We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is excellent”
Review of Demedios

Demedios
Ranked #34 of 194 Restaurants in Rockhampton
Price range: US$14 - US$24
Cuisines: European, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Reservations, Takeout
Description: Tucked away in North Rockhampton's QTV House, Demedios Cafe brings a casual approach to contemporary dining. We believe in providing amazing food and great service for any occasion. Whether your looking for a quite relaxing coffee and homemade cake, a cocktail or wine in the court yard after a long day or a full romantic a la cart experience we have something to temp every tastebud.We pride ourselves on providing a dining experience that will leave you satisfied and content. If you want an amazing dining experience come see for yourself.
Newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food is excellent”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

More of a cafe than restraurant but great food.....................................................................................

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anonymous123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A waiter that won't take your order? Now I've seen everything.”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

I wish I could tell you what the food was like at Demedios, but unfortunately - even though I've been there - I never got to experience it.

Here's the scenario - we arrive at the restaurant at our allotted time. We're shown to our table in the pleasant outdoor courtyard and our drink order is taken. Everything is hunky dory at this point.

Then ... we wait. And wait and wait and wait. The waiters and waitresses can be seen inside, they don't seem terribly busy (the restaurant is half empty at this point), but it's as if they're afraid to come out. Finally, after about 20 minutes of waiting, we flag one down.

"Sorry, the kitchen is backed up - we're not taking orders for another five minutes." Um ... OK. You *could* just take our order and put it into the kitchen in five minutes' time. But no matter.

Another 10 minutes passes. Frustrated, I march over to the front desk and ask if we can please place our order. "Sorry, the kitchen is not taking any orders for another 15 minutes. You're not in a rush, are you?" Um, only in the sense that we have a movie to catch in just under an hour. And seeing as you're located right next to the movies, no doubt you're used to dealing with customers in a rush...? Maybe not.

We didn't eat at Demedios. We went across the road to Hog's Breath, which was heaving but atilll managed to deliver out meals within 20 minutes, with a smile. I won't be back to Demediocres.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PurpleNurple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great foods ....casual dinner spot in Rocky”
Reviewed 25 January 2012

We have been there a few time now really happy with the food and what ever special on the board .... Highly recommend the prawn gnocchi ...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JLatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Very good for lunch and handy for movies”
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Good food, only ever eaten there at lunchtime but is good value and service good. Varied menu and specials and would recommend.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cazza70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockhampton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant with open air dining area”
Reviewed 15 September 2011

The restaurant/cafe is conveniently located next to the cinema and shops, and provides a decent meal at a reasonable cost. The service was good without being too pushy.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterJKane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Demedios also viewed

Rockhampton, Queensland
 
Rockhampton, Queensland
Rockhampton, Queensland
 
Rockhampton, Queensland
 

Been to Demedios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing