We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location right on the beach”
Review of Surfers Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfers Royale
Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great Location right on the beach”
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have stayed at this resort 4 times over the years and keep coming back as the location is unbeatable, staff friendly and helpful. Every room has an ocean view so no need to worry that you will not get a good unit. The unit are large and well equipped. Undercover secure parking is a plus. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Supernanny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi Supernanny56,

We’re very glad to hear that you enjoyed your latest stay with us, we’re always happy to welcome you back! It’s pretty hard to stay away from our ocean views for too long isn’t it! Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    26
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile


Each time we visit surfers paradise we always stay here. It was good to see that since our last visit two years ago the place has been given a face lift. The new paint and upgrade of balcony railings has made a world of difference. The cleanliness and staff friendliness has remained the same so a big tick from us there. The Roof top barbeques were handy especially since we were on the 12th floor beach side, but good to see that they have also left the ones near the pool. You can't beat the Royale for location - right on the beach - and a short stroll Caville ave where all the action is. Would always recommend a stay here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Huia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Hi Huia66

So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your right, you just can’t beat the location!
Look forward to seeing you here again with us very soon and thanks so much for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Although one of the oldest buildings now in surfers, it is tidy and fitted out with modern appliances etc.
The view is simply stunning as you overlook the beach (literally) from any of the 3 apartments on each level and, if lucky to have an apartment on the beach side, you will experience a 180 degree view from north of the Broadwater spit to Tweed heads in the south.
Cavill ave is a 5 min walk to all manner of entertainment
The staff were super friendly and helped with all manner of requests (thanx Kerry and Team)


overall both Srfers Royale and Surfers paradise was a very enjoyable holiday destination

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pete w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hi Pete W

Thanks so much for the great review. The location of Surfers Royale is quite spectacular and as you mentioned, the views are amazing. Pete we hope to see you staying with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay in room 101, 2 bedroom apartment. We had sea views from balcony and all the rooms. The apartment was very clean and the bed and couches comfortable.
The staff were friendly and helpful. Can't say a bad thing about our stay. There was no noise at all, just the sound of the ocean. Walking distance to Q1 tower, great views (buy the year pass) and to Surf clubs and Cavill Ave. Bus stop at end of Markwell Ave on the Hwy to go to Airport, Broadbeach, Currumbin, Pacific Fair etc. Hanazono Teppanyaki Japenese restaurant near Q1 was walking distance and a very enjoyable meal.

Room Tip: Rooms ending in 1 are the 2 bedroom apartments with the best views of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kezzar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 16 September 2013
Hi kezzar00,

Thanks for leaving us such a great review! We're very glad you had an enjoyable stay at Surfers Royale Resort, and in particular enjoyed our sea views. It certainly sounds like you made the best of our great location too to see the many sights of Surfers Paradise! We look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to the Gold Coast, please let us know if we can assist with your booking in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This resort needs a major overhaul - we booked a week through DAE Live and we have been given a room which at one point must have been the staff quarters. It backs onto the office and has a locked door that goes into the back of the office. We have no view whatsoever, the office was being vacuumed at 7am this morning and the noise from that made sure we all were wide awake early. We have no rubbish chute, we have to go up to the first floor to get rid of our rubbish. The rooms are dated, old and were less than clean when we got here. Some of the kitchen utensils were not very clean, the drapes are stuffed and overall tired and in need of repair. we were told this room had been refurbished - What a joke!!! We have random people wandering through our outside area as it is right off the side of the footpath into the office. This room should not be let out to paying guests. So make sure to ask NOT to get room 001.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank shez13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

I have owned a "floating week" in a two bedroom apartment here for over 20 years. Worst money I ever spent. Every year without fail the Classic Holiday management company increase our levies to the point that it is much cheaper to just find on line "whatif" deals instead. And to make things worse they charge an additional $95 AUD fee to cover other maintenance, which, if you read the reviews is well over due and I might suggest that most of this fee ends up with the management team and not the maintenance workers. Classic holidays show us owners the financial reports each year and the so called management fees always exceeds the amount spent on actual maintenance. I see why so many people have abandoned this place and no longer pay the fees. It's a rip off and Classic need to be held accountable. Plus I have not been able to book a week that I want for the past 4 years, despite weeks being available at Surfers Royale on other internet booking web sites! This place is a cash cow for Classic...stay well clear of the place.

Room Tip: Most rooms need updating but they spend the maintenance income on management fees instead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Keith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 12 August 2013
Dear Keith,
Thank you for your comments however Classic is the Management Company and does not set the levy. The Board of Directors are responsible for the Budget of the Resort and any levies raised each year. We do regret your disappointment with your timeshare however any concerns you may have should be directed to the Board of Directors of the Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jervis Bay, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

I've been staying at this Resort?? for 30 yrs or so, unfortunately it gets worse every time I go.
The Sauna has not worked for the past 8 yrs, no fly screens or air conditioning. they are just running the place down into the ground, but the fees and maintenance LEVY keep rising and come along Every Year. There use to be a great BBQ and sunbaking spot on the roof, not now.
Pity because it use to be a really nice place, 30 years ago.
The location is great but the furnishings are old and worn.
Can't wait until they sell it, so I can stop paying for the displeasure of owning one of the shares.

Room Tip: Give it a miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Hi Bob B,

Thanks for taking the time to share your views on our resort. We've passed your comments onto the relevant department and do look forward to making your next stay with us enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,966 reviews
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
0.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Royale

Property: Surfers Royale
Address: 9 Northcliffe Tce, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfers Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your absolute beachfront holiday" Just a leisurely 5 minute walk to Cavill Mall and you are right in the heart of Surfers Paradise, with all the colour and excitement of local attractions, shops, restaurants. Proudly managed by Classic Holidays, the 10 fully self-contained 1 and 2 bedroom north facing apartments, accommodating up to 6 people, enjoy fabulous beach and coast views of Australia's premier holiday destination - the Gold Coast! Surfers Royale - your absolute beachfront holiday! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surfers Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Royale Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Royale Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing