We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful whole fish”
Review of On The Inlet

On The Inlet
Ranked #8 of 117 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$32
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We welcome you to join us at On The Inlet: Port Douglas' iconic seafood restaurant + bar located over the beautiful Coral Sea. We're here to tantalise your taste buds with the finest fresh local seafoods and an inspiring tropical cocktail list in Port Douglas' most enviable waterside location (reservations highly recommended)
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful whole fish”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We asked the waiter for a recommendation which he said the whole fish which was snapper -I have never seen fish presented like it -huge whole fish standing on its belly bending as if swimming -everyone gasped when delivered to the table -brilliant photo opportunity it also tasted every bit as fantastic as it looked served with a Thai salad nothing else needed. Our table for five was at the waters edge with very attentive staff -wonderful memories

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank astonmartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,305 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,283
    691
    229
    57
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Barramundi wow”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Magnificent whole barramundi with Thai salad, monster mud crab, fresh mackerel, fantastic view and outstanding service.

We had one of the greatest afternoon's ever at the inlet today and highly recommend it to lovers of seafood and quintessential Port Douglas.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antoinette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne M, Public Relations Manager at On The Inlet, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hello Antoinette,

“ Magnificent….fantastic…..outstanding…one of the greatest “
….aww shucks…
and huge thanks for your appreciation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We went to On The Inlet after a boat trip and arrived just after 4pm. The restaurant is conveniently located only a few minutes walk from the wharf. It has 2 sections, the dining area and the bar area. The bar has 2 tiers with long benches and bar stools and other tables with bar stools all facing the inlet. There were lots of patrons enjoying the view and all bar seats were taken. More people arrived but nearly all the tables in the dining section were reserved so there was nowhere for them to sit. We had managed to get a table earlier. Several small groups of people, including an older grandmother, asked the staff if they could just have a drink at the dining tables but they were not allowed to, so some left to go elsewhere. The tables remained vacant the whole time we were there (we left about 5.30pm).

We ordered a bucket of prawns which were delicious. The bucket was actually full of ice with several layers of prawns on top. While enjoying the view we waited for George the Groper to appear at the usual time of 5pm but he didn't. Being a wild fish, he obviously decided to go elsewhere too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aus56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Deliciousness...”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a great place and so very understated. Fabulous location hovering over the water, fresh produce grown and caught locally and attentive service. Special is always a whole fish, flash fried Thai style and presented promptly to your table. Tonight it was snapper served with fresh greens, which we enjoyed after an entree of fresh tiger prawns.
Don't miss this one when you're in Port Douglas-just remember to book early to catch the setting sun.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BubalooSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

I was very disappointed in our experience here for dinner. While the servers were friendly, they were not remotely attentive. The food was ok - not fabulous but perfectly decent. After we had our mains it took about 10 minutes for someone to come remove our plates. We then sat for at least another 10 minutes and were completely ignored. No offers of dessert menu, tea or coffee. We finally gave up as nobody even let us know they would be with us soon - just ignored us. When we went to pay we were not asked how our meal was. I then felt the need to mention that the service was lacking and was attacked by a very defensive woman at the front desk who said "well we can't do anything for you now" and proceeded to argue with me and tell me the server was great so maybe it was me. All I wanted was an apology and that was not forthcoming. Based on the other reviews I hope it was just a bad night but I won't be recommending it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisette18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed On The Inlet also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to On The Inlet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing