We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, noisy and bad mannered operator”
Review of The Emerald

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Emerald
Ranked #30 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Very Good:- Lovely sparkly clean pool backing onto the canal water is glorious and BBQ sheltered areas and gardens very good and clean. The Chinese man who welcomed us and helped us with our questions was a very polite people orientated person, great people skills! His colleague LLoyd let the place down with the following:-
The Not so good:-
Visitors Carpark has 2 broken down cars in it.
Loungesuite in the 2 bedroom apartment was very very filthy as I used baby wipes to clean thick dirt off it.
The Oven door rubber strip is hanging on the ground.
Most of the night until midnight, Unit on our floor had 12 people with unacceptable noise and their noise came through their kitchen into our loungreoom. Too many people in that room!
The fan/light remote didn't work, therefore I couldn't read at bed at night and could not keep cool even with door open..
Lloyd one of the Managers has no people skills, yet his colleague the lovely Chinese Man does.

Room Tip: Any high floor 2 bedroom is suitable.....lovely views over canals to watch the jet skis and canoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cathddp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 14 January 2014

The apartment is so old we were tempted to leave. Would have checked out had we not paid in full months in advance. Needs a complete renovation. In launge there was one 2-seater couch and one very small single seater, for 3 people only and there was four of us guests so one sat on the floor. They are so old that the synthetic leather surface finish was flaking off onto the floor.

The double bed was so old you could feel all the springs when laying on it. We tried to make do by laying the two spare blankets under the sheet. A bit better but still not good. My wife actually had to get up and sleep on the couch. As it's only a small 2-seater she was not able to stretch out.

Vertical drapes are broken and not able to be closed in main room letting in the light before 5am so could not sleep in to reasonable time. The fridge is so old the front of the door has surface rust on it and of course the fridge interior light does not work. There was only enough toilet people paper in both bathrooms for only three people to use. Fourth person had to go downstairs to use public toilets - seriously how much would it cost management to leave one spare roll in there?

Every time my wife walked in she complained about the smell. The carpets are old, dated and in desperate need for replacement.

Everything about the apartment screams REOVATION TIME. Fortunately we only needed a place for one night stayover, otherwise we would have definitely checked out. Suffice it to say we will not be coming back and would recommend others to consider an alternativeasthiis was not a cheap stay either. You can certainly do better.

Room Tip: Stay away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

The location is brilliant , Paul the owner was fabulous and the views amazing BUT...
The rooms need renovating badly and the carpets need a really good clean dust everywhere underneath furniture so I've been bitten all over my legs since being here.. Would suggest changing the carpets completely, giving good overall paint job and nipping to ikea to update the furniture inc kitchen utensils everything was just very odds and sods like having only one dish etc...
The 'spa' bath on the pictures is incredibly misleading sadly , though nice to have for an adult it was like sitting in a sink - not the best.
The apartment itself was very spacious however so if updated would be nicer to stay in.
For the price it's at the moment very expensive given some other places we've stayed in with less items in it but more modern and thought put into it.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linzi0677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Old rooms needs renovating. At least, invest in new furniture. the couches were old and not comfortable. Very happy with the service Paul was very accommodating. resort is do clean shame about rooms. Pool and location great. Would stay again if rooms were renovated.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travels872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

I absolutely loved this place. Good price. I loved the apartment, modern appliances and very clean and fresh. All rooms had amazing views and the outdoor areas - BBQ and pool were lovely. Great managers too.
I didn't want to leave and hope to stay there again real soon :))

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zarakel06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

The hotel is located not far from the center of Surfers Paradise & the beach with some really nice views of the hinterland & canals. The room we stayed in was very tired with various things needing replacing but at least this meant the kids cant break anything. There was a dinning room table cheer with the leg just placed back on so when you sit on it, it falls apart! witch was a bit suss... The only reason im not giving this hotel 2 rating is because of the great view from the crap house in the spa on suite, fantastic !! LOL...

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Loved the room. Modern facilities just enough away from the hustle and bustle but still close enough to walk to. The views from our room was a definite wow factor. Loved the spa. A must to return and enjoy our holiday in again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SydneySider007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
The Island Boutique Hotel
The Island Boutique Hotel
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
58 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#20 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#19 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
887 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,271 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald

Address: Emerald 7 Mallana St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#15 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £62 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emerald 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise hotel on the river, only 10 minutes walk from the famous surf beach. Every apartment has 2 bedrooms, with a spa in the ensuite off the main bedroom. 3 Balconies with stunning views day or night. Suitable for longer stay family groups or exciting weekends away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Surfers Paradise
The Emerald Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing