We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant

Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 116 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
2 reviews
“Great meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We walked around trying to decide on what to have for dinner and The Jade Inn looked amazingly inviting. Our meal was wonderful starting with satay chicken and finishing with a shared banana fritter. Staff were very friendly and enjoyed my mans humour. We got there early, first ones but by the time we left people were waiting for a table, testament to the great food here!

Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    192
    63
    22
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
112 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Book to get a table”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

The Jade Inn was spotless and heaving, with not a spare table, so we were grateful we had booked. Enjoyed the light banter with the Chinese girl, who seemed to run the place. Enjoyed the meal - I had black bean chicken Chop Suey, husband had Sizzling King prawns with satay sauce. We were starving as we had to wait over AN HOUR for our food!! We would go back again

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SweetM0lly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Polite and friendly service, lively atmosphere and very good food. I had Schezuan king prawns with rice, excellent portion size and totally authentic flavours. Maybe a little overpriced but definitely still worth a visit.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tonyn46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A local favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Jade Inn is one place we go to a number if times when in Port Douglas. The food is always good and the staff are friendly as is the atmosphere. Bookings are advisable, some nights many people are turned away, no tables!

Helpful?
1 Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
109 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Overpriced Chinese food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The food wasn't bad, but it wasn't outstanding either, especially for the price paid. I felt the food could have been found in any food court across Australia. Between two, we spent about $70 for dinner. The service started off really well, but then slowed down really quickly and we were only one out of two tables seated in the entire restaurant. Our dishes came out one at a time which was annoying. I suppose one at a time was better given we were starving. I can't justify coming back here for the price paid and service received. There is another Chinese restaurant in Port Douglas on the main road from the National Hwy. If in town again, I'd give them a shot to see how they stack up.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitona007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant also viewed

Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 
Port Douglas, Queensland
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Jade Inn Chinese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing