We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Clean”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Emerald

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Emerald
Ranked #29 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not Clean”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had booked a 1 bedroom with spa and got a 2 bedroom with spa (not needed) but the room was very grotty, would not want to use any of the crockery or cutlery as they had bits of hard food spots on them. Bathroom had rust around spa, and steps to spa etc, tiles were unclean with drinks spills still on floor, curtains were hanging off the tracks and walls were dirty. Great position and lovely staff but if the units are separately owned then the owners should not be receiving their rent as they need to be refurbished and then cleaned properly and I'm sure then it would be a lovely place to stay as the views, bbq and pool were lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a CLEAN room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    5
    11
    20
See reviews for
24
12
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Room was horrific. It was in such a state that I would not even board my dog there. Walls were stained. Cigarette butts on each balcony. Spa filthy. Hand marks all over walls and mirrors. Dirty sheets. Counters not cleaned. Food in oven. Floors not washed.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kt11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on floor 12.Had a nice view from every balcony.room was clean and tidy and was quite.I was a bit worried once I booked and seen other reviews about the place but no problem here.Would come again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tracycoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyd M, Manager at The Emerald, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to make this review. We love the location and views from the Emerald. Mention this review for a special deal next time you visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We've just spent 2 nights at Emerald Surfers in a 7th floor unit. The unit has 2 good sized bedrooms each with their own bathrooms . From the bedrooms the views over the river and hinterland are the selling point, each with a small balcony, and from the lounge/dining room which is quite small , the little balcony overlooks surfers skyline. But the best part of all is a one person wonderfully situated spa in the master bathroom overlooking the river and hills. The hotel has an attractive Mediterranean style pergola with tables and chairs and BBQ. The unit itself is a bit tired and the lounge suite somewhat saggy and old, the kitchen is adequate. But if you want great views and a spa with a view this is for you.

Room Tip: Room 701 has great views and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trishart_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This hotel is in a beautiful location and should have been fantastic. But, there were cigarette butts on the balcony + old hair pins too. Some bins hadn't been emptied and hairs were on the pillows. The Reception was not open when we arrived late afternoon and there was no-one there when we left in the morning. To top it off, there was no garage parking for our car, so we had to put it in the visitor's parking. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloyd M, Manager at The Emerald, responded to this review, 27 November 2014
Emerald management are sorry about your unhappy stay with us, we have since placed a cleaners
check list in place so that this will not occur again. We have one car spot per room in our parking area and we have now marked the parking bays with the room number so that this will not happy again. We are happy that you enjoyed the views from your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed there 2 nights. Great view but when we got there, used tissues were on the bed side table. One of the pillows from couch had white stuff stuck to it. Phone didnt work. Washing machine didnt drain. The dryer was set on timer but never stopped, dangerous if no one was home. Spent that money and the place was disappointing. Have photos for proof. Would never go back

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Pyaw B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The Very Good:- Lovely sparkly clean pool backing onto the canal water is glorious and BBQ sheltered areas and gardens very good and clean. The Chinese man who welcomed us and helped us with our questions was a very polite people orientated person, great people skills! His colleague LLoyd let the place down with the following:-
The Not so good:-
Visitors Carpark has 2 broken down cars in it.
Loungesuite in the 2 bedroom apartment was very very filthy as I used baby wipes to clean thick dirt off it.
The Oven door rubber strip is hanging on the ground.
Most of the night until midnight, Unit on our floor had 12 people with unacceptable noise and their noise came through their kitchen into our loungreoom. Too many people in that room!
The fan/light remote didn't work, therefore I couldn't read at bed at night and could not keep cool even with door open..
Lloyd one of the Managers has no people skills, yet his colleague the lovely Chinese Man does.

Room Tip: Any high floor 2 bedroom is suitable.....lovely views over canals to watch the jet skis and canoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cathddp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.0 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
834 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
273 reviews
0.3 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,853 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,373 reviews
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Emerald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Emerald

Property: The Emerald
Address: Emerald 7 Mallana St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#14 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Emerald 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
High rise hotel on the river, only 10 minutes walk from the famous surf beach. Every apartment has 2 bedrooms, with a spa in the ensuite off the main bedroom. 3 Balconies with stunning views day or night. Suitable for longer stay family groups or exciting weekends away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Emerald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emerald Surfers Paradise
The Emerald Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing