We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfers Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Surfers Royale
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Terrific location!

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment - beach side. Beautiful views from the balcony but hard to see through the windows (Hard to keep off the salt on the lower levels I imagine!)

Room itself provides all necessary requirements. Rooms are spacious but do need an upgrade across all rooms in terms of facilities / furniture / etc.
Light switches and fan are controlled via a remote which can be annoying and can affect multiple rooms with one remote if not careful. Key cards don't always work but staff are happy to replace them.

Location is terrific - right on the beach front and 10 minutes walk from the town center.

Definitely would recommend staying here and would come back upon our next visit.

Room Tip: Lower floors have more salt on the windows!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emnmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Hi Emnmax

Thanks so much for the great review. We are so pleased to hear you had a great stay with us at the resort. We look forward to having you come and stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    26
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
37
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This hotel is in a great location. 5 minutes walk to the heart of surfers and right on the beachfront. We stayed in a two bedroom unit on the 12th floor. Really nice views from our balcony. Unit was very spacious with 2 bathrooms. Furniture was adequate and clean. No television in the bedrooms and not good lighting in the lounge room at night to read are my only criticisms.

Staff were welcoming and helpful throughout the week. We had hassles with our swipe keys not working, but staff were quick to give us new keys. We will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Judy21Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Hi Judy21Australia

We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Surfers Royale. Your right, the staff are quite amazing and do strive to make every guests stay with us, a great experience. I have passed your concerns on to the appropriate department to review. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on our resort and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We have been coming here for many years now and our last week at the end of December was fantastic. We cannot understand the negative reviews we see on this site. Surfers Royale is in a fantastic location right on the beach. We use a two bedroom unit and it is large, comfortable and has all the amenities you could ask for. The front of house staff are very helpful and friendly and know their job well. The pool is heated and a great place to enjoy a swim after an early morning walk. Talk to the pool man - he is a great bloke and a wealth of knowledge. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they want you to enjoy your stay.
Another plus is that they will let you use the pool area and carpark while waiting to check in - a real bonus if your plane arrives early in the morning as ours always does. We will return.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GrantandPam255106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hi GrantandPam255106

Thankyou so much for your glowing review. The location of this resort is one of the best on the Gold Coast and the views are spectacular! The staff are also very dedicated to making your holiday a happy and memorable experience. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

My husband and I stayed for a week. What a great week it was.Staff are very friendly and helpful. Appartment was large and very clean. The view and location were both second to none. Deffinately staying again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DG00de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Hi DG00de,

We’re glad you had such a lovely week staying at Surfers Royale Resort. We look forward to welcoming you back next time you want to soak up our amazing beach view again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We have stayed at this resort 4 times over the years and keep coming back as the location is unbeatable, staff friendly and helpful. Every room has an ocean view so no need to worry that you will not get a good unit. The unit are large and well equipped. Undercover secure parking is a plus. We will stay here again.

Room Tip: The higher floors have a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Supernanny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Hi Supernanny56,

We’re very glad to hear that you enjoyed your latest stay with us, we’re always happy to welcome you back! It’s pretty hard to stay away from our ocean views for too long isn’t it! Thanks for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile


Each time we visit surfers paradise we always stay here. It was good to see that since our last visit two years ago the place has been given a face lift. The new paint and upgrade of balcony railings has made a world of difference. The cleanliness and staff friendliness has remained the same so a big tick from us there. The Roof top barbeques were handy especially since we were on the 12th floor beach side, but good to see that they have also left the ones near the pool. You can't beat the Royale for location - right on the beach - and a short stroll Caville ave where all the action is. Would always recommend a stay here.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Huia66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Hi Huia66

So happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Your right, you just can’t beat the location!
Look forward to seeing you here again with us very soon and thanks so much for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Although one of the oldest buildings now in surfers, it is tidy and fitted out with modern appliances etc.
The view is simply stunning as you overlook the beach (literally) from any of the 3 apartments on each level and, if lucky to have an apartment on the beach side, you will experience a 180 degree view from north of the Broadwater spit to Tweed heads in the south.
Cavill ave is a 5 min walk to all manner of entertainment
The staff were super friendly and helped with all manner of requests (thanx Kerry and Team)


overall both Srfers Royale and Surfers paradise was a very enjoyable holiday destination

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pete w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Classic H, Manager at Surfers Royale, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Hi Pete W

Thanks so much for the great review. The location of Surfers Royale is quite spectacular and as you mentioned, the views are amazing. Pete we hope to see you staying with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.2 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,391 reviews
0.5 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
0.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,683 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Royale

Property: Surfers Royale
Address: 9 Northcliffe Terrace, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfers Royale 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Your absolute beachfront holiday" Just a leisurely 5 minute walk to Cavill Mall and you are right in the heart of Surfers Paradise, with all the colour and excitement of local attractions, shops, restaurants. Proudly managed by Classic Holidays, the 10 fully self-contained 1 and 2 bedroom north facing apartments, accommodating up to 6 people, enjoy fabulous beach and coast views of Australia's premier holiday destination - the Gold Coast! Surfers Royale - your absolute beachfront holiday! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Surfers Royale Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Royale Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing