We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breath taking views - dirty/shabby apartment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breath taking views - dirty/shabby apartment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012 via mobile

2 couples stayed in a two bedroom apartment with ocean views for 4 nights, first impressions were wow as you open the doors and see the view but the apartment itself was very shabby and needed a paint job and furnishings.

The location was very close to the shops, cafe's and transport.

All in all was a good stay but I am very put off by the lack of cleanliness and decor of the place:
Main bedroom was all tatty, smeared in dust and the doona that had no cover had what appeared to be urine stains covering it.
Other bedroom had no doona only a sheet and an old tatty thin wooly blanket from the 80's, mirrors and bed head covered in hand prints and dust.
Bathrooms had a bad lingering smell and the shower seemed unclean, the second bedrooms shower sounded like a lawn mover when in use.
Kitchen was a good size and had all your basic needs but the fridge had so much dust on it and scraps of rubbish/lollies beside it you could see it had not been wiped recently.
Lounge room had one tiny and I mean tiny tv and a 3 seater couch definitely not big enough for 4 people, one always had to sit at the table.

We were under the impression that our apartment would be cleaned, it never was and there was no broom or vacuum for us to use - beds were made twice and we did get fresh towels every day.

At nights it was very noisy which I didn't mind too much, there was construction works being done which was annoying at times. It did get cold in the evenings and the heater didn't work, we called for assistance and a nice lady came up quickly but did not know how to fix it so we remained cold for the 4 nights (we got told to close the curtains to keep warm, we paid good money for a view which was just as lovely at night)

Free parking was good.

To watch a movie on the tiny tv was 16-20 dollars which was a rip off.

Staff at check in need to learn to smile but all other staff were very polite, helpfull and friendly.

If you get a good deal I'd recommend this place just for the views.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Teneil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scholesynz, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Dear Teneil C,

Please accept my sincere apologies that we were unable to resolve any of the issues as you have detailed in your review. I am disappointed to read your feedback as it sounds like you had an overall experience which is far below our usual high standard. From reading your review of the room I find it unexplainable for the room to be in the standard you have described and I can assure you this is far from acceptable. I am looking into the log to see if we can identify the apartment you were accommodated in so we can review the details further and ensure this is an isolated incident. Thank you again for advising us of these issues so we can investigate. It is always pleasing to hear from guests during their stay as we appreciate any opportunity to rectify any issue directly with our guests. Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,818 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,207
    951
    368
    153
    139
See reviews for
987
1,097
63
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (417)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Millicent, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Fantastic location apartment was nice and clean with all the appliances you would need. I did some washing and didn't want to use the dryer so I asked Mike at the front desk was there any chance they would have a clothes horse and yes they did someone would bring one straight up. I couldn't believe how help full they were. Mike and Aner were just the best, very helpful and full of helpful advice on what to see and do thanks guys

Room Tip: Ask for Mike or Aner
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scholesynz, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. I have shared your comments with the team and thanked Mike and Aner for their assistance and outstanding service focus during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

My wife and I are regular visitors to Surfers 6-7 times a year this time we splurged and stayed at The Sub Penthouse the BEST ever clean views luxury if you want to indulge go the Sub Penthouse its just awsome!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mars6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scholesynz, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Thank you Mars6969 for selecting a sub penthouse for your stay at Circle on Cavill. The 3 bedroom apartments are very spacious and all have amazing ocean views. We look forward to welcoming you back to the property on your next trip to Surfers Paradise

Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buderim, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We recently stayed for three nights in a one bedroom ocean view spa apartment on the 25th floor (the view was breathtaking). We were extremely happy with the room itself with lovely modern furnishings - the bed and couches were super comfortable, and a large living area! The bathroom was lovely, even the spa bath had a beautiful view! Also, I was very impressed with the facilities available for hotel guests. Mantra Circle has three pools, a spa, a private cinema for you to hire out exclusively, a gym and a games room with a heap of activities (air hockey, pool, pinbull, racing games etc.) so there is never a dull moment with nothing for you to do! Finally, we found the location of the resort extremely convenient. Everything we did was within a short minutes walk to Cavill Avenue (shopping, restaurants etc.) and therefore we hardly used our car at all during our holiday. After staying in several properties on the Gold Coast before we will definitely be making the trip back to Mantra Circle! It is well worth it!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scholesynz, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Hi EmilyR, thank you so much for posting this "breathtaking" review. We are so happy that you were so impressed. Sounds like you enjoyed all of the facilities at the resort, you are right, there is so much on offer in a superb location. We look forward to your future stay with us being just as memorabale.

Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Lincoln, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We spent 5 nights at Mantra Circle on Cavill from 20th July - 25th July. We arrived in the evening, the reception staff were friendly and welcoming. I was amazed at our one bedroom spa apartment on the 29th floor - it was beautiful! The views were breath-taking, the apartment was decorated in beautiful modern furniture, it was spotlessly clean and the spa was delightful!

The apartment was so impressive we did not want to leave. It was very useful having a kitchen to cook our evening meals, a dishwasher for the dishes and we washed our clothes each evening in the washing machine and dryer that were in the room. The dishwashing detergent and laundry powder were re-stocked by housekeeping each day. The location is perfect - right in the heart of Surfers Paradise. We caught the bus to theme parks just across the road on Ferny Avenue (Appel Park). I loved staying here and cannot wait to visit the Gold Coast again to stay at Mantra!!

My only issue (and only very minor issue) was I had booked a promotion package on their website which included late-check out of 12pm. I phoned reception the morning of our departure and was told check-out was 10am. I explained I had booked the promotion which included late-check out - I was told 12pm check out would be fine.

Room Tip: If you stay in a higher floor you will get amazing views of the Gold Coast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahF818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here a few times over the years and we do so because of the proximity to Cavill ave.
This time the room given to us was in need of some new furnishings and some TLC for the apartment.Our main problem was the dead lock on the front door didn't work so it was impossible to stop any house staff from walking in. One of the burners on the gas cook top wouldn't switch off unless you pulled the knob off and used your fingers to turn the brass spindle. Very dangerous indeed.
As usual the walls had endured their fair share of scuff marks and the furniture was well past it's use by date.
My suggestion would be to ask to see your allotted apartment before committing .

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Xlcobra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scholesynz, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you for your thoughts on the recent unit you stayed in. It would be great to share feedback such as this with the team during your stay so we can ensure the deadlock to the apartment and the gas stove knobs are fixed. It is a good tip that you have offered for other guests to talk to our team if you aren't happy with any of our apartments as we really want our guests to have an amazing time at Mantra Circle on Cavill. Thank you again and we hope you had a great time on the Gold Coast.

Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
181 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Mantra for two nights for the weekend. Booked great bargain deal at their website. We booked one bedroom apartment which was located on level 32 with ocean views and spa bath. Apartment was clean and with good appliances. Noted bit of weird drainage smell in the bathroom. Rest of the apartment was good except there was a card from assistant manger addressed to someone else which I'm not sure that we have been given someone else's room but had no problems during our stay. Regarding service, I think they could improve as I personally think there is lacking in good customer service. I would definitely in future come back and stay and would also recommend others to stay

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rameez H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scholesynz, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, 30 July 2012
Thank you Luxurious88 for posting this review, we were thrilled to hear about your romantic weekend in one of one bedroom spa apartments. Thank you for your humour in receiving a welcome card for someone else, it looks like we missed removing this from the room at some stage, I will let the team know about your experience. We look forward to your future stay with us.

Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,134 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Circle on Cavill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Circle on Cavill

Property: Mantra Circle on Cavill
Address: 9 Ferny Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Circle on Cavill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising of two residential towers, Circle on Cavill offers luxury accommodation for couples, families or business delegates looking for a relaxed holiday in Surfers Paradise on the Gold Coast. With its central location, proximity to the beach and direct access to the Circle on Cavill shopping precinct, Circle on Cavill ensures you will never be short of things to do. Circle on Cavill boasts spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments, all consisting of self contained state of the art kitchens, laundry, bathroom including spa, flat screen televisions, DVD player, stereo and cable TV. Circle on Cavill has many onsite facilities including two lagoon style pools, fully equipped gym, sauna and spa, as well as a children's playground and games room. Relax in the Zen garden terraces overlooking the bustling centre below. Circle on Cavill is perfectly positioned to take advantage of the iconic Australian beach culture and the contemporary international entertainment to make it a very sort after destination. CIRCLE ON CAVILL HAS A STRICT 'NO PARTY POLICY' (DOCUMENTATION TO BE SIGNED ON ARRIVAL). Circle on Cavill Party Policy: - Each apartment requires a guardian of legal age (18 years or greater) - Parties are not permitted in apartments - Registered guests only permitted in apartments after 10pm - Excessive noise will not be tolerated - Excessive levels of alcohol are not to be brought onto the premises - Apartments are to be left in original condition on check out or additional charges will apply Failure to comply with the above will result in immediate eviction from the premises. Circle on Cavill reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. Circle on Cavill is a mixed use building that includes residents, permanent tenants and holiday rental apartments. Circle on Cavill apartments consist of city, river, hinterland and ocean views. One Bedroom Apartments are located from level 5 with city, river and hinterland views One Bedroom Ocean View Apartments are located from level 13 Two Bedroom Apartments are located from level 5 with city, river and hinterland views Two Bedroom Ocean Apartments are located from level 13 Three Bedroom Sub Penthouse Apartments are located from level 35 with ocean, river and hinterland views Apartments are assigned on the day of arrival, with levels & views allocated depending on availability. Bond policy: Upon check in, guests are required to provide photo ID and a credit card pre-authorisation. A $200 security bond is required for 1 Bedroom Apartments. For 2 and 3 Bedroom Apartments a $500 security bond is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Circle on Cavill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Circle On Cavill Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Circle On Cavill Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing