We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average property but location is good” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfers Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfers Royale
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
507 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Average property but location is good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2013

We stayed on a RCI exchange. The big plus,plus point is that it is on the beach, just walk out the front door and there you are. It is also only a 15 minute stroll to the town centre of Cavill Avenue, very convenient. The apartment itself is spacious, with a large balcony, but our unit did not look as if it had been refurbished - it needed it. There were workmen outside our bedroom window Mon-Fri (although we were warned), so we had to have the curtains shut most of the time. A real pain is no oven - no pizzas all week! Internet was not free - AUD 42/week, with limited MB, so we ran out of internet by mid-week, despite having paid for a week. Ended up having to use the free Wifi at Pacific Fair. There did not seem to be the usual welcome party as in other timeshares - there was an evening meal that we had to pay for - so we did not go. No organised activities on site, but the beach is always near by!

Room Tip: Rooms ending with 01 would have a better view of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yss97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 19 February 2013
Hi Yss97,
Thanks so much for your review. The location of this resort is amazing sitting right on Surfers Paradise Beach and being so close to Surfers there is always so much to see and do during your stay. Surfers Royale is currently undergoing an external refurbishment, and we apologies for any inconvenience that this may have caused. We have passed your comments onto the relevant department in relation to the wifi and hope you will come and holiday at Surfers Royale again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    26
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

The property is operated by Classic Holiday Club, and we stayed for a week courtesy of a friend with club membership. For us, this was very inexpensive accommodation right on the beach at Surfers Paradise - nice! This 14 story apartment block is in the process of being repaired and redecorated, so we had to live around the work in progress - no problems for us as our two bed apartment had been finished. What impressed us the most was the size of this apartment - almost as fully equipped as any home (no oven though).

So convenient to the glorious beach and just a 15 minute stroll to Surfers main shopping precinct, gives Royale a near perfect location.

We were a little disconcerted that the new paint job is pretty amateurish (sloppy) and furnishing and kitchen stuff "cheap", and hope that this is not indicative of Classic's attitude to quality at it's resorts. If it is, I feel a little sorry for the folk who have paid out big bucks for a membership for a lifetime of below par holiday accommodation.

Cheers for size and location.

Room Tip: Choose a two bed - they have been renovated, single beds have not (per Nov 2012)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidandSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

Surfers royals has been in surfers for over 20 years and it really shows. While the rooms are large and clean all having a beach view and a great BBQ area and heated pool. The negative side is that everything is old, the games room is like walking back in time to the 1980s, the table tennis table can bearly still stand and I have no idea why the sauna is in the basement. This building is run by classic holidays and appear to have won numerous awards but it is not as nice as other hotels run under the same company. Overall with a good refurb this building could be amazing but at this time i would not recommend it.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nibbles021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

From the outside the building is not much to write home about, but in saying that it has just began a major paint job. The position of the building could not get any better, right on the beach. All balcony’s have beach and city views. Only a few blocks south from Cavill mall. The small gardens around the property are all kept immaculate. Surfers Royale has a great little BBQ area right on the beach, next to the pool and spa. Under ground car parking available for all guests.

The inside if the apartments are all clean, with the normal wear and tear you seem to get in most of the apartments. Eg, fraying carpet, marks on walls. Rooms have washers, dryers, dishwasher, microwaves and TVs in them, but No oven which I find a pain in the a@#. Not that it bothered us but we did notice only ceiling fans in the lounge and bedroom, No air-conditioning. Big call out to “KERRY” at reception which was very friendly and went out of her way to answer all questions and show us around.

I would defiantly say here again, the position of the building is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queen_of_Dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

Turn right and your 10 steps from the beach. It's a 14 story resort that has been on the beach for over 20 years. Thus, the rooms are large and bright.
You're 5 blocks from downtown Surfers, with it's restaurants and Ripley's Believe It or Not.
The beach goes forever; but there is also a heated pool and spa when you want to warm up.
Surfer's is a bit cool in August, but daily sun and lots of sand.

Room Tip: Any room above the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdarcyAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, VIC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

Loved it for the beachside location - right on the beach. Unit and surrounds spotless. Facilities simple but sufficient - kitchen window overlooked the beach, but was scratched and faulty - minor concern!

Our third trip to the Gold Coast and my favorite accommodation yet - for the location and cleanliness. Three block walk/drive to Woolies at Centro Shopping Centre on Cavill Ave (main strip), free parking for 1hr underneath when you shop.

We went to Wet&Wild - kids bit cold by the end of the day (early August) - consider bringing wetsuits!

Stayed in room 101 - beachfront view which was superb, easy access to beach being 1st floor. If you want more of a 'view' you might request something higher (?14 floors, I think).

Room Tip: Stayed in room 101 - beachfront view which was superb, easy access to beach being 1st floor. If you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CM67Melb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

The staff at Sufers were absolutly perfect, we organised all the day trips directly from the main office,and we're only 2 mins walk from the centre of town. I couldn't have asked for more! Specially talking to people staying in other resorts nearby with some horrendous stories!!

Room Tip: Face North, above 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morber85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
0.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#17 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,668 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Royale

Property: Surfers Royale
Address: 9 Northcliffe Terrace, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfers Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your absolute beachfront holiday" Just a leisurely 5 minute walk to Cavill Mall and you are right in the heart of Surfers Paradise, with all the colour and excitement of local attractions, shops, restaurants. Proudly managed by Classic Holidays, the 10 fully self-contained 1 and 2 bedroom north facing apartments, accommodating up to 6 people, enjoy fabulous beach and coast views of Australia's premier holiday destination - the Gold Coast! Surfers Royale - your absolute beachfront holiday! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfers Royale Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Royale Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing