We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit tired, nothing to write home about.”
Review of On The Inlet

On The Inlet
Ranked #8 of 115 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, View, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We welcome you to join us at On The Inlet: Port Douglas' iconic seafood restaurant + bar located over the beautiful Coral Sea. We're here to tantalise your taste buds with the finest fresh local seafoods and an inspiring tropical cocktail list in Port Douglas' most enviable waterside location (reservations highly recommended)
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A bit tired, nothing to write home about.”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Last time I came was about 13 years ago and I remember it to be amazing. On arrival I was a bit shocked at the decor...tired, somewhat grotty and overall pretty average in my book.... Though the outlook was incredible, there was no linen on the tables, plastic looking chairs and cafe style tables..for what I knew I was about to pay for a seafood dinner, I expected more. Staff were lovely, but again, shabby in their dated brown uniforms and runners. Our seafood platter was nice and what we didn't eat from it the waiter picked up in his fingers right under our noses and threw in the water to the fish!
I'm more than happy for a relaxed dining experience but please adjust your prices to reflect this...

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jozoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On The Inlet, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Jozoel,
Thank you for your review and honest feedback.
Admittedly you will find that not much has changed in the thirteen years since you last visited, nor since we first set up buying and selling fish direct from the boats on our dock.

We are unashamedly located on the water between a colourful collection of fishing dories, family tinnies, heritage yachts, commercial reef boats and extravagant motor cruisers.

We welcome locals and tourists alike, whether they are millionaires in double pluggers, workers on a lunch break, parents with kids, couples getting engaged, rockstars, corporate event managers or fishermen coming in for a beer.

With no real certainty of the future of the waterfront development here in Port Douglas, we’ve truly focussed our commitment on the quality of our food, service and authentic waterside experience.
We’re not sleek in styling nor designer-oriented in our furnishings, and have never pretended to be.
We’ve just weathered some serious wet season extremes and a complete shut down due to Cyclone Ita-we’re happy just to be here right now.

Our customers come for the experience of an adventure on the water (hence our Giant Groper feed and letting kids and adults feed the fish) accompanied by friendly, genuine customer service, fabulous seafood enjoyed with a view to die for.

We do believe we are charging appropriately for this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,250
    675
    219
    55
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lyndoch, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Fantastic location right on the water and we got to enjoy a beautiful sunset over the mountains. It was lovely watching the boats coming in at dusk. Food wise we had the yellow fin tuna, seafood platter, scallops with pumpkin puree and mud crab. All were beautifully presented and delicioua. Dessert was the macadamia and chocolate brownie and the lemon cheesecake, once again amazing. Cocktails were delicious. Staff were attentive and were happy to help with any questions. Beautiful location, food and service. Fabulous way to end our honeymoon and last night in port douglas

Helpful?
Thank morgz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On The Inlet, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
What a lovely finish to your honeymoon indeed!!

Thank you for such a lovely review.

See you for your first wedding anniversary ;)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning location friendliest staff in Queensland!!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The menu has changed since our last visit but did not disappoint, delectable seafood a little expensive but it's top quality. It's very busy but we luckily got a booking in with the lovely Irish girl and she checked in with us during our meal, great to see good honest hospitality still exists ! If your coming to port Douglas when school holidays are happening this place is so busy early evening so pending on your party pick your booking time wisely, we have a family, so the giant groper feed is always on the to do list!! Will look forward to returning

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank indiebindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On The Inlet, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hi Indiebindi,
Thanks for your time and review-I think you summed it up impeccably!
We’ll be sure to pass on your personal compliments to Kim-they will be genuinely appreciated.
See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic - went twice!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

This restaurant has lovely food, so much that we returned from Palm Cove a 2nd time! The salt/pepper calamari, pippi/mussels dish, garlic bread and mars bars sundae definitely rate a recommendation! All dishes we tried were very good though, and they cater well to children, with a good selection of children's meals and pencils/paper to draw with while waiting for meal to arrive. Only thing - and a small one! - we were enticed by the George the Groper feeding as we thought that would be fun for our daughter to see. However it was terribly crowded and he only made one fleeting appearance over the half-hour. He is wild and comes as he pleases, so nothing to be done - but probably basel the meal decision around the fantastic food rather than watching the grouper!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank birdling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On The Inlet, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Hello birdling,
To travel up from Palm Cove as a return guest is a wonderful complement.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magnificent views & great seafood.”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Nothing fancy. Just fresh seafood, stunning views & good service. Can't ask for much more. Always pleased to be here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On The Inlet, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thanks Nick!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On The Inlet also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to On The Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing