We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious and right on the beach”
Review of Surfers Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfers Royale
Reviewed 5 November 2012

The property is operated by Classic Holiday Club, and we stayed for a week courtesy of a friend with club membership. For us, this was very inexpensive accommodation right on the beach at Surfers Paradise - nice! This 14 story apartment block is in the process of being repaired and redecorated, so we had to live around the work in progress - no problems for us as our two bed apartment had been finished. What impressed us the most was the size of this apartment - almost as fully equipped as any home (no oven though).

So convenient to the glorious beach and just a 15 minute stroll to Surfers main shopping precinct, gives Royale a near perfect location.

We were a little disconcerted that the new paint job is pretty amateurish (sloppy) and furnishing and kitchen stuff "cheap", and hope that this is not indicative of Classic's attitude to quality at it's resorts. If it is, I feel a little sorry for the folk who have paid out big bucks for a membership for a lifetime of below par holiday accommodation.

Cheers for size and location.

Room Tip: Choose a two bed - they have been renovated, single beds have not (per Nov 2012)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidandSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2012

Surfers royals has been in surfers for over 20 years and it really shows. While the rooms are large and clean all having a beach view and a great BBQ area and heated pool. The negative side is that everything is old, the games room is like walking back in time to the 1980s, the table tennis table can bearly still stand and I have no idea why the sauna is in the basement. This building is run by classic holidays and appear to have won numerous awards but it is not as nice as other hotels run under the same company. Overall with a good refurb this building could be amazing but at this time i would not recommend it.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
Thank Nibbles021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

From the outside the building is not much to write home about, but in saying that it has just began a major paint job. The position of the building could not get any better, right on the beach. All balcony’s have beach and city views. Only a few blocks south from Cavill mall. The small gardens around the property are all kept immaculate. Surfers Royale has a great little BBQ area right on the beach, next to the pool and spa. Under ground car parking available for all guests.

The inside if the apartments are all clean, with the normal wear and tear you seem to get in most of the apartments. Eg, fraying carpet, marks on walls. Rooms have washers, dryers, dishwasher, microwaves and TVs in them, but No oven which I find a pain in the a@#. Not that it bothered us but we did notice only ceiling fans in the lounge and bedroom, No air-conditioning. Big call out to “KERRY” at reception which was very friendly and went out of her way to answer all questions and show us around.

I would defiantly say here again, the position of the building is great.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Queen_of_Dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Turn right and your 10 steps from the beach. It's a 14 story resort that has been on the beach for over 20 years. Thus, the rooms are large and bright.
You're 5 blocks from downtown Surfers, with it's restaurants and Ripley's Believe It or Not.
The beach goes forever; but there is also a heated pool and spa when you want to warm up.
Surfer's is a bit cool in August, but daily sun and lots of sand.

Room Tip: Any room above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jdarcyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Loved it for the beachside location - right on the beach. Unit and surrounds spotless. Facilities simple but sufficient - kitchen window overlooked the beach, but was scratched and faulty - minor concern!

Our third trip to the Gold Coast and my favorite accommodation yet - for the location and cleanliness. Three block walk/drive to Woolies at Centro Shopping Centre on Cavill Ave (main strip), free parking for 1hr underneath when you shop.

We went to Wet&Wild - kids bit cold by the end of the day (early August) - consider bringing wetsuits!

Stayed in room 101 - beachfront view which was superb, easy access to beach being 1st floor. If you want more of a 'view' you might request something higher (?14 floors, I think).

Room Tip: Stayed in room 101 - beachfront view which was superb, easy access to beach being 1st floor. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CM67Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2012

The staff at Sufers were absolutly perfect, we organised all the day trips directly from the main office,and we're only 2 mins walk from the centre of town. I couldn't have asked for more! Specially talking to people staying in other resorts nearby with some horrendous stories!!

Room Tip: Face North, above 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morber85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We spent a week here and loved it. We had a roomy two-bedroom unit on the 6th floor facing the ocean. Needless to say the view was fantastic and it was wonderful to sit out on the balcony with morning coffee.

The kitchen was well-equipped (no oven but who cares? This is a holiday!) and there was a washer and dryer in the unit as well. Beds were comfortable and the overall standard of clenliness was high. TV included several movie channels and wifi was available for a fee.

The beach was only about 20 steps away from the front door. There was also a well-kept pool and spa outdoors but under cover.

All the staff were freindly and helpful. We especially enjoyed the welcome dinner at Northcliffe Surf Club on Monday night and were lucky enough to win a raffle prize. The location makes it an easy walk to the restauants or shopping on Cavill Ave.

We're already planning to come back next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daymares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
The Island Boutique Hotel
The Island Boutique Hotel
#18 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
57 reviews
1.2 mi away
Rhapsody Resort
Rhapsody Resort
#2 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Q1 Resort and Spa
Q1 Resort and Spa
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,725 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,671 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Royale

Address: 9 Northcliffe Terrace, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £103 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfers Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your absolute beachfront holiday" Just a leisurely 5 minute walk to Cavill Mall and you are right in the heart of Surfers Paradise, with all the colour and excitement of local attractions, shops, restaurants. Proudly managed by Classic Holidays, the 10 fully self-contained 1 and 2 bedroom north facing apartments, accommodating up to 6 people, enjoy fabulous beach and coast views of Australia's premier holiday destination - the Gold Coast! Surfers Royale - your absolute beachfront holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surfers Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Royale Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Royale Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing