We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not at all a gem!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Emerald

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Emerald
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not at all a gem!”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I would not recommend this place to anyone! The place was falling to bits and generally dirty. Our fridge broke down and we lost all of our food - when we let the resort know, they were nothing but rude! Do not stay here! It might seem cheap, but it is cheap for a reason. There was mould in the bathroom and chunks out of the walls. Definitely not worth the money at all!

The only positive was the location and the bbq area - apart from that, there is no way I will be booking at this place ever again!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, Manager at The Emerald, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Hi Deb!
I am sorry to hear that the fridge broke down. I haven't had to replace any fridges though and many other guests have come through without a remark. Had you told me at the time of your stay I would have immediately rectified it.
We at The Emerald endeavour to help our guests in any way we can and offer excellent customer service.
There are only one of two employees here which consists of myself and another. We pride ourselves on our positive, helpful and friendly attitude towards our guests.
Our cleaners follow strict guidelines with regards to servicing our rooms.
Could you please contact us so we may identify your issues and immediately attend to them.
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    5
    11
    20
See reviews for
24
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2012

I stayed at The Emerald for three days. Two bedroom 9th floor. Great views of Gold Coast from every window - kitchen, dining, and bedrooms - from the ocean to the hinterland and across the canal waterways to high rises. Glenda our hostess is an amazing person, so caring of our needs and couldn't do enough for us - great sense of humour! Heated pool lovely and clean and great bbq area, green lawn to dig feet into or play with kids. Took us about 7 minutes to walk to main street of Surfers, past the ferris wheel. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
campbelltown 2560
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Our stay was absolutely fantastic, it was so close to everything.We had a 2brm with spa with relaxing views from every room and every room had a balcony. Paul and Glenda the managers of the emerald were beautiful people and were there for you any time of the day and night. The pool and barbique area was lovely and clean so was the whole place,we just cant wait to go back again it was so nice and friendly to stay there and we wouldn't stay anywhere else :) ..thank you so much for making our stay so enjoyable :))

Room Tip: we were on the 7th floor and had great views all round...we had air conditioning but some rooms don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 December 2011

I stayed at emrald with my parents in 2 bedroom apartment.
Apartments was excellent value for money. We had good view of Gold Coast on the 8th floor; View was very relaxing and soothening. Swimming pool was good and clean. Rooms were very neat and clean. spa was good. My parents were very happy with the quality of service and cleanliness. The couple at the receiption are very warm and welcoming. Just short walk to Cavell Avenu (Heart of Gold of Coast).

Rooms contained everything you could have thought. Like washing machine, utensils, microwave, foxtel (austar), Heater/AC

To be frank... staying at Emrald made our trip.

I would highly recommend to any one ...

It is my first choice of accommodation if I visit Gold Coast.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank softkun123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

This was a good hotel. My husband and I enjoyed to stay here. We have a very good time. Nice hotel. Staff nice and happy. Very friendly. Sufers Paradise is amazing. Hotel has very great location we had a very good view I enjoyed to look from my window. The beach is beautiful. Nice and relaxing time here. Thank you staff.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cutelebgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2011

Absolutely fantastic, nice and close to everything, Spa was great.. Cant wait till next time.. And the managers were really great..

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

the emerald was a nice stay me and my boyfreind enjoyed it for our celebration of anniversary, it was so close to cavil ave and all the places we wanted to go we did walk and it only took us less then 10 mins to get into surfers, the suites were realy nice and self contained, we had everything we needed to use e.g washing machine,dryer, kitchen needs, we will be back to stay soon,

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antesha m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.0 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,850 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,371 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald

Property: The Emerald
Address: Emerald 7 Mallana St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#14 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emerald 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise hotel on the river, only 10 minutes walk from the famous surf beach. Every apartment has 2 bedrooms, with a spa in the ensuite off the main bedroom. 3 Balconies with stunning views day or night. Suitable for longer stay family groups or exciting weekends away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Surfers Paradise
The Emerald Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing