We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Rubbish"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sands Holiday Apartments
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Rubbish"”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

We recently stayed at the Sands for 9 nights - apart from been ripped off i should have taken advise from other peoples reviews. CONSIDERING YOU CAN STAY AT THE SURFERS ROYAL FOR $25 PER WEEK with a covered pool, spa, games room , which was not available at the time we wanted to stay.
Lynne who is suppose to be the manager worked between 9am and 10am - this is no miss print, you could never get in contact with her the unit was clean however the ceiling fan failed to work for 8 nights, on the 9th night it went on itself? it had a 34cm TV - remote was not working . The lounges were so SOILED and OLD i had to cover them with sheets to sit on them, Also no PHONE available to contact reception,
The pool was only cleaned 1 time during our stay, lynne said that people did not follow the house rules (washing before entering from the beach).
The entry foyer was extremly dirty, infact whist in peak season she decided to have silicon put around the tiles, the stench was horrible.
This apartment only had 1 SMALL pool, no BBQ area, NO SAUNA, NO SPA NO NOTHING
Beautiful views however spoilt with the party that was happening for 3 days straight up on the 10th floor from a permanent tenant.
Oh and if you wanted to take a dip in the pool at 8am good luck trying to find the manager to open it up, there was 4 families waiting at 9am to get in people were knocking on her door, she only responded to the maintenance guy.
When i dropped off the keys on the last day she snached them off me did not thank me or asked how my stay was - I had a 1 bed apartment and spend $1800 for 9 nights.
Overall a big disappointment, fantastic location, views but terrible MANAGEMENT - Dont waist your money staying there we have stayed at the President Apartments and found it CLEANER and Management was approachable.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lidia80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    11
    14
    5
    17
See reviews for
13
15
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Noumea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2010

I discovered the Sands in 2008 with a friend. We chose it because it was much cheaper than the other apartments. We came back last year because it is a great deal. Very cheap, spacious rooms, clean, beach view... It is not a palace, furnitures are a bit old but it is really not a problem.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaJune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2009

We got this unit on the internet hoping to find a low budget comfortable place with ocean views views. The number of the unit was 203 Second Level. The ocean views we got which was seen when you went onto the side balcony. That wasn't too bad. Clean enough after I had swept the place and mopped around where the cleaners had missed.. Then everything was downhill. The furniture in the living area had seen better days with chipped arm rests and frayed cushions. One bedside table where there should have been two. I don't think that the place had been vacuumed for a while because the level of dust and sand that came up when I swept the carpet was pretty bad.
I had difficulties getting a good night sleep because the mattress was so uncomfortable. After trying to put up with it for three days I removed two lounge cushions and put them on the bed under the sheet so that I could have a bit of comfort.. When I explained to the caretaker she was not very helpful. if the units are all privately owned it wasn't her problem. It was a case of out of sight out of mind as long as they get the money. I have had a spinal fusion, but I don't tell everyone my problems. It took me a few days for my back to settle when I found another place that had better facilities.
Maybe the units are not all like this one but please don't go into number 203

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bettyb9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

Stayed for 1 week at this hotel, perfect location, cannot complain. Clean but very outdated decor, big balcony with lawn furniture, was able to sunbathe out there early in the day! Old and not fancy but location makes up for it, good value for your buck. Kitchen with dishes but no soap or cleaning supplies. Lots of shops within walking distance though.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josee09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2009

Stayed there for 3 nights with 3 friends. There are 2 rooms apartment, where one is so small is non-existent. Room is filled with chlorin's smell. Having difficulty to breathe and sleepp at night. Swimming pool is very very small compared to the one shown in the website. Owner is arrogant and very rude. We were only 10 minutes late from checking out, she scloded us rudely and demanding Aus 15!!! If I am not mistaken, she is called Lynne. Horrible stay experience

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank monophobia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Plenty
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

We have stayed at The Sands for the past three years during holidays in September. I cannot say enough about the location, so close to everything. The 3 different apartments were all good value although every one had something wrong with it. Only niggly things, a mop without a head, a half blocked shower rose, taps that would not turn off or that the knobs fell off in our hands, tv remote control did not work even after three battery changes, an insect screen fell off one of the windows, one year no tea towel or kitchen cloth. You supply your own dishwashing and laundry detergents but the landry and kitchen are good value. Nice large balcony but no chairs to sit out there, only a low lounger which makes it impossible to see the ocean, so standing is a must. The apartments are very clean though, the lift is a bit dodgy but it gets there. If you just want a place to rest your head while out most of the day, this is a good one. I was a bit disappointed that the price shot up an extra $15 a night from the last two years, so this might have been our last visit. The location is the only reason I would go back.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — traffic below could be noisy on weekend nights
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Sparky236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2008

My wife and I stayed at the sand hotel for a week in June. The building is really tired from the outside, and could do with some work. People who do stay here do not do so for the modern facilities. This hotel however boasts one of the best locations close to all the action and across the road from the beach. The rooms are basic, however are clean. It also had good laudry facilities within the room. The staff are friendly and helpful.

If you want a high class, ultra modern stay in the hotel holiday this is not for you, however, if you want to be close to Cavill Street, within access to all buses, shopping, seaworld, whale watching and the beach, without the mod cons, this is an excellent choice. The price? around 80.00 per night, so a bargain.

Would I stay there again? If I was after a cheap holiday, definitely. However next time I think i would like to have alittle more luxury and may do some days at the Circle on Cavill. I do not regret my stay at the sands and my wife and had a great sleep each night on the comfortable bed listening to the waves crash onto the shore each night.

  • Liked — Price and location
  • Disliked — Tired building but not a show stopper
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jimmy_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sands Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Holiday Apartments

Property: The Sands Holiday Apartments
Address: The Sands 40 The Esplanade, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Sands Holiday Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One and two bedroom fully self contained apartments with washing machine and drier and ironing facilities. Ceiling fans, television and balcony overlooking the beautiful ocean of Surfers Paradise and beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sands Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sands Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Sands Holiday Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing