We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Won't be doing it again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Ranked #6 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Won't be doing it again”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

After reading the reviews I was really reluctant to book this hotel but being Mother's Day weekend we had left it so late it was the only one left in a good location. Sleeping on the beach or sidewalk would have been cleaner.
The first room we were in was absolutely shocking. Filthy in fact. Even the bed sheets were still dirty, didn't fit the bed, there were boob marks on the windows where someone had obviously found it funny to leave their mark! The furniture was falling apart too. I was in the process of goin home when I decided to call reception. It has to be said that they were very helpful. I was asked to take all our belongings to reception which we did. On arrival we were asked to wait whilst another room was checked by housekeeping. We were given a new room and it was lovely. We were obviously upgraded. The staff dealt with it very very well and I have no issues with them at all. The problem I have is I still wouldn't return. If I have to be upgraded in order to get what we paid for, a clean comfortable room, I wouldn't risk booking here. It's a shame because the location is excellent and the staff were very apologetic but this is a party hotel. It has been abused and the cleaning staff obviously do not clean properly thinking that all their customers are the same. We are not. Especially when paying 220 a night! Next time we will book earlier and go to the Sofitel which is beautiful and every room is stunning and clean. Mantra.....you need to sort this hotel. It was my first and last experience of a Mantra hotel. Ergh.....

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Sara D
Thank you for review however I am disappointed with your feedback. I would like to assure you that the team at Mantra Circle on Cavill are in no way complacent with the standards. It is unfortunate that you checked into an apartment that was not presented to our normal high standard. As a guest you absolutely did the right thing in contacting our dedicated team for assistance. It is pleasing to read that we immediately room moved you to a new apartment and prior to giving you the keys we checked the apartment to ensure our mantra standards were in place for your stay with us. I am sorry that your initial experience and our teams exceptional customer service and commitment to ensure you had a great stay with us was not enough to have you return and stay with us in the future.

Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,330
    1,018
    392
    166
    142
See reviews for
1,068
1,199
72
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 May 2014

My husband and I have been staying at Mantra Circle on Cavill yearly since 2009. We live in Queensland, got married in Western Australia, and decided to stay at an old favourite for a few days in September 2013 before heading back home. We feel that was a bit of a mistake.

I understand that some apartments are owner-occupied, and others are managed by Mantra. So I understand that people are actually living there. On our floor, we had owner-occupier's children running up and down the hallway screaming, and another owner-occupier drilling all day in the apartment next to us. Fair enough I suppose, I am after all, just a guest. But it did put a very big negative on our stay. There just didn't seem to be any common courtesy, not even for each other.

There was a period of time where out of 6 lifts, only 2 were moving people around, but even then the lifts weren't taking people to where they actually needed to go. The maintenance of the apartments is in a steady decline, gradually getting worse. We used to let management know about poor maintenance we encounter, but every time we stay, it's yet another room with poor maintenance. I'm not sure if it's a case of Mantra not caring, or the landlord not caring.

I'm not sure if we're going to go back for a 6th year in a row.

Room Tip: Hinterland view is tends to be cheaper than ocean view, and there's always something to look at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Christina R
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. It is great to read all about how you have been visiting the coast and Circle on Cavill for a number of years and we truly enjoy welcoming our return guests back and appreciate their loyalty. Please can you email Tara our Reservations Manager circle.res@mantra.com.au when you are next looking to make a reservation and we will ensure you are well looked after as a return guest. Thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I stayed in a one bedroom spa apartment and I must say I was not expecting the size!
The full kitchen and laundry made it perfect for longer stays. It was clean, tidy, facilities were fantastic, staff were friendly. Will stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank jedmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear jedmo
“Love it” great review!! Thank you.
Great to hear that overall you were very happy with the apartment size, cleanliness, facilities at the resort and our great customer service. See you next time.

Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s'pore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

The views were awesome. Located in the heart of Surfers Paradise...Woolsworth just downstairs...near shopping area and eateries. Room was very spacious and clean. They were unable to check us in earlier than 2pm. Whole family was falling asleep in the lobby after a sleepless night flight.

Room Tip: Higher floors provide better views and less obstruction from buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Y72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Y72
Thank you for your review and your comments on the great location and facilities. It is great to receive your feedback about the overall apartment and the high level of cleanliness. I am sorry that we were unable to confirm an early check in for you on this occasion; we do try our best if we have availability however please understand this is not always possible. We look forward to your returning to the Gold Coast in the future.

Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
90 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed 3 nites in this serviced apartment during our Gold Coast stay. Apartment is very nicely furnished with a modern contemporary theme. We stayed in a 2 bedder apartment with a jacuzzi bath tub in the masterbath. It is clean and fully furnished. Apartment is serviced daily. Only problem we had is a faulty n eccentric air con/heater. It kept showing error message and after a while, all is well then the same error message will appear again. Thank goodness the weather wasn't that cold yet though it was a bit chilly at night.

Location wise it is at a fantastic place. Below it is a huge Woolsworth supermarket and it's near many restaurants! Hard Rock Cafe Gold Coast is literally a stone throw away! Korean, Thai etc... restaurants are all around the area. Shopping mall is nearby too. Thus this location is great for families n all to explore the Gold Coast area.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank medgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear medgor
Great to read your review and that you enjoyed the location of the apartments and that the overall standard and cleanliness expectations were met. Please accept my apologies’ for the issue with the air conditioner and heater in the unit. I am confident that the team have attended to this maintenance issue following on from you advising our team during your stay of the error message.

Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Week just stay at matra circle civill may 2014, worst staff! Worst bed they don't even have a proper bed sheet! They don't even clean are room ever day and No wifi .this hotel is not 4 star quality! Never come back to this hotel again

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maribel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Maribel D
It is always disappointing when guests use the Tripadvisor site to post an review such as this. As always, we are happy to resolve any issues a guest may experience during their stay or post their stay through our complaint handling process. Please feel free to email your feedback to allow us to investigate the issues you have posted and to allow management the opportunity to provide a response in a fair manner to you. We have many guests that stay at the resort on a daily basis that have an amazing experience. If we get something wrong then we are happy to resolve this and make amends, at the end of the day we strive to ensure every guest has the best possible experience at the property and on this occassion and am dissapointed this was not the case with your stay and for this I would like to again apologise.

Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Quite expensive but so worth the fun! Stayed here with a few friends for a weekend and we enjoyed it very much. We had a 3 bedroom apartment to ourselves so we were not disturbed by the staff of the hotel and we were able to play loud music and basically do whatever we pleased. We stayed on the 33rd level and it was amazing! It overlooked the beach and all of Surfer's Paradise which was beautiful no matter the time of day. Sunrise to sunset, it was a gorgeous sight to see. The accommodation was squeaky clean and very modern.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Sal1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie S, General Manager at Mantra Circle on Cavill, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Sal1993
Sounds like you had a great weekend on the Gold Coast and enjoyed the size, cleanliness and modern three bedroom apartment. Thank you for your review!

Kind Regards
Katie Scholes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.5 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,633 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3,201 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
1,439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
2,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Circle on Cavill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Circle on Cavill

Property: Mantra Circle on Cavill
Address: 9 Ferny Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Circle on Cavill 4.5*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comprising of two residential towers, Circle on Cavill offers luxury accommodation for couples, families or business delegates looking for a relaxed holiday in Surfers Paradise on the Gold Coast. With its central location, proximity to the beach and direct access to the Circle on Cavill shopping precinct, Circle on Cavill ensures you will never be short of things to do. Circle on Cavill boasts spacious one, two and three bedroom apartments, all consisting of self contained state of the art kitchens, laundry, bathroom including spa, flat screen televisions, DVD player, stereo and cable TV. Circle on Cavill has many onsite facilities including two lagoon style pools, fully equipped gym, sauna and spa, as well as a children's playground and games room. Relax in the Zen garden terraces overlooking the bustling centre below. Circle on Cavill is perfectly positioned to take advantage of the iconic Australian beach culture and the contemporary international entertainment to make it a very sort after destination. CIRCLE ON CAVILL HAS A STRICT 'NO PARTY POLICY' (DOCUMENTATION TO BE SIGNED ON ARRIVAL). Circle on Cavill Party Policy: - Each apartment requires a guardian of legal age (18 years or greater) - Parties are not permitted in apartments - Registered guests only permitted in apartments after 10pm - Excessive noise will not be tolerated - Excessive levels of alcohol are not to be brought onto the premises - Apartments are to be left in original condition on check out or additional charges will apply Failure to comply with the above will result in immediate eviction from the premises. Circle on Cavill reserves the right to retain all accommodation paid. Circle on Cavill is a mixed use building that includes residents, permanent tenants and holiday rental apartments. Circle on Cavill apartments consist of city, river, hinterland and ocean views. One Bedroom Apartments are located from level 5 with city, river and hinterland views One Bedroom Ocean View Apartments are located from level 13 Two Bedroom Apartments are located from level 5 with city, river and hinterland views Two Bedroom Ocean Apartments are located from level 13 Three Bedroom Sub Penthouse Apartments are located from level 35 with ocean, river and hinterland views Apartments are assigned on the day of arrival, with levels & views allocated depending on availability. Bond policy: Upon check in, guests are required to provide photo ID and a credit card pre-authorisation. A $200 security bond is required for 1 Bedroom Apartments. For 2 and 3 Bedroom Apartments a $500 security bond is required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mantra Circle on Cavill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Circle On Cavill Hotel Surfers Paradise
Mantra Circle On Cavill Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing