We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible friendly and beautiful place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rocky Gardens Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rocky Gardens Motor Inn
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Rockhampton
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Incredible friendly and beautiful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

I've stayed a quite a few motels but the Rocky Gardens Motor Inn has got to be on the top of the list if your traveling through Rockhampton Queensland.
The rooms are so well maintained, the staff are so friendly & helpful, and the food is absolute 5 Star.
I can't believe the prices compared to what you receive, real value for money with 5 star service too boot...
Well done Rocky Gardens, the rest should take a leaf out of the book from the best ;-)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank J0nZie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay H, Manager at Rocky Gardens Motor Inn, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your positive feed back.
We take great pleasure in knowing that the hard work of staff, and management alike, is paying off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    22
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
12
15
4
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I stay in lots of different Motels in different cities and towns across Queensland. I like a clean room, comfortable bed, great shower and friendly staff. I spent the weekend at Rocky Gardens, and I am very happy to say I was very impressed in all 4 areas. In addition I ate in house and the meals in the restaurant were wonderful and well priced. My thanks to Managers Ray and Kay and the friendly staff who seem to delight in going the extra mile for their guests.

Room Tip: I stayed in Room 4 which was quiet I heard no traffic noise, and slept well on a comfortable bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay H, Manager at Rocky Gardens Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
We have an ongoing refurbishment and improvement policy under our new ownership. We thank you for your comments and hope we can add you to our growing list of return guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here en route to North Queensland. The room was very clean and well presented, but with one problem. The TV's were impossible to see, the both of them, due to very bad positioning. They simply must be moved so they can be seen. We had a family room on the second floor which was a bit hard to get to. Family rooms should all be in the ground floor, it just makes far better sense. Otherwise a very nice place.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay H, Manager at Rocky Gardens Motor Inn, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Thankyou for the feed back of our motel and your kind comments. You have raised two interesting points. We have 5 family rooms at the motel, 3 with a separate bedroom and 2 without . 2 are located on the ground level. Our feedback suggests that we have the mix pretty well right as some guests prefer the raised elevation, the veranda and the breezes and some prefer the easier access of the ground level. All these rooms are very popular so if you require a ground floor family room please book in advance.
With regards to the TV position, the cabinets have been positioned to maximise the space available in the rooms. We have however responded to your comment and have now mounted a TV on the wall as you have suggested. Thank you for your contribution to help improve our Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

Rocky Gardens looks inviting from a distance with its immaculate presentation. The hosts are friendly and genuine folk who were terrific to deal with. The rooms are a good size, spotlessly clean and good value for money. I highly recommend Rocky Gardens Motor Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RussellYarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay H, Manager at Rocky Gardens Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Thank you for your positive feed back. We take great pride in ensuring the cleanliness of our rooms is second to none, so its great to hear we are achieving this.
And its always a pleasure knowing we have made our guests feel welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

The Rocky Gardens is a standard county motel run by warm and friendly management and staff. Very down to earth people who make a big effort to make you feel welcome and take pride in the service they provide. Rooms are very dated and run-down but generally pretty clean. The sheets were the biggest let down for me as they were poor quality and quite scratchy which impacted my sleep somewhat.

The food is well priced and good quality, especially considering I don't think a chef prepares the meals. All in all a good motel for a short stopover if you are staying for business. If you are looking for a place for families or couples there may be nicer, or more romantic places.

Room Tip: Try to ask for a room back from the road as the noise travels and it can be hard to get a good night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay H, Manager at Rocky Gardens Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Thank you for recent feedback in regards to your stay at Rocky Gardens Motor Inn.
We do understand that some of the rooms are looking a little dated but since change of ownership we have been working tirelessly towards refurbishing our rooms.
I am disappointed that you had an uncomfortable night sleep due to the bedding, we were recently supplied with new sheets, but we will follow up on this.
Its always a pleasure to know that the pride we take in the motel is noticed by our guests.
We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Rooms are tiny,the entire room chairs etc smell like cigarette smoke and the floor and benches are dirty !! Its hard trying to tell a 3 year old to not touch floor or take socks of due to dirt. We arrived late so had no option but to stay and we already paid cost $165 for two adults and a child... I should have bought a tent !!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phia3549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kay H, Manager at Rocky Gardens Motor Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
We are extremely sorry to hear that we did not exceed your expectations during your stay with us, and we were disappointed to hear that you had encountered these issues. At Rocky Gardens Motor Inn we really do pride ourselves on being one of the friendliest and cleanest motels in Rockhampton, and for the health and comfort of our guests and staff, all of our 42 rooms are non-smoking, for which your particular observations are of great importance to us and these topics will be investigated. In terms of size, each of our rooms do either meet or exceed standards as set by AAA, though I am empathetic to the fact that they did not meet your expectation on this occasion. Finally, please let me thank you for your valuable review. Critique and feedback from our guests, positive or otherwise is key in helping us on our quest to become Rockhampton’s finest motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013

I recently had the pleasure of staying at Rocky Gardens for a conference. I stayed for two nights in a twin bedded room. From the moment I arrived the owners, managers and staff made it a great stay.
I stayed in one of the rooms up at the back. It had recently been painted and was clean from top to bottom. It had a large queen bed and a large single bed. The kitchenette was fully kitted out, with also an iron and iron board in the cupboard.
You can tell that the hotel crew likes to work there. From the cleanliness of the site, to the rooms and the natural way on how they treat their guests.
I have recommended this hotel to friends and would also like to recommend it to you. Don’t forget to try their restaurant. Yum!!

Room Tip: Don't forget to stay here. It is a gem
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kime75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Cattle City Motor Inn
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
Travelodge Hotel Rockhampton
#9 of 37 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
2.1 mi away
Empire Apartment Hotel
Empire Apartment Hotel
#1 of 37 in Rockhampton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Stirling Rockhampton
1.8 mi away
Quality Hotel Regent Rockhampton
2.1 mi away
The Criterion Hotel Motel
The Criterion Hotel Motel
#19 of 37 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rocky Gardens Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Gardens Motor Inn

Property: Rocky Gardens Motor Inn
Address: 292-306 Lower Dawson Rd, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rocky Gardens Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Rocky Gardens Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing