We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never wanted to leave!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shantara Resort Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Very helpful staff from arrival/ We arrived late and they left us instructions on how to get to our room and information in our room. Room itself was gorgeous, clean, spacious, beautiful balcony to sit out on. Robes in the room for lounging in. Bathroom was massive! Spa bath, large shower. Very romantic. TV in the bedroom and in the living room. Large fridge. Warmly greeted the first morning we went down to reception- who happily recommended us tours/activities and booked them for us. Also booked us a meal reservation. Didn't use the onsite spa, looked very small. The gym was small but well equipped with free weights, and a few cardio machines. 2x separate pools which were heated (a little too cold in the evening but otherwise lovely!). There was also a lovely bbq area for guests to use by one of the pools- very well stocked and very romantic with the blue lights at night time. Can't think of a single negative!

Room Tip: We stayed in a 1st floor 1 bedroom apartment. Couldn't fault it. Very spacious. Quiet, comfy bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Shroomballoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,001)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

395 - 401 of 1,001 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2014

We travelled to Port Douglas November 2013 and found our stay at Shantara absolutely incredible.

Location was amazing, Short walking distance to all that is needed (Shops, beach, restaurants, activities)

Our room was impressively clean, modern, cool and comfortable and opened up over the pool.

When using the pool's (Yes! they have two!!) neither were ever 'over crowded' - the waterfall is also an amazing back massage! - plenty of noodles shall you need them!

Additionally and most importantly the reception staff were more than helpful with their directions and local knowledge - especially when deciding on the reef tours!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCVG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We were very glad we booked here and felt it was good value for money. It's apartment living so didn't expect the bells and whistles that come with a hotel stay, but the fact it is a pleasant walk to both macrossan St and the beach is fantastic. The only negative is that the position of the pool means that it can be quite shady in the afternoon so the water temperature can b cold and not ideal for sunbaking. However that's being picky because it was otherwise a very pleasant stay! Also our stay was in school holidays so it was great that there were no kids (especially good around pool deck!)

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank kabartolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We recently stayed here in a studio room. Resort is one of the best we have stayed in. Clean, well maintained.Fantastic staff, Amanda and Kay, who went out of their way to assist us.
Room was very well equipped, quiet and very comfortable bed!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank jrc018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Shantara resort and spa was fabulous, top notch. They couldn't do enough for you but still respected your privacy. Jane in the spa is the best massage therapist I've had. Actually made a good difference to my long term shoulder injury and pain free. Had three massage sessions with Jane whilst at Shantara for 10 nights wish I could have stayed longer for more of Jane's therapeutic touch. Definitely a gifted healer. Magic hands.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband & I came to Port Douglas for a friends wedding. We came without our kids & Shantara resort provided us with a very peaceful place to stay as it is a couples resort. The rooms were really clean, nice quality towels & sheets. They had thought of everything you need in the rooms, including microwave, coffee plunger, wine glasses, bowls, plates, cutlery etc & BBQ facilities downstairs beside the pool were excellent. There are plates & cutlery & a fridge with essentials you may need, i.e. tomato sauce, butter, etc, & there was also a basin down at the BBQ so you can wash up downstairs & eat there. Shantara was 5 mins walking distance to town so it was the perfect location for us as we didn't need a car or to have to catch a bus into town from where we stayed.The staff were welcoming & really helpful with any queries that we had. I would highly recommend this resort to others.

Room Tip: We asked for a room away from the main road & this was quiet, we didn't hear any road noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 285Ange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

RECEPTION 5*. Prior to arriving I received prompt clear helpful emails (well done Amanda). On arrival very friendly, informative staff. Any/all our requests were actioned promptly and with a smile - well done ladies!

Which Apartment? We paid the pretty big bucks ($370/night) for 8A - 4 ½*.. This corner Shantara Spa apartment gets the most afternoon sunshine. Pretty close to the adjacent apartment when on the private patio (2 loungers). Impeccably clean (the cleaners deserve a pay rise!) Very well equipped: Two TVs (1 with some FOX) DV and stereo, big spotless fridge freezer and dishwasher. Lovely bathroom products. Spotlessly clean private spa outside. Minor road and reception noise .
TIP – if you are staying for more than 3-4 nights ask that the water be changed in the spa.
Apartment 1A would get a little morning sun only and appeared close to the other adjacent apartments (& BBQ).
24A and 27A would get plenty of sunshine (quieter). Rooms over the larger pool possibly more private and quieter as well.
Only about 4 lounges by each pool (some a tad tired) which could be a problem if the place was full?
Some free internet – no issues.
Pool (very clean) however no good if you want to ‘swim’ as you’d need to do 100s of cross 15m lengths.

Management Recommendation; for guests staying longer than 3-4 days it would be good to have washing powder as well as dishwasher powder provided.
Guests staying more than 8-9 nights should get the room serviced more than once – suggest every 3rd - 4th day? Currently only serviced every 5th day which means you get to do some washing (with no powder provided)!

GYM 5+* – probably the best equipped small resort/hotel gym I’ve been to. Only missing a rower. The chap with the tattoo on his foot kept it impeccably clean. Aircon, towels and disinfectant all provided.

SHANTARA SPA 4 ½ * – had a 1 hour massage – Lyn clearly knows her business – highly recommended.
TIP – Book early!

BBQ Area 4-* – located at the end of the smaller pool (next to 1A). two large flat gas plates. Loads of equipment and usable previous guests condiments etc). Good for a change.

LOCATION. 4 ½ * - 5 minutes to beach and main street. Coles 10 minutes and Bottle shop (cheaper than Coles) only 3 minutes on main strip. 1 hour transfer to airport. We used Krystal Transport (5*), direct, efficient and on time (other than the anagram of my name was better than Karpthec)!

BEACH 5* - Wonderful, clean 4 miles of sand. Sand pretty hard as the tide comes right in. Safe patrolled area and very safe for children.
TIP – if you choose to be near the trees make sure you use mozzie spray!

EATING OUT:
5* - no frills, Surf Life Safe Club. Quite excellent line caught fish and chips!
TIP take a late luch at ¼ to 3 to get a relaxed calm meal.
5* - high end FINZ (main street). Tad pricy but the quality and service were great.
4 ½ * - friendly, authentic, Italian SASSI (sunset end of main street). Lunch and early evening set menus excellent quality and great value (2 courses with lovely glass of wine - $32) 5*.
3 ½ * - Tin Shed (RSL). View 4 ½ * Great for watching the sun go down with a drink. Food 3* - steady as she goes!
TIP - get there a bit early (1/2 hour before sunset) or (sorry locals) aim for the stools on the right as you go passed the bar (just as good a view of the sunset).

WHAT TO DO? Been to Cairns previously however 1st time visitors: Daintree rainforest, sky rail/train, barrier reef (pick a smaller boat/company) are all highly recommended.

CONCLUSION: 4 ½ * fantastic place, very friendly, spotlessly clean, well equipped (Gym excellent) and great location (+ NO children). Would I stay for more than 5-6 nights…mmm).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank KARPTHEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shantara, Manager at Shantara Resort Port Douglas, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Dear Karthpec,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Shantara and we appreciate you taking the time to write your review.

The Shantara Team are very pleased to hear that you found them welcoming upon arrival ! they are enthusiastic to “meet and greet” the Shantara Guests and give out information of the property and Port Douglas.

The Shantara Housekeepers are long time local employees that take pride in their work, the housekeepers look after us and we certainly look after them in remuneration.
In apartments the mid week service is provided free and in the middle of a stay for bookings of 7 or more nights, this is the less expensive option that was selected for your booking. It is customary when staying in “self Catering apartments” that a mid-week service is provided we do offer a daily service as an optional extra.

As for the Jacuzzi to have the water changed every 3-4 days – this is really unnecessary, as the Jacuzzi is cleaned, filled with fresh water and chlorinated upon a Guests arrival. The water is generally kept clean for the length of a Guests stay. ( in this case we did change the water as you requested )

Shantara offers FREE WIFI to all rooms, we do not charge any extra.

The Shantara pools are not promoted as lap pools but as lagoon pools. We have approximately 40 plus sun-loungers around the pools and on the pool decks, when we have had high occupancy there has never been a Guest not able to sit on a sun lounge, most Guests are usually out on tours or out and about .

We have never had a Guest walk around the building and observe all the room numbers and location of the rooms! it feels like the review is more an evaluation of the property rather than just relaxing as you should when on holidays.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Douglas hotels
1.0 mi away
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas
0.2 mi away
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
Peninsula Boutique Hotel
#5 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,018 reviews
0.1 mi away
Meridian Port Douglas
Meridian Port Douglas
#6 of 42 in Port Douglas
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Heritage
Mantra Heritage
#26 of 42 in Port Douglas
524 reviews
0.1 mi away
Peppers Beach Club
Peppers Beach Club
#11 of 42 in Port Douglas
1,625 reviews
2.7 mi away
Pullman Port Douglas Sea Temple Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shantara Resort Port Douglas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shantara Resort Port Douglas

Address: 27 - 31 Davidson St | Port Douglas, Port Douglas, Queensland 4877, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Port Douglas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Port Douglas
Price Range: £87 - £306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Shantara Resort Port Douglas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shantara Resort Port Douglas is the newest accommodation in Port Douglas and offers quality boutique style Apartment accommodation. An Adults only retreat ideal for couples, honeymooners or the independent traveller looking to escape in tranquil surrounds (Children over the age of 15 are welcome). Shantara is located walking distance to Macrossan Street, where you will find an array of Restaurants, cafes & only 400-meters to Four Mile Beach. Shantara has a selection of spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen, lounge/dining area, spa baths and separate shower. The studios are perfect for the shorter stay with kitchenettes. Outdoor balconies to all apartments to sit out with a relaxing drink after a day out. Available also is free Internet access, cable TV/DVDs and laundry facilities to all apartments and studios. 2 Pools - heated in winter. Gymnasium, Day Spa for personalised treatments, undercover BBQ area for guests to try out the local produce. All rooms and external area are Non-Smoking. Shantara Resort Port Douglas is a family operated business offering personalised and friendly service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Shantara Resort Port Douglas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shantara Resort Port Douglas Hotel Port Douglas
Shantara Hotel Port Douglas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing