We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely not stay here again no question!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This hotel is an absolute joke - for the money that you pay to stay in a supposed 4.5 star hotel it is appalling. We were very excited about staying at Mantra as they have a good reputation and were happy that we were able to book a 2 bedroom deluxe ocean view apartment between Christmas and New Year. The first day of our stay was an absolute nightmare. When we got to our room - the first thing we noticed was that the second bedroom had 2 single beds which were absolutely tiny - there was no way that any grown person would be able to sleep in it without falling out.

Clearly, we were disappointed because you would think a 2 bed apartment would have 2 doubles etc. We then had issues with the room keys. One would open the door and the other wouldn't, and in total we went up and down to reception 3 times because they could not fix the issue. We also wondered if they could change the 2 singles to a double as this is what we presumed we had booked.

They came and changed it to a double alright, by pushing the 2 single beds together with a big hole down the middle and the state they left the bed in was disgusting - it was like they hadn't even made it. But it just gets better - there was dust on the airvents, the two lamps had either cracks or were leaning on a 45 degree angle and one of the power points didn't have a cover on it. Also, the ensuite bath grout was black and looked like it had not been cleaned. There was also dust behind the door which could have been cleaned easily. They were just little things that could have been fixed but mantra has let slip or they do not give the owners of these apartments good standards to abide by. Also like I see everyone else has mentioned on here that it's like playing russian roulette with the lifts as you have to guess which floor you are on.

We finally got a room change in the other tower, which we appreciated, however there was no communication of this and it was up to the cleaners who came to tell us that room change had been written down. By the time we moved all our stuff that had already been unpacked, we had wasted a whole day of our holiday. The new room was much nicer, however previous guests had stolen something from the TV and caused this to not work. The shower leaked, the windows weren't sealed properly and general wear and tear of this apartment too. The vaccum also didn't work and therefore day in day out we had sand covering the floor of the apartment. Yes, the hotel organised for the cleaners to vaccum, however we then had to wait a whole day before the floor being cleaned again instead of being able to keep it clean ourself.

It is clearly common knowledge among guests and members of the general public that this hotel is not up to standard - not one person had a good word to say! The communication between staff members is atrocious. You would call and ask something and then get a response 48 hours later! One night they were out of pool towels, the next extra pillows and the next normal bath towels - completely unacceptable! Does mantra not know how to make guests happy at all? One sour girl at the reception desk could clearly do with a lesson in customer service - very rude when we tried to enquire about visitors for the day.

The pool chairs also had big black stains over them which makes you not want to go to the pool either.

The positives of the hotel was that it was a very central location to the beach, restaurants and Cavill ave etc. and it was good to have Woolies just down the bottom of the hotel.

Yes the view from both our rooms was good, however views can only take you so far, at the end of the day we had to stay there for a week.

All I can say is do not stay here at all - you will only be left with a sour taste in your mouth.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher levels have good views as long as it is an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megan399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,771 - 2,777 of 3,512 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014

me and my dad went to surfers paradise for 4 nights, after a bit of umming and ahhing we decided on the Mantra Circle On Cavill, ended up choosing the 2 bedroom, spa, ocean view apartment on the 23rd floor with a balcony, extremely satisfied with the standard of the room, amenities, helpfulness of staff, convenience, overall vibe, and the concierge services. the Air con works a treat!

extremely close to anything and everything, public transport stops opposite the hotel so to get anywhere its a 2 minute walk to the bus stop and such a central spot so plenty of buses, standard of room was surprising, everything was top notch, would gladly stay again.

beauitful view of the beach and the majority of surfers paradise and down to broadbeach, shops were literally at the foot of the hotel so was never far from food and drinks, a 5 minute walk and you are on orchid avenue (nightclub/stripclubs/dance clubs) a further minute or so walk and your at the beach.

5 star resort, cant recommend it highly enough, certainly has set my standards high in terms of hotel stays

Room Tip: choosing the 2 bedroom, spa, ocean view are amazing, request high floor and sea view, aircon is grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rabyrep08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Where do I start... This hotel is not worth the money you pay.. Currently staying here for 7 nights and paid $3913 as what is described as a 4.5 star hotel. We had to wait 2 hours for our room to be ready (I should mention we booked a year ago) the rooms are filthy with stains on the lounges, walls and carpet, the bathroom had mould all over it... Dishwasher had a brown liquid floating in the bottom of it, they wouldn't vacuum our room after asking for 2 days nor would they give us a vacuum head which was missing so we could do it ourself. The blinds and windows are covered in filth and dust...and Reception couldn't care less cause they already had our money...after complaining to reception I was told our room had been cleaned but not to the standard of what we expected... What should be expected in a $560 per night room? Avoid at all costs!!!!! I've stayed in cleaner and friendlier cabins than this place!! We actually met people in the lift who we're complaining of the
exact same thing as we are while we were playing Russian roulette in the lift as the led screens don't work so you don't know what floor your on. I don't know who owns this place but whoever you are you really need to sort out your staff, level of cleanliness or drop your 4.5 star rating to something that does not scream fantasy!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArmenJackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Myself and my partner stayed here for a week in December and we loved it. Had a one bedroom apartment on the 41st floor with a view of the ocean.
Apartment was fantastic, few marks on the walls but otherwise very clean. Bathroom was amazing with a large shower and bath with views of the ocean.
It was centrally located to all the theme parks, the beach was a 5 min walk and it was only a 2 min walk to the shops. Woollies was just downstairs.
Only complaint would be that there were no extra pillows or blankets and the blinds didn't really block the sun enough to get a decent sleep in.
Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Has a great view from the the ocean Spa rooms. Minimalist decorating style and feels great.
The bad news, is that units are not kept up to scratch. Cable and TV batteries flat and missing from two units. Bulbs blown etc. Two calls to reception, no result yet.

Room Tip: Oven spa room layout is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waz_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

On the 41st floor we had fantastic views to the east and the west of Surfers as we had floor to ceiling glass which enabled excellent views of the coastline also from north to south. The fit out of the bathrooms and kitchen were excellent. Beds were very comfortable and linen was crisp and clean. Location is perfect for access to the Cavill Mall, the beach, river cruises and the restaurants. We are 2 adults and stayed in a 2 brm ocean view spa apartment but this apartment may not be suitable for 4 adults. The lounge seating would need to be increased to accommodate additional adults in comfort. Staff are helpful and polite. Minor problems that we had with the unit were attended to quickly. Housekeeping staff were very efficient and changed our towels daily. They even turned up on Christmas day. We would certainly return next year for a Christmas holiday.

Room Tip: Book a high level ocean view spa apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fifi03_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you so much for your five star review following on from your stay with us over the Christmas Holidays. We were thrilled to read your review and your positive comments on the apartment standard, cleanliness, customer service and stunning views. We look forward to you returning again for the Christmas Holidays for another five star sky high experience with us.
Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

when we arrived, the hotel prepared a portable cot for my little boy, that is a big surprise. there is a really damaged ottoman in 2397, which should really throw away, the toaster is not working, but we didnt use during the stay. the location is really convenience, we are facing toward the inland, a bit of night traffic noise.housrkeeping didnt come on the 2nd day but evreyday after that.
overall, i will rate 8/10.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,365 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,777 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,686 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Circle on Cavill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Circle on Cavill

Address: 9 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £96 - £397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Circle on Cavill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circle on Cavill boasts spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments, consisting of city, river, hinterland and ocean views, all with self contained kitchens, laundry, bathroom including spa, flat screen televisions, DVD player, stereo and cable TV. Onsite facilities including two lagoon style pools, fully equipped gym, sauna and spa, as well as a children's playground and games room. Relax in the Zen garden terraces overlooking the bustling centre below. CIRCLE ON CAVILL HAS A STRICT 'NO PARTY POLICY'- Each apartment requires a guardian of legal age (18 years +) - Parties are not permitted in apartments - Registered guests only permitted in apartments after 10pm - Excessive noise will not be tolerated - Excessive levels of alcohol are forbidden -views allocated depending on availability. Bond policy: Upon check in, guests are required to provide photo ID and a credit card pre-authorisation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mantra Circle on Cavill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Circle On Cavill Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Circle On Cavill Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing