We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Frangipani Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Bay Villas Resort(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$128
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sheraton Grand Mirage Resort, Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Peppers Beach Club(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$268
US$208
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mantra PortSea(Port Douglas)
US$144
US$138
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Thala Beach Nature Reserve(Oak Beach)(Great Value!)
US$295
US$191
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ramada Resort Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lazy Lizard Motor Inn(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Meridian Port Douglas(Port Douglas)(Great Value!)
US$160
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mantra On The Inlet(Port Douglas)
US$156
HotelQuickly
View Deal
Reviews (92)
Filter reviews
92 results
Traveller rating
84
7
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
84
7
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb byogurtsuperb hostseach morningbowl of fruitfour mile beachhouse is beautifulinto town for dinnerdaintree rainforestwildlife habitatport douglas areashort walkleonabobtropicalaustraliatours
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 92 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were fortunate to stay in Bob & Leona's villa in early October for 5 nights. Their hospitality mirrors that extended to the Bed & Breakfast guests. Always there to give advice on trips and restaurants, provide food starter packs for those of us on self catering.
Bob's tour of the best places to see in Port Douglas was especially useful to a Scot new to the area.
The whole Port Douglas experience was enhanced by their welcome and attention to making your stay memorable.
We will be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I stayed 3 nights at the Frangipani B&B in Port Douglas. Overall I really enjoyed my stay. Leona and Bob do all they can to make you feel like you are home. Bob is always happy to spend every morning having breaky with you and discussing all things Aussy! :^) I liked the breakfast every morning of fresh fruit, cereals, and toast. Bob even went for gluten free bread to accommodate my diet needs!!!

The rooms are comfy and well appointed and if you like the sound of birds in the morning, you are in for a treat. The three guest rooms overlook the courtyard and swimming pool which make you feel like you are in a rain forest. You can use a private entry to your room or enter through the main house. Leona is always welcoming. I spent a couple hours in the pool and it was very nice and peaceful. They also have bikes you can use on the beach.

Talking about the beach, the B&B is all of a 1 minute walk to the beach - very easy access. The beach was awesome to walk both in the morning and eve. The ocean was really nice to swim in and the sand is like powder. Awesome if you ask me.

I really liked the Port Douglas area. It has a little bit of everything for a nice holiday stay - shopping, good restaurants, nite life to boot - not crowded. It takes about an hour to drive to Port Douglas from the Cairns airport, but it is a really scenic drive. It is also close enough to easily take a rain forest tour or go up to Mossman gorge for a nice swim in a fresh water creek.

Overall I would recommend the Frangipani for those wanting a more personal experience when visiting Port Douglas - Bob and Leona are very nice hosts! Thanks for the great stay!

Room Tip: If you plan to go on any excursions during your stay at Frangipani, Leona is the person to talk too. She knows all the best operators and you should let her set you up. I had a great time on Tony's Rain Forest Tour - she recommended them.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheNetBuilder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The biggest problem about writing this review Frangipani is what to say that hasn't already been said in previous reviews.
Firstly let me just comment on your host Leona and Bob , wow what a couple, so so accommodating in every way!!!! This was my first stay in a B&B and I enjoyed every second. The house is amazing and my room was the same , with an excellent open plan , so the garden felt a part of your room. The bed ,pillow and linen were very comfortable and lead to wonderful sleeps. Leona's breakfasts were amazing , which included a plate of fresh fruit with no less than 12 different tropical fruits to enjoy each morning , with many other delicious breakfast goodies to start your day with. The house is only a stone throw from the beach , which is wonderful to ride on with bikes available at the house to use any time. I had a wonderful 4 nights at Frangipani with Leona & Bob .
I can't recommend Frangipani highly enough , it is a little patch of heaven in the tropics you should not miss.
Many thanks Leona & Bob for such a wonderful time .
I will be back..

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

A beautiful b&b, with a wonderfully restful atmosphere. Nothing is too much trouble for Leona. We had such a good stay. I would highly recommend this b&b and would love to go back. Great eatery very close by (short walk), and lovely breakfasts at the b&b

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

This is an exceptional b & b, professionally managed by approachable and caring hosts. The architecturally designed residence had guest accommodation in mind whilst the open plan living area enables the beautiful pool and surrounds to be enjoyed. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts and one must be proud of this exposure to Australian excellence in holiday accommodation to the 95 percent ratio of overseas travellers. Well done and thanks for such a perfect holiday experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Menabillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews