We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST PLACE EVER!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Surfers City Motel

Surfers City Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Surfers Paradise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surfers City Motel
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WORST PLACE EVER!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Ok,,the rates of this place (70-120 per night) is cheaper than most other places, but please do not even consider staying there. For us it started at check in. The lady in the reception was obviously high on something. We could not understand a word of what she was saying and she treated us like we should thank her for letting us stay there. Upon arriving in the room we discovered that the TV was not working and when we complained she called upon a very nice man who helped us out. We thought he worked there but was actually just another guest living a couple of doors down. The same man also helped us with toilet paper (no paper in a room that supposedly is ready for new guests?) as we did not want to speak to the lady again. At 1.30 AM Saturday morning we were brutally awaken by other guests fighting and keeping everybody else awake for hours. We tried several times to contact the management but after two hours we got help from the nice man again who eventually was able to contact the female manager on the phone. She arrived at 04.30 with her husband but did nothing. Later we saw her in the pool garden, obviously still sky high but she did nothing. Our second night was a true copy of the first. Guests in two different rooms was keeping everybody awake by shouting, smashing bottles and yet again the lady manager was NOT there to handle the situation. When she finally arrived at around 4.30AM she was again standing in the garden shouting profanities for all to hear. We believe the only reason she did not call the police is that she herself seemed so wasted they might have arrested her also. All in all this place is absolutely the worst place we have ever stayed. The place have no fire alarm or smoke detectors. The cabinets are falling apart and our bath room was filthy. No one had cleaned under the toilet seat and we found food in the microwave. However, the worst thing is that no one from the motel management is staying there to help out the guests during the night. The guests is just left alone.We do believe it is the law that they must have somebody there. The only thing we regret is that we did not call the police ourselves. That might have saved future guests a lot of trouble as the motel owner might have kicked the lady manager out the door. So if you ever have to stay in Surfers Paradise just pay the extra 30 bucks per night and stay elsewhere. It will be the best 30 dollars you ever spend.

We will never ever stay at Surfers City Motel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sydney K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    9
    8
    15
See reviews for
6
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mackay
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Very good location, you can walk to everything. The room and sheets were clean. Stayed there for 1 night, dont regret it would do it again if i had to. But not for 2or more nights.good undercover parking for free.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2012

Not quite sure about all the negative reviews. I booked the place at the last minute and despite reading the reviews here before my arrival, was pleasantly surprised.
Sure, the room is stuck in 1975 but its got character, it's clean, has young clientele, is in a top location and has everything you need (balcony, tv, desk, shower, toilet, fridge, cupboard, linen, fresh towels, microwave, kitchenette...oh and a bed too!).

I've stayed at places like the Chevron, Sheraton Mirage and the Meriton World Tower so I know quality and taking the step down due to hotel availability and costs associated with the magic millions weekend didn't phase me.

Awesome value considering you're paying little more than you would for an F1 room but getting a lot more for it.

Highly recommended to people on a budget.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Choj3k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

Hubby and I went to a reunion and needed to stay one night only in Surfers Paradise. We had a very tight budget and WOTIF'S webpage showed us a decent nights room with alright photographs so we booked on WOTIF. The bloke at the desk was nice and thats the only good thing about the place, and that is honest. You wouldn't even pick up the furniture on a council cleanup, stains and filth on the walls and doors, shag carpet wouldnt have been vaccuumed in god only knows how long - TV was hopeless - swimming pool was cloudy - gaps in walls and corners and just laid carpet off cuts down - DONT GO THERE UNLESS YOU ARE USED TO LIVING IN SQUALLOR! BEWARE! Couldn't check out nobody at reception left key on microwave, the cab driver on the way back there told us its referred to as the place from hell..the concrete on one of the balconies was sagging we were glad to leave as I thought i hope nothing happens while we are asleep.

Room Tip: There would be NO good room
See more room tips
Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank janet b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2011

We stayed 4 people at this motel for a weekend in the end of october. We were met by a very friendly and helpful man in the receiption. The room had four beds and was perfect for us. Ok,,the motel is one of the old ones with decor and furniture from the 70s. But, for the price we paid and with that location, clean sheets and towels we could not complain. Oh,,, we could have stayed at the Sheraton and paid $500.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ulrikken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mareeba
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

We had just spent two nights in the Sofitel @ Broadbeach and decided to spend a night at Surfers. Booked this on Wotif, pictures looked OK, and it is very central, great location, but OMG.. when we got into the room, and I mean when... we couldn't open the door at first... we were greeted by orange shagpile carpet, wheels falling off beds ( I think I had the same room as Shazza70_11, I got scaulded when having a shower because my daughter flushed the toilet, and the balcony locked with a latch that could have easily been opened from outside.. No airconditioning, and only one little window up high, so to let breeze in you had to leave the curtains pulled open.. Not good when the sun comes up at 5:30am. My kids were terrified to say the least.. scared to use the lift, tried to make it an adventure, meanwhile I was aftaid we wouldn't make it out of there alive... Serously only for the Brave or the desperate.
Couldn't hand the key back in the morning... Nobody was there, didn't answer the phone or the mobile... too bad if there was actually a problem...
Certainly not the highlight of my first holiday in 9 years... but will get talked about a lot.. as the motel from hell....

Room Tip: Don't do it unless you are Brave or Desperate
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trish-n-trev-NQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

We should of know by the lift or the cleaner standing at the lift smoking to just run, the place is nothing like the photos on the website we booked through, the decore is from 60's or 70's there was mould on the roof and matresses the double bed had a single bed sheet for a top sheet, 1 of the single beds legs fell off when sat on, the chair was broken, the TV had no remote and no reception I don't think the orange shagpile carpet has ever been cleaned we ended up with bites all over us from either the carpet or the beds, the cutlery still had food on them we went and brought plastic cups so we didn't have to drink out of dirty glasses, the wall behind the beds had blood stains, when we returned later that night there wasn't even a carpark available we had to park in the council carpark next door amongst all the people partying as I travelled with my 2 daughthers and niece for a hens weekend we did not feel safe and it ruined our weekend away that we were so looking forward to :(

Room Tip: Don't stay here !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shazza70_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
The Island Boutique Hotel
The Island Boutique Hotel
#27 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers City Motel

Property: Surfers City Motel
Address: 3314 Surfers Paradise Boulevard, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Surfers City Motel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing