We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently stayed here in a studio room. Resort is one of the best we have stayed in. Clean, well maintained.Fantastic staff, Amanda and Kay, who went out of their way to assist us.
Room was very well equipped, quiet and very comfortable bed!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrc018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    196
    36
    22
    8
See reviews for
36
737
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Shantara resort and spa was fabulous, top notch. They couldn't do enough for you but still respected your privacy. Jane in the spa is the best massage therapist I've had. Actually made a good difference to my long term shoulder injury and pain free. Had three massage sessions with Jane whilst at Shantara for 10 nights wish I could have stayed longer for more of Jane's therapeutic touch. Definitely a gifted healer. Magic hands.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband & I came to Port Douglas for a friends wedding. We came without our kids & Shantara resort provided us with a very peaceful place to stay as it is a couples resort. The rooms were really clean, nice quality towels & sheets. They had thought of everything you need in the rooms, including microwave, coffee plunger, wine glasses, bowls, plates, cutlery etc & BBQ facilities downstairs beside the pool were excellent. There are plates & cutlery & a fridge with essentials you may need, i.e. tomato sauce, butter, etc, & there was also a basin down at the BBQ so you can wash up downstairs & eat there. Shantara was 5 mins walking distance to town so it was the perfect location for us as we didn't need a car or to have to catch a bus into town from where we stayed.The staff were welcoming & really helpful with any queries that we had. I would highly recommend this resort to others.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the main road & this was quiet, we didn't hear any road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 285Ange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmore, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

RECEPTION 5*. Prior to arriving I received prompt clear helpful emails (well done Amanda). On arrival very friendly, informative staff. Any/all our requests were actioned promptly and with a smile - well done ladies!

Which Apartment? We paid the pretty big bucks ($370/night) for 8A - 4 ½*.. This corner Shantara Spa apartment gets the most afternoon sunshine. Pretty close to the adjacent apartment when on the private patio (2 loungers). Impeccably clean (the cleaners deserve a pay rise!) Very well equipped: Two TVs (1 with some FOX) DV and stereo, big spotless fridge freezer and dishwasher. Lovely bathroom products. Spotlessly clean private spa outside. Minor road and reception noise .
TIP – if you are staying for more than 3-4 nights ask that the water be changed in the spa.
Apartment 1A would get a little morning sun only and appeared close to the other adjacent apartments (& BBQ).
24A and 27A would get plenty of sunshine (quieter). Rooms over the larger pool possibly more private and quieter as well.
Only about 4 lounges by each pool (some a tad tired) which could be a problem if the place was full?
Some free internet – no issues.
Pool (very clean) however no good if you want to ‘swim’ as you’d need to do 100s of cross 15m lengths.

Management Recommendation; for guests staying longer than 3-4 days it would be good to have washing powder as well as dishwasher powder provided.
Guests staying more than 8-9 nights should get the room serviced more than once – suggest every 3rd - 4th day? Currently only serviced every 5th day which means you get to do some washing (with no powder provided)!

GYM 5+* – probably the best equipped small resort/hotel gym I’ve been to. Only missing a rower. The chap with the tattoo on his foot kept it impeccably clean. Aircon, towels and disinfectant all provided.

SHANTARA SPA 4 ½ * – had a 1 hour massage – Lyn clearly knows her business – highly recommended.
TIP – Book early!

BBQ Area 4-* – located at the end of the smaller pool (next to 1A). two large flat gas plates. Loads of equipment and usable previous guests condiments etc). Good for a change.

LOCATION. 4 ½ * - 5 minutes to beach and main street. Coles 10 minutes and Bottle shop (cheaper than Coles) only 3 minutes on main strip. 1 hour transfer to airport. We used Krystal Transport (5*), direct, efficient and on time (other than the anagram of my name was better than Karpthec)!

BEACH 5* - Wonderful, clean 4 miles of sand. Sand pretty hard as the tide comes right in. Safe patrolled area and very safe for children.
TIP – if you choose to be near the trees make sure you use mozzie spray!

EATING OUT:
5* - no frills, Surf Life Safe Club. Quite excellent line caught fish and chips!
TIP take a late luch at ¼ to 3 to get a relaxed calm meal.
5* - high end FINZ (main street). Tad pricy but the quality and service were great.
4 ½ * - friendly, authentic, Italian SASSI (sunset end of main street). Lunch and early evening set menus excellent quality and great value (2 courses with lovely glass of wine - $32) 5*.
3 ½ * - Tin Shed (RSL). View 4 ½ * Great for watching the sun go down with a drink. Food 3* - steady as she goes!
TIP - get there a bit early (1/2 hour before sunset) or (sorry locals) aim for the stools on the right as you go passed the bar (just as good a view of the sunset).

WHAT TO DO? Been to Cairns previously however 1st time visitors: Daintree rainforest, sky rail/train, barrier reef (pick a smaller boat/company) are all highly recommended.

CONCLUSION: 4 ½ * fantastic place, very friendly, spotlessly clean, well equipped (Gym excellent) and great location (+ NO children). Would I stay for more than 5-6 nights…mmm).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KARPTHEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Karthpec,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Shantara and we appreciate you taking the time to write your review.

The Shantara Team are very pleased to hear that you found them welcoming upon arrival ! they are enthusiastic to “meet and greet” the Shantara Guests and give out information of the property and Port Douglas.

The Shantara Housekeepers are long time local employees that take pride in their work, the housekeepers look after us and we certainly look after them in remuneration.
In apartments the mid week service is provided free and in the middle of a stay for bookings of 7 or more nights, this is the less expensive option that was selected for your booking. It is customary when staying in “self Catering apartments” that a mid-week service is provided we do offer a daily service as an optional extra.

As for the Jacuzzi to have the water changed every 3-4 days – this is really unnecessary, as the Jacuzzi is cleaned, filled with fresh water and chlorinated upon a Guests arrival. The water is generally kept clean for the length of a Guests stay. ( in this case we did change the water as you requested )

Shantara offers FREE WIFI to all rooms, we do not charge any extra.

The Shantara pools are not promoted as lap pools but as lagoon pools. We have approximately 40 plus sun-loungers around the pools and on the pool decks, when we have had high occupancy there has never been a Guest not able to sit on a sun lounge, most Guests are usually out on tours or out and about .

We have never had a Guest walk around the building and observe all the room numbers and location of the rooms! it feels like the review is more an evaluation of the property rather than just relaxing as you should when on holidays.

Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in early June. Check-in was quick and efficient and Kay was very helpful, offering advice on the best restaurants and sights to see in Port Douglas.

The resort is perfectly located for walking to Macrossan St for dinner, and is only a couple of minutes walk to the beach. The resort is very clean and well-maintained and the room we stayed in (Pool Access Studio) was as described on the website. Although a private deck is not guaranteed for pool access studios, our room did have a private deck with room for one sun-lounger. The rooms on the higher floors are probably more private, if you have a room on the ground floor, you need to keep the blinds closed to prevent people seeing straight in.

If you are planning to lie by the pool most of the day on your holiday, this may not be the place for you. While the pools are very nice and there are sun-loungers provided, there is not a lot of space to lie in the sun all day, certainly not if the resort was fully-booked.

I was very happy with our stay here, but would probably not stay again as the bed was very firm (I know this is preferable for some people) and I found it difficult to sleep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBBMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waipawa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Shantara Resort/Apartments are top quality. Very welcoming and helpful staff and we were thrilled with the great suggestions for eating out. Great location - walking distance to marina shops, and the beach. Our room was very clean and well set up. Thanks Shantara for a peaceful, relaxed environment.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have just enjoyed a wonderful stay at Shantara Resort. The staff were so friendly & accommodating, made great suggestions for restaurants & tours & booked everything for us. Location was fantastic - short stroll to the beach, the village & the marina. So convenient to have kitchen & laundry facilities. The resort was so peaceful - no kids! Lying by the pool very relaxing, next time we'll book a poolside room with direct access for sure!
Adrienne & Mick Meer

Room Tip: Definitely go for the poolside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrienne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.2 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.1 mi away
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
Freestyle Resort Port Douglas
#4 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#8 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#9 of 44 in Port Douglas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.0 mi away
Peppers Beach Club Port Douglas
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantara Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Property: Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 58 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools - heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing