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Very helpful staff. As it is only for couples, you can spend a quiet and relaxing time at the Shantara. Lovely pools and beautiful gardens. A thoroughly enjoyable stay. Will stay there again on our next trip to Port Douglas.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mood063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong
1 review
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for a week and thoroughly enjoyed Shantara Resort. The staff were very friendly and helpful in organising tours etc for us. Made good use of laundry and BBQ facilities. Joan and Peter, Geelong

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jb7Geelong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We recently completed a stay at the Shantara. The staff were very friendly & helpful in booking activities and recommending tourist destinations to explore . The resort itself is very clean & quiet which we thoroughly enjoyed and found very relaxing. The resort is located walking distance from the main street of port douglas where restaurants, cafes's shopping can be found.

Room Tip: The swim out rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

We just completed our stay at shantara. We are expecting a baby and wanted our last shot at a couples only hotel!

We chose to stay in a studio room with pool deck. The room itself is lovely and shantara is a beautiful place to stay, especially with the swim up pool deck!

Laundry facilities were located just outside our room which was amazing and unexpected! The only problem with this, was we found that other people were using the washing facilities outside the hours of use (I think 9-9??) This was pretty noisy and you could hear every cycle that happened.

We also found that being on the bottom level meant that you would hear chairs dragged across the floor in the room above you. Bit annoying at 3am!

The noisiness was such a shame as Shantara really was a lovely place to stay.

I was also aware that cleaning wasn't a daily service, however, I must admit that this did get a bit tedious, especially when there is sand all over your floor and bed sheets. The odd bed sheet change would be nice!

Location wise, shantara was great and only a block away from the main shopping strip (Macrossan street) and a block or so away from the beach.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BecM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for having stayed and to of taken the time to write a review, we are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

We implement everything we possibly can to avoid these irritating sounds. It would have been a good idea to let one of the Shantara Team know of these disturbances you were having and we would have been able to approach the offending guests.

Most Guests are very polite and are conscientious of other Guests around them a very small minority are unfortunately not so attentive!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bateau Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had an excellent stay. staff were outstanding. They made several recommendations which proved to be particularly good advice. Our booking was on standby, every effort was made to accommodate us. Location was central to restaurants and other attractions. I have no hesitation in recommending this venue.

Room Tip: We stayed in 17B - very happy with facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilso14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The front end staff, Kay and Amanda were outstanding in providing friendly professional service and advice on the hotel, tourist attractions and restaurants. All recommendations turned out to be exactly as they had described. They booked our excursions and reservations efficiently, making suggestions during the process. Nothing was too much to ask. The suite although a studio was spacious and extremely comfortable. Pools were great! Thanks Kay and Amanda for making our trip to the Great Barrier Reef area, specifically, Port Douglas a wonderful memorable visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in a studio suite as we arrived without reservations on a long weekend. Book early into on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#10 of 43 in Port Douglas
676 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 43 in Port Douglas
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 43 in Port Douglas
713 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantara Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Property: Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 55 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools - heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing