We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very long lunch!”
Review of Salsa Bar & Grill

Salsa Bar & Grill
Ranked #4 of 117 Restaurants in Port Douglas
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$28
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in the heart of Port Douglas, this 'must-do', award winning restaurant encompasses all that dining in the tropics should be, fun, fresh, dynamic & memorable. Operating for over 20 years, Salsa's reputation derives from its amazing and eclectic menu, extensive wine list, professional and friendly staff as well as a bustling and vibrant atmosphere.Whether dining with a friend, family, group or wedding - you can't go past a good Salsa experience!
Metung, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A very long lunch!”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Relaxed tropical dining for a lovely afternoon lunch. There was a great selection on the menu which was more than appropriate for the occasion. Staff were helpful and efficient adding to the experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,096
    708
    213
    71
    42
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Really good”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Entree's & deserts were sensational, but main meal's were okay (maybe our choices) on our 2 visits last year. Service was really good, friendly & the girls loved watching the chef's (who were all engaging & great with them),
Would still go back again, next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best meal in Port Douglas ”
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

Our family of four( 2 adults & 2 children. 12 years & 11 years old) dined here today for lunch. We started with a cocktail and ordered the share plate for entree.For mains we had 2 steaks, pasta and one children's meal. Desert was brûlée & it was delicious. Food was fresh and modern and service outstanding. Best food we have had in Port Douglas. Reasonable prices.. No restaurant is cheap in Port Douglas.Nice spot on waterfront . Wish we were staying longer .. Would return for sure.

Helpful?
2 Thank margaretBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So disappointing”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Had a few recommendations to eat here so picked it as our 'treat' meal on our holidays.

It was awful.

Tuna tataki - somehow they managed to make this lovely looking dish both dry and with the texture of sandpaper.

Lamb - pub style presentation and so sweet - as if someone had thrown a jar of supermarket bought cranberry jam into the sauce.

Gnocchi - stodgy blobs in the fishiest tasting sauce - yuck.

Service was lovely - friendly and convivial.

Maybe we had a bad night as clearly many people love it here. Won't be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ruralgymnast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch Experience”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

After many trips to Port Douglas we finally got to Salsa for lunch. It wasn't the perfect day for looking towards the bay because of rain but the food was every bit as good as we had been told to expect. The affogato was pure bliss. The review asks 'if this is one of the meals you have ever had'. That is a difficult judgement call as one has many fine dining experiences of different sorts in different places which can be also be on a par depending on the occasion. However the food, the service and the venue could not be faulted.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Remmers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salsa Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Port Douglas, Queensland
 

Been to Salsa Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing