We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sleep in here!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Surfers Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfers Royale
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No sleep in here!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

This resort needs a major overhaul - we booked a week through DAE Live and we have been given a room which at one point must have been the staff quarters. It backs onto the office and has a locked door that goes into the back of the office. We have no view whatsoever, the office was being vacuumed at 7am this morning and the noise from that made sure we all were wide awake early. We have no rubbish chute, we have to go up to the first floor to get rid of our rubbish. The rooms are dated, old and were less than clean when we got here. Some of the kitchen utensils were not very clean, the drapes are stuffed and overall tired and in need of repair. we were told this room had been refurbished - What a joke!!! We have random people wandering through our outside area as it is right off the side of the footpath into the office. This room should not be let out to paying guests. So make sure to ask NOT to get room 001.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank shez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    26
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have owned a "floating week" in a two bedroom apartment here for over 20 years. Worst money I ever spent. Every year without fail the Classic Holiday management company increase our levies to the point that it is much cheaper to just find on line "whatif" deals instead. And to make things worse they charge an additional $95 AUD fee to cover other maintenance, which, if you read the reviews is well over due and I might suggest that most of this fee ends up with the management team and not the maintenance workers. Classic holidays show us owners the financial reports each year and the so called management fees always exceeds the amount spent on actual maintenance. I see why so many people have abandoned this place and no longer pay the fees. It's a rip off and Classic need to be held accountable. Plus I have not been able to book a week that I want for the past 4 years, despite weeks being available at Surfers Royale on other internet booking web sites! This place is a cash cow for Classic...stay well clear of the place.

Room Tip: Most rooms need updating but they spend the maintenance income on management fees instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Keith,
Thank you for your comments however Classic is the Management Company and does not set the levy. The Board of Directors are responsible for the Budget of the Resort and any levies raised each year. We do regret your disappointment with your timeshare however any concerns you may have should be directed to the Board of Directors of the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jervis Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

I've been staying at this Resort?? for 30 yrs or so, unfortunately it gets worse every time I go.
The Sauna has not worked for the past 8 yrs, no fly screens or air conditioning. they are just running the place down into the ground, but the fees and maintenance LEVY keep rising and come along Every Year. There use to be a great BBQ and sunbaking spot on the roof, not now.
Pity because it use to be a really nice place, 30 years ago.
The location is great but the furnishings are old and worn.
Can't wait until they sell it, so I can stop paying for the displeasure of owning one of the shares.

Room Tip: Give it a miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hi Bob B,

Thanks for taking the time to share your views on our resort. We've passed your comments onto the relevant department and do look forward to making your next stay with us enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

We have been staying at this complex for many many years. The last time was in March 2013. It really needs a dramatic make-over. It is a Timeshare Resort and it perplexes us why, when they collect all the fees from Time Share owners that they are so tight on improving the place. It was much better run before Classic took over the management. They are hopeless. The dishwashers are out of the 70's-80's as are the microwaves. It is a great location so I suppose they (Classic) feel they need do nothing. We will not be back. Look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MariannaBerwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 3 July 2013
Dear MariannaGoldCoast,

We’d like to thank you for taking the time to share your views on Surfers Royale with us. We appreciate all feedback and have passed these comments onto the relevant department for assessment. We do hope that you will come and visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2013

I have just spent a week in room 602 and cannot say a bad thing about the place, Yes it needs a little updating here and there but work is underway at the moment that posed no problems while I was there. The position is great with a short walk to the surf club or to Caville Ave where you will find everything.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJG602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 25 April 2013
Hi GJG602,

Your right, Surfers Royale really is a “great spot”. We would like to thank you so much for your review and we look forward to seeing stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We recently stayed at Surfers Royale, and the experience was underwhelming to say the least. Seriously.... No Air-conditioning?? There was no screen door out to the balcony and the ceiling fans worked sporadicly. It's like walking into a mid eighties time warp the decor is so bad.

This place is a step up from a backpackers.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DaNm1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear DaNm1981

Thanks so much for sharing your views on our resort. We have passed your comments onto the relevant department and do hope you come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepparton, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

This was our first Classic Holiday Club holiday since becoming members in Nov 2012. The location was fantastic right on the beach, unfortunately the gold coast did not put on the weather for us and mother nature took most of the beach away on the gold coast. This did not deter our week away with out the kids though. It is an easy walk to Cavill Ave to where every thing is. Monday members draw was a great win for us as we got a two for one deal on the Rivers Restaurant Cruise. And the cheap meal at the surf club down the road on the Monday, with the other holiday makers is great. I know it has been said that the Royale need a make over and this is currently in the process of being done. The positives out weigh and negatives you may have or read on this review. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment as there were no one bedroom ones at the time we booked. They are very spacious and if our two boys came with us there would have been plenty of room. We stayed on the 9th floor and the views of the ocean and towards Cavill Ave were amazing. The pool area is not crowded like some other resorts and a good size for most ages. Nice bbq area and views of the beach, unfortunately not used due to the weather. I must say Kasey at the reception desk was fantastic and to book any thing with her was easy and done with out hassle. Over all I would certainly stay there again and recommend Surfers Royale to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dugg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Dear Dugg0,

Thanks so much for taking the time to review your first holiday with Classic. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed holiday at Surfers Royale. Kasey at reception is wonderful and we are so lucky to have her working for us.
We look forward to having your family, friends and yourselves come and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,410 reviews
0.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,398 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Royale

Property: Surfers Royale
Address: 9 Northcliffe Terrace, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfers Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your absolute beachfront holiday" Just a leisurely 5 minute walk to Cavill Mall and you are right in the heart of Surfers Paradise, with all the colour and excitement of local attractions, shops, restaurants. Proudly managed by Classic Holidays, the 10 fully self-contained 1 and 2 bedroom north facing apartments, accommodating up to 6 people, enjoy fabulous beach and coast views of Australia's premier holiday destination - the Gold Coast! Surfers Royale - your absolute beachfront holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surfers Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Royale Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Royale Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing