We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a hell hole !”
Review of Surfers City Motel

Surfers City Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Surfers Paradise
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Surfers City Motel
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a hell hole !”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

By far the worse property I have ever stayed in.
If you care about your safety and the safety of your family, DO NOT stay here.
This place is only good for schoolies, drunks and those who rent rooms by the hour.
Since you are reading this review, you care about your accomodation.
Spend the extra money and keep your sanity.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    2
    9
    8
    15
See reviews for
6
10
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013 via mobile

After reading the reviews on several sites incl. tripadvisor, we tried to find another place to sleep where we could park our campervan as well. Most places were fully booked, didn't have a parking for a campervan or wouldn't do 2 nights only. Or simply way too expensive.
So, since there were no other options, we tried our luck in the City Motel. We asked if we could check the rooms first and they agreed. The cleaning ladies were not happy and kept yelling at the reception guy. They showed us a room anyways and it seemed ok.
We had to wait a bit for our room to be cleaned, but could go in at 1PM already.
The room was big, the fridge and bathroom were clean. The bed was alright, just some metal from the inside was sticking out. After pushing everything back in, we could sleep without getting injured. There is no AC, but the fan did the work for us. Luckily it was not that hot.

While I was showering, the cleaning lady suddenly came inside. Apparantly a plate in the microwave was missing. She actually never brought it.
The TV reception was not really good, but as some other said, it's good enough for a short stay. We paid 90AUD per night, which was cheap compared to other place.

The location is very good, which made the stay ok.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Point Cook, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Sometimes I thought I was going to get punk'd or something.
The worst place I've ever stayed in, fridge seal was broken, pubes in beds, the place smelt of wee and many other disgusting things, the lock on the deck door could have been the easiest lock in history to be broken. The only good thing was the location. I'm not sure all the works spoke english and they cleaned rooms with a trolley to hold the cleaning stuff... yes a supermarket trolley. Pool was so cloudy yuck

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Kurt E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2013

I stayed 3 nights between christmas and new years eve. Considering the location and busy season, price was good.

If you are not planning to stay much at the hotel and want a place with great location, then this place is good. It also has car parking which is great.

Room has horrible decoration and looks very old: blue wall, 70's carpet, old bed, ...
Bathroom was ok, nothing fancy but it was clean.
Room does not have air-con but it had roof mounted fan.
Room also have balcony, which door lock is not secure and a very tiny tv (maybe 15").

It is not the best place to stay but if you want to stay in the heart of surfers paradise and not pay much, then i recommend this place.

there is no service room over your staying, so there is no supply of clean towels or toilet paper.

As I only wanted a place to sleep and have shower, i didnt mnd the place over busy time of the year ... this place is all about location: you can have a short walk to the beach, cafes, restaurants, shops, nightclubs.

They do have a swimming pool which i didnt use it as it was not appealing.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbourne_girl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

By no means luxury but if you need a place to stay for a night or so then it's great.
We (three backpackers, two girls, one guy) couldn't find any room in any hostel so opted for Surfers City Motel. We went in with very low expectation after reading reviews on TripAdvisor and were pleasantly surprised!
Ok so you won't get a choc on your pillow but the three beds were clean and comfortable, the decor is very dated but that doesn't matter if your just looking for a place to crash. Bathroom was good and clean, fridge and microwave were good too!

Price could be better but management seemed flexible and we got the room for $120 in peak season!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Faulty towers from the start! I can't not believe how much is changed to stay in this place. We stayed for a single night before a big deep sea fishing trip. It seemed that the entire GC was sold out...no one seemed to actually no why...

The rooms are just funny...shag, tangerine carpet, peach walls, the balcony door does not shut let alone lock, the front door had undercoat only (badly painted at that) and no air or windows with screens!

It is great...for a laugh...

Photos are uploaded...

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kantbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We are from Brisbane and we almost drove back home rather than stay the night, and I really wish we had. It was seriously revolting. Only if you are a homeless person or backpacker you might find this place bearable. It is such a dump. We saw very misleading photos on wotif when we booked it. Every time we go to the coast we have to drive past this place and it still gives me shivers.

Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NikkiBrown2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,264 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
Vibe Hotel Gold Coast
#17 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,234 reviews
0.2 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers City Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers City Motel

Property: Surfers City Motel
Address: 3314 Surfers Paradise Bvd, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Surfers City Motel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing