We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rocky Gardens is a great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rocky Gardens Motor Inn
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Rockhampton
Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Rocky Gardens looks inviting from a distance with its immaculate presentation. The hosts are friendly and genuine folk who were terrific to deal with. The rooms are a good size, spotlessly clean and good value for money. I highly recommend Rocky Gardens Motor Inn.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussellYarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay H, Manager at Rocky Gardens Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Thank you for your positive feed back. We take great pride in ensuring the cleanliness of our rooms is second to none, so its great to hear we are achieving this.
And its always a pleasure knowing we have made our guests feel welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 64 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2013

The Rocky Gardens is a standard county motel run by warm and friendly management and staff. Very down to earth people who make a big effort to make you feel welcome and take pride in the service they provide. Rooms are very dated and run-down but generally pretty clean. The sheets were the biggest let down for me as they were poor quality and quite scratchy which impacted my sleep somewhat.

The food is well priced and good quality, especially considering I don't think a chef prepares the meals. All in all a good motel for a short stopover if you are staying for business. If you are looking for a place for families or couples there may be nicer, or more romantic places.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room back from the road as the noise travels and it can be hard to get a good night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay H, Manager at Rocky Gardens Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

Thank you for recent feedback in regards to your stay at Rocky Gardens Motor Inn.
We do understand that some of the rooms are looking a little dated but since change of ownership we have been working tirelessly towards refurbishing our rooms.
I am disappointed that you had an uncomfortable night sleep due to the bedding, we were recently supplied with new sheets, but we will follow up on this.
Its always a pleasure to know that the pride we take in the motel is noticed by our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Rooms are tiny,the entire room chairs etc smell like cigarette smoke and the floor and benches are dirty !! Its hard trying to tell a 3 year old to not touch floor or take socks of due to dirt. We arrived late so had no option but to stay and we already paid cost $165 for two adults and a child... I should have bought a tent !!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phia3549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay H, Manager at Rocky Gardens Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us, and we were disappointed to hear that you had encountered these issues. At Rocky Gardens Motor Inn we really do pride ourselves on being one of the friendliest and cleanest motels in Rockhampton, and for the health and comfort of our guests and staff, all of our 42 rooms are non-smoking, for which your particular observations are of great importance to us and these topics will be investigated. In terms of size, each of our rooms do either meet or exceed standards as set by AAA, though I am empathetic to the fact that they did not meet your expectation on this occasion. Finally, please let me thank you for your valuable review. Critique and feedback from our guests, positive or otherwise is key in helping us on our quest to become Rockhampton’s finest motel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Rocky Gardens for a conference. I stayed for two nights in a twin bedded room. From the moment I arrived the owners, managers and staff made it a great stay.
I stayed in one of the rooms up at the back. It had recently been painted and was clean from top to bottom. It had a large queen bed and a large single bed. The kitchenette was fully kitted out, with also an iron and iron board in the cupboard.
You can tell that the hotel crew likes to work there. From the cleanliness of the site, to the rooms and the natural way on how they treat their guests.
I have recommended this hotel to friends and would also like to recommend it to you. Don’t forget to try their restaurant. Yum!!

Room Tip: Don't forget to stay here. It is a gem
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kime75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Managers are doing the job of maintaining the motel (clean rooms, maintenance, etc) but it is not apparent that they are managing the property (unruly guests, OH&S issues, etc).

There is a lot of roadwork going on at the moment and it appears that there are a lot of road workers being accommodated in motels. How times change! Young male road workers finishing shift work at 3:00am in the morning and then returning to their 4 star motel has to be a recipe for disaster for any other guest. My point about managers actually managing. Couldn't they see that there were going to be issues with this unless they read the riot act very early in the piece. Apparently not.

Chairs and cigarette dump bins have neen moved onto narrow walkways and these are a safety issue when getting luggage to and from a room and a serious issue if there was ever the need to evacuate.

Managers say the road workers are only htere for a week. Given the scale of roadworks in this region it would be wise to check before booking.

Noise from people drinking beer from 3:00am until after daylight, plus road noise, plus railway noise will not reward one with a good nights sleep. If this were a cheap motel then it would be a different issue. It is not cheap and it does not deliver.

If you just want clean and can put up with the rest then it comes highly recommended. If you need a balance of other factors to provide a reasonable experience then look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2_5greenacres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2013

During the recent flooding in Qld I had 2 drivers stuck in Rockhampton,booked them in and they stayed 3 days.During that time they were treated as if they were at home by the staff,the room was clean and tidy and comfortable,
I was forced to fly my drivers home and without so much as a second thought we were allowed to leave the vehicles at the motel for safe keeping (which when we got found they had been kept under cover) and at the time the owner drove my drivers to the airport
We quit often have a need for a motel in Rockhampton so it goes without saying where I wii book my drivers in from now on

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

WE stayed at Rocky Gardens on two ocassions on our way to and from Brisbane. The unit was spotless, comfortable bed and good hot shower. Also unit had table and chairs, microwave and kettle. Bedding was clean and room decor lovely.Air con worked well and was quiet. We asked for unit at back on top floor which was very quiet and no highway noise. Resturant was closed whilst we were there so got courtesy bus to Rockhampton Leagues Club not far away for a nice meal.Found staff very friendly and helpful. Motel is easy to find. Would definately recommend this motel and we will certainley stay again on our next trip south.

Room Tip: Back rooms quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
1.8 mi away
Villa Capri
Villa Capri
#25 of 36 in Rockhampton
98 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Regent Rockhampton
2.2 mi away
Albert Court Motel
Albert Court Motel
#21 of 36 in Rockhampton
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Q Motel Rockhampton
The Q Motel Rockhampton
#12 of 36 in Rockhampton
69 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#18 of 36 in Rockhampton
932 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western The Stirling Rockhampton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Gardens Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Gardens Motor Inn

Address: 292-306 Lower Dawson Rd, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 36 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range: £63 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky Gardens Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rocky Gardens Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing