We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crap and Dirty”
Review of Surfers City Motel

Surfers City Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Surfers Paradise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surfers City Motel
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We booked for two nights, my husband went to check in and all he said was that the lady freaked him out! We booked through wotif and she didnt know much about it. The next day we got a phone call asking when we were checking out as we had only booked for one night??? Clearly booked and paid for 2 nights. I used to work in a motel and understand there are mistakes like this made. We then went to check out and they didnt open till nine and because of the area we were not happy to leave the room unlocked or anything.

Went into the room and it was dirty the fridge was just disgusting, there was a big mat that was looking out of place... we were silly enough to look under it and it was covered in mould and we soon found out it was covering a massive hole in the carpet.

Went to the balcony to see there was a cucumber with a condom on the ground.

The bed its self was a double but the matress was a queen and the top sheet was either a single or a small double. The mattress was like sleeping on the floor it was that hard and the pillows were more like a bag of potatos.

The first night we went for a walk at 6pm and at the front reception there were 2 police officers and a man having a serious conversation. Later that night we were woken twice to arguements outside our room. the next morning found egg and shell everywhere. on the ground.

I would not stay there again if you paid me. I didnt feel safe even though i was there with my husband.

We love the Gold Coast but staying here has really put a dampner on it for us!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LauraK M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 35 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

From Wotif booked one nights accomodation in a queen bed. Giving a bedroom with a double bed, on complaining informed they do not have any rooms with a queen bed. Stated we booked a room with a queen bed and if he can not supply one could we have one with two single beds. He kindly gave us a room with a double bed and single bed. Room was very basic,decor was very outdated, (so 70's colours), the clock radio did not work and the TV only had two station that could barely be viewed, and the remote did not work (had batteries).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tweeddale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Great place to stay for one night, especially if you're not going to spend much time in your room.

Good location, room had tiny tv with poor reception and dead batteries in remote. Can be a little noisy.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mushfiq R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

We wanted a cheap room to stay in while in Surfers Paradise, this fit the bill perfectly.

The locaion is fantastic, only a short stroll to Cavill Ave and a block back from the beach. The room was clean but very basic. No phone, no aircon (ceiling fan though) and a tiny tv. We didn't mind the basic nature of the motel but being that the weather was 30+ degrees we were sweltering without aircon. Location is adjacent to a carpark that is very busy all night and was quite noisy (especially as it was hot without aircon and we had to sleep with the balcony door open).

If you want to spend some leisure time in your hotel this is not the place to stay, however if you just want somewhere to sleep for the night while you go out and enjoy the Gold Coast, this motel is perfect. Cheap and (slightly) cheerful!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HVD077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2010

Whilst the tariff is reasonable, DO NOT agree to sleeping more than the number of people in a room than there is PERMANENT beds available. I.E. DO NOT let management talk you into placing folding/temporary beds into the rooms. The folding beds are bloody shocking no matter what the price of the room. The noise from other motel residents and from the adjoining car park until all hours of the morning is unbearable. If you can afford it pay a little bit more and enjoy your stay somewhere else on the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajg7007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

You really get what you pay for with this place. My friends and I stayed a couple of nights and still laugh about it to this day. Its clearly aimed at backpackers or those on a budget.
The rooms were clean enough, and the feeling of the shaggy carpet on our feet was memorable. The staff were also... interesting.

The real value here is the location. You're close to Cavill Ave, metres away from the shops and restaurants. The beach is also close by. Free parking provided and a swimming pool.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickV82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2009

Spent a couple of nights at this iconic Surfers Paradise landmark of faded glories and kitsch fun. Simple and almost kitsch is a great way to describe this place, a basic motel right in the middle of Surfers Paradise. Stayed in a double bed room that was family room sized – no complaints there. Fairly basic, but that suits the star rating/price. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Décor is very 70s with shagpile-esque carpet and brick veneer. The motel was pretty full and loud, with quite a few sporting groups on mad Monday trips. Again, not surprising, and not a problem either – it’s not like the walls were paper thin. Basic amenities, decent amount of car parking. Overall, nothing flash, but good value.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank traveloctopus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
525 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,982 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#18 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,758 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,506 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Emerald
The Emerald
#28 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers City Motel

Address: 3314 Surfers Paradise Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £1,187 - £1,263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Surfers City Motel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing