We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Served it's purpose”
Review of Fitzroy Motor Inn

Fitzroy Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fitzroy Motor Inn
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Rockhampton
Kirwan
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Served it's purpose”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I had been driving for some hours & decided to grab a room. $125 p/n with a spa. My back was sore & I thought the warm bath would help. In comparison to other much nicer motels I have stayed at the price is a little excessive however, that appears to be the norm in Rocky. I had extreme difficulty understanding the asian lady or man at the counter & having to ask them to repeat themselves several times made me feel quite uncomfortable. The room had that disinfectant smell quite strong. The shower & tap in the basin needed washes & dripped continuously. The spa was in the shower so a huge step to get in. It seemed gross but I think it was just dated however there was mould on the ceiling of the bathroom. The room itself was dated but clean and the beds were comfortable. Being near the front of the hotel the traffic was quite busy and loud. The wi-fi was free and working so this was a plus and the parking was undercover outside the room. It served it's purpose for the time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo-anne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    17
    14
    5
    15
See reviews for
16
19
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here as a stop over while traveling, A bit dated, but cheep clean and friendly. This is very much a travelers motel but also used as a base for workers. Its located a block back from the highway so the rooms are quiet, but only a short walk to a wide range of eateries. The free internet is a great bonus. It was such a convenient place to stay we stayed here on our return trip also.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I made no booking, lucky there was room available. I was very satisfied with my stay, accommodation rate I thought maybe a little excessive. Defs not modern style accommodation but room was very clean and shower was great. .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Au
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We arrived early evening on the off chance of a standby booking. There were cheaper and better choices in the south of the city. They obliged with a $90 rate which for an overnighter is the max they should ever charge. Compared to a standby 4* rate cheaper in Townsville the night before I would not pay any more as it is a very old style 3* accom. We were probably given the nosiest room close to the street because they charged us less. All sorts of noises were heard through the night. From cars hooning to weird klunking plumbing noises. The air con was too hard to get going so we ended up going with out. On the upside the staff were friendly and obliged with providing wine glasses.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 1 it was very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendaayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

Recently booked a night through a reputable booking site. Confirmation was received 1.5 weeks before our intended stay. At 3.30 on the afternoon, were rang and told that other bookings had taken our confirmed room. Alternative accommodation was offered but at a lesser standard. We declined an will never use this motel again. Travellers be warned, your accommodation may not be there when you arrive.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Wayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rockhampton hotels

Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Having planned our trip and booked our stay plenty of time in advance we were shocked to reach the motel only to be told they were fully booked. We had booked the room for one night two months in advance and the staff could not understand why we were unhappy with their response to 'not charge you' - how when they had no room for us!!. They sent us down the road to their sister hotel which was degusting and also fully booked with us having the last room.
The motor Lodge I will look them up and write a separate review on them as no one should stay there unless they are desperate.
I would not advise anyone to stay here either as they are too untrusting and do not honour their bookings, really poor customer service.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holiday-view23-7-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This was a last minute booking so wasn't sure what to expect. We booked a family room which really isn't any bigger to the other rooms in the motel, it just has more beds squashed into it. Guy at reception did not speak English very well, so check in was quick as general conversation couldnt be made. Motel is basically across the road to a number of take-away shops, so we didn't need to drive anywhere. Room was a bit dated and had an old boxed style air-con which took a bit to get cranking. Rooms do have a mini-bar but make sure you check it on arrival. We didn't check ours till we were leaving and discovered that there was a bottle of water missing. Trying to explain this to the guy at reception who spoke little English was rather painful. If you have time to shop around for accommodation then make sure you do as this wouldn't be my first choice next visit to Rockhampton.

Room Tip: Check Mini Bar on arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncratahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rockhampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Centrepoint Motor Inn
Centrepoint Motor Inn
#25 of 34 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Criterion Hotel Motel
The Criterion Hotel Motel
#20 of 34 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Metro Motel
#31 of 34 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Albert Court Motel
Albert Court Motel
#22 of 34 in Rockhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Citywalk Motor Inn Rockhampton
1.1 mi away
Best Western Cattle City Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fitzroy Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fitzroy Motor Inn

Property: Fitzroy Motor Inn
Address: 78 Fitzroy St, Rockhampton, Queensland 4700, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Rockhampton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 34 Hotels in Rockhampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fitzroy Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Fitzroy Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Rockhampton
Rockhampton Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing