We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic and convenient”
Review of Surfers Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfers Royale
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Classic and convenient”
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Turn right and your 10 steps from the beach. It's a 14 story resort that has been on the beach for over 20 years. Thus, the rooms are large and bright.
You're 5 blocks from downtown Surfers, with it's restaurants and Ripley's Believe It or Not.
The beach goes forever; but there is also a heated pool and spa when you want to warm up.
Surfer's is a bit cool in August, but daily sun and lots of sand.

Room Tip: Any room above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdarcyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    26
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, VIC
Level Contributor
107 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Loved it for the beachside location - right on the beach. Unit and surrounds spotless. Facilities simple but sufficient - kitchen window overlooked the beach, but was scratched and faulty - minor concern!

Our third trip to the Gold Coast and my favorite accommodation yet - for the location and cleanliness. Three block walk/drive to Woolies at Centro Shopping Centre on Cavill Ave (main strip), free parking for 1hr underneath when you shop.

We went to Wet&Wild - kids bit cold by the end of the day (early August) - consider bringing wetsuits!

Stayed in room 101 - beachfront view which was superb, easy access to beach being 1st floor. If you want more of a 'view' you might request something higher (?14 floors, I think).

Room Tip: Stayed in room 101 - beachfront view which was superb, easy access to beach being 1st floor. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CM67Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The staff at Sufers were absolutly perfect, we organised all the day trips directly from the main office,and we're only 2 mins walk from the centre of town. I couldn't have asked for more! Specially talking to people staying in other resorts nearby with some horrendous stories!!

Room Tip: Face North, above 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morber85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We spent a week here and loved it. We had a roomy two-bedroom unit on the 6th floor facing the ocean. Needless to say the view was fantastic and it was wonderful to sit out on the balcony with morning coffee.

The kitchen was well-equipped (no oven but who cares? This is a holiday!) and there was a washer and dryer in the unit as well. Beds were comfortable and the overall standard of clenliness was high. TV included several movie channels and wifi was available for a fee.

The beach was only about 20 steps away from the front door. There was also a well-kept pool and spa outdoors but under cover.

All the staff were freindly and helpful. We especially enjoyed the welcome dinner at Northcliffe Surf Club on Monday night and were lucky enough to win a raffle prize. The location makes it an easy walk to the restauants or shopping on Cavill Ave.

We're already planning to come back next year.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daymares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Stayed in a 2 bdrm apartment with 2 kids, aged 22 months and 4 years. We had a lovely view over the sea even though our apartment wasn't on the far eastern side (even better views there). Reception staff very friendly. Apartment clean, modern and spacious. A very comfortable stay for a week. My only suggestion would be to have some family friendly (ie child friendly) activities around the communal areas, eg pool area or on the lawn. There is a Monday night 'welcome night' for people to meet up (off the premises) but other than this there was no way for children to play or socialise with other children. Having said this, my children still loved it and we'd certainly go back again!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melbournefreebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cental Coast NSW, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

We stayed at the surfers royale for 7 nights as a part of a timeshare experience. We had a two bedroom apartment on the 9th floor with great ocean views. The room itself was a little on the dated side in regards to carpet, but it was tastefully furnished and very clean.

During our stay we used the pool facilities and they were quite good the pool was a little ion the cold side due to heavy rain but the spa was great. each night we went for a walk down to caivll avenue which is only a few blocks away. The staff downstairs were very helpful with any questions we had about local attractions.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lovin2travel81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at Surfer's Royale in May 2010 for a week. We had a room on the top floor so the views were amazing both at night and especially during the day. We were so impressed with how clean the apartment was. The ladies at reception were lovely and so helpful and the apartments were so well stocked. Location was brilliant. So quiet as it was out of the main part of surfers however It was an easy stroll into the main strip of surfers and we felt completely safe walking at night. We loved being right on the ocean and away from the huge sky scrapers which are going up closer to surfers. It had an underground car park which was easily accessible as we had hired a car. Pool and spa facilities were good. We had such a wonderful time at Surfer's Royale and will be back time and time again in the years to come.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlJonAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,961 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Royale

Property: Surfers Royale
Address: 9 Northcliffe Tce, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfers Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your absolute beachfront holiday" Just a leisurely 5 minute walk to Cavill Mall and you are right in the heart of Surfers Paradise, with all the colour and excitement of local attractions, shops, restaurants. Proudly managed by Classic Holidays, the 10 fully self-contained 1 and 2 bedroom north facing apartments, accommodating up to 6 people, enjoy fabulous beach and coast views of Australia's premier holiday destination - the Gold Coast! Surfers Royale - your absolute beachfront holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surfers Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Royale Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Royale Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing