We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Promised more”
Review of Osteria Padella

Osteria Padella
Ranked #49 of 115 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Price range: US$5 - US$29
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Osteria Padella Laboratory Of Rustic Italian Food is the authentic italian Restaurant in Town!! Osteria Padella is a family run restaurant. The name "osteria" comes from a type of restaurant in Italy that serves "Rustic" food, with relatively short and variable menus, with an emphasis on fresh produces, sharing plates and wine. Fresh and bursting with flavors is what Osteria Padella has to offer. Proudly serving the local Port Douglas community, we provide great tasting food that's prepared fresh with the best ingredients available, to guarantee you a truly authentic Italian experience. At Osteria Padella you are sure to enjoy the great atmosphere, friendly service and affordable prices. Take your taste buds on an unforgettable journey at Osteria Padella and come and enjoy a true Italian Feast!
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Promised more”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We booked at lunchtime and were the second table to book, to our surprise upon arriving in the evening we were placed inside when suitable tables were available on the footpath. It was a lovely evening so we requested if we could move but were told the tables were reserved by later diners. We stayed two hours and not one of the outside tables filled. The service was very brisk although it was a quiet evening, we found this all a little odd.
Our meal was nice, the main a little oily, but the price of wine was quite expensive considering the choice we have in Australia.
Will give this restaurant the benefit of the doubt and visit again next time we are in Port Douglas.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IMVO19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    56
    46
    15
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“REAL ITALIANS”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I have been waiting for this osteria to open for over a month.

What a great news!
We have a Real family Italian restaurant in Port Douglas.

Owners and staff are all Italian.
Most import thing: The Food is Italian!!
Freshly made Focaccia bread, hand made Pappardelle pasta, home made dessert .Tiramisu' & Pannacotta are fresh and up to standards
I suggest to try the Fresh Local Burrata cheese and Prosciutto San Daniele.

I couldn't believe how good those Pappardelle were.
Not just pasta but the Home made one and AL DENTE.
Well done Mauro.
Even though I'm not a lamb lover, the sauce was devine.

Special thanks to Francesco for looking after us, very attentive and helpful.
What really blow me away was the fact he made me feel at home.


See you soon

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mauro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Food was great but service a bit spotty -- we arrived in early evening to dine outside before the rush came. We were seated right away and offered water, but it took another 10 minutes to order drinks. Considering the place was empty, thus seemed strange. Ironically, as it got busier service improved, and when we finally got out meal it was delicious.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The real deal”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We visited this beautiful Italian restaurant after walking past a few nights before. It exceeded our expectations, and having eaten in Watergate and other top restaurants in Port Douglas, we think this must be up there with the best. The wine list was top notch, and served at the perfect temperature. Bread was beautiful. Pasta was superb and obviously hand-crafted. Desert light and tasty. We found the waitress fantastic; smiling and efficient. Bravo!!

Helpful?
1 Thank FSPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A REAL ITALIAN RESTAURANT in PORT DOUGLAS”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile


Owner is Italian, and he really knows how to approach his clients in the best -and Italian- way!
A series of positive points from the very beginning: from welcome and approach, to all meals from entree to desserts, all has contributed to the final feedback of a really great place to discover, to go back, and to remember!
Last but not least, Francesco the owner, was so keen on giving us advices for the best places to visit and to discover in this area...
Our vote? A full 10!!! :D

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mase_Paola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osteria P, Owner at Osteria Padella, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for your review and support!!!

Astrid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Osteria Padella also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Osteria Padella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing