We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wotif mystery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Shore Holiday Apartments
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wotif mystery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

As a first time user of wotif I would love to offer some feedback. Firstly I love your website, I was recommended by some friends to use wotif as it offered a vast selection of accommodation at discounted rates. Just recently I used one of your mystery selections and was shocked with what I had received. I would just like to say that "The Shore Holiday Apartments" are no where near a 4star rating for price of $175.00+ per night. The standard of the room and what was in the room was absolutely appalling, additional charges for towels, washing of glasses/dishes, empty the rubbish bin and paying for toilet paper is a joke. No face washers, one small soap, two small thin towels and having a no check-in before 2pm and the motel isn't even staffed at the front counter. All I can say is never again and will never recommend this option to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MOFF1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shore-Manager, Manager at The Shore Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi MOFF1304

Thanks for writing us a review - we appreciate all the feedback we receive.

I think I'd be correct in saying you paid a lot less than $175?? We're a 3 star resort and don't have control over 3rd party sites saying we're 4 star. So that's a bit of a problem with expectation there that we find rather difficult to address.

With our self catered apartments it's a pretty standard deal, leave it clean and tidy (pretty much as you found it within reason) on checkout. Like every apartment accommodation on the Gold Coast, there is an additional charge if the apartment is left in a state that requires significantly more resources.

And yes, we do charge additional for extra towels and toilet paper. I can't remember off the top of my head what the previous record for toilet rolls was before we brought this policy in, but it was something crazy where it wasn't so much as being used as stockpiled in a suitcase!

Our front desk is staffed between 8.30am - 5pm Monday to Friday, 8.30am - 12pm Saturdays and 9am to 12pm Sundays and Public Holidays. If you arrive outside those hours there are simple instructions on how to get to get your key to your room. No biggie there.

Our check in time is 2pm which I believe to be fairly standard for most places and we are always happy to store your luggage until your apartment is ready so you can go and enjoy the start of your holiday.

I am sorry that you feel that the Wotif deal mislead you and you did not receive the accommodation that you were expecting. It can be very challenging and damaging for us when The Shore is promoted by external parties as something we're not.

Thanks again for giving us a try and we'd be delighted to welcome you back for a second chance.

Regards

Lily, Allan and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    101
    27
    9
    10
See reviews for
66
128
29
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Really nice experience, good service from staff, clean and comfortable unit.
Strategic location and Convenience.
Very recommended for good accommodation in Gold Coast. Surely will be back again someday.

Room Tip: Good Service for a reasonable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airlangga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shore-Manager, Manager at The Shore Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Airlangga G

Thanks for writing us a review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love our location. Being so close to all of the fun things in Surfers Paradise and also being directly over the road from such a fantastic beach is awesome. We are glad you liked the location also.

Hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Lily, Alan and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloela, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

THE ROOM – The apartments were simple but had everything you need. We stayed in room 142 on the 14th floor. We were really lucky to get the top floor apartment. The view of the beach and ocean was amazing. The apartment had one bedroom, bathroom and open planned lounge, dinning and kitchen. The TV in the lounge was tiny. I’m sure most people have a computer screen bigger than it. It’s something that is so easily replaced that I don’t know why they haven’t done it. There were normal channels and some Foxtel channels. The kitchen was a bit small and basic, but with all the amazing restaurants and takeout places nearby we never wanted to cook.
The thing I didn't like about this apartment was it was one of the ones that you can see clearly into nearby hotels and they can see into yours. The bathroom windows were high up but didn't have any curtains. Since we were on the top floor no other building could see in. But I do wonder if we were in a lower room, if they could view straight into the bathrooms.
Also there is no air con in the hotel, there was a great sea breeze, and there is ceiling fans. We did keep the windows open overnight but with all the NON-STOP construction outside with the tramlines at the moment, expect to be woken up very early.
We stayed here because we could stay here for 5 nights for the same price as we could stay in the center for 2 nights. It was a bargain and we did enjoy our time staying here.

CHECK IN – We drove there and we had a lot of trouble getting into the drive way to the hotel mainly because of the joining cafes set up all over it. Its one thing to put outdoor seating but when it’s blocking the path making a very sharp turn it’s not good. We got to the hotel around 2pm on the Saturday (normal check in time) and the office was closed. We had to use the phone outside and access our key from the safe. It felt very unwelcoming, especially when they would be expecting guests from that time.

CLEANING – We were there for 5 nights and no one cleaned anything in that time. There were bins outside our door to put rubbish.

LAUNDRY – There are laundries on a few floors, you have to pay gold coins to use them.

KEYS – We received two keys for the one bedroom apartment. The main door is always locked after reception hours, and you need the key to access the lift from the common areas.

PARKING – The car park is on a steep slope so if you have a low car it might be had to access this. You need to turn the key to enter and you can park anywhere you find a park.

FACILITIES – There is a pool spa and BBQ area just outside the hotel. The hotel can arrange bookings for you, and were very helpful with this.

LOCATION – The location was a little out of center. The beach was right across the road, so took no time at all to get there. The hotel was about a 15 minute walk to the Surfers entrance. There were plenty of people walking around at night so we always felt safe walking to dinner and coming back late. There is a liquor and convenience store just behind the hotel. And King Tutt’s Putt Putt is only 2 minutes walk. We pretty much walked everywhere when we were staying here.
There will be a tram stop here when the tram lines are complete which will link to the main and other beaches perfectly.

I stayed in the Gold Coast in February 2014.The time of year was great as it wasn't school holidays and there were fewer people around. If you are planning a holiday to the Gold Coast soon I would try to wait until the tram lines are completed, as there is construction all threw the main streets. Once they are running they will be great, linking the different parts of the coast.

As always with all my reviews I’ve added some useful photos, of things that no one else has added. Rather than adding ones of worn out furniture. Thanks for reading

Room Tip: The higher the better for amazing sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanna1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shore-Manager, Manager at The Shore Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi Alanna

Thanks for taking the time to write your review to tell people about your stay at The Shore Holiday Apartments.

We are so glad you enjoyed the location and the view. Being a short walk from the centre of Surfers Paradise is great because you can access all of the restaurants and activities easily but can just as easily escape the hustle and bustle when you return to the hotel.

And Surfers Paradise does have some fantastic places to eat. So glad you were able to make the most of them.

The spectacular Surfers Paradise beach is right there on our doorstep (well just over the road). The surf and beach are just beautiful and February is a great time to see them at their best.

Things are a bit hectic and noisy at the moment with the construction of the Light Rail but thankfully that is coming to an end and soon we will have an efficient public transport system that will make getting around the Gold Coast so much easier for our guests.

Kind Regards

Lily, Alan & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

From the ease of the after hours check in to the cheery farewell on departure I have to say that my experience of The Shore was brilliant. I was allocated Apt 132 on the 13th floor and it was excellent. I think it may have been recently refurbished with a new kitchen and bathroom. Everything you could wish for was provided from a very welcome "welcome" pack with tea/coffee/milk etc to things like an iron, hairdryer, clothes airer etc. The whole complex is super clean. Nice pool area to the side and wonderful ocean views from my unit. 3 laundry areas are available on a pay as you wash basis.
Adjacent to the apartments is a smashing bistro/bar which serves fantastic breakfasts/dinners at a very reasonable price with friendly service. Thursdays are "Roast" nights - Awesome.
The Shore provides a manned reception during office hours and can book and advise on all manner of trips etc. Security is good and you need your main door key to operate the lifts.
Being just a short walk from the main Surfers strip it is a bit quieter and a good nights rest is guaranteed. No aircon but 2 powerful ceiling fans worked perfectly. I used the service bus from the airport - the 777 - takes about 45 mins and is only 9 dollars. Don't get off at the main Surfers Paradise area but count 3 more stops and you will end up at the junction with Ocean Drive and the Shore is moments away. Buses are every 20 mins to and from the airport.
Be very wary of the power of the Pacific and also the sun. Might be a nice breeze blowing but the strength of the sun is frightening. Saw to many people with severe sunburn.
I would recommend The Shore without hesitation.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor - Ocean views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shore-Manager, Manager at The Shore Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thanks for your kind review Barton

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Shore Apartments.

We are very fortunate to be located in such an ideal spot where you can enjoy fantastic views and are an easy distance to the main Surfers strip without being in a noisy location.

Glad you were able to enjoy some meals at the bistro/bar. Their meals are great value and always a popular choice.

Thanks also for the tips. To get the best out of your Gold Coast holiday you need to be very sun conscious. A bit of "slip,slop,slap" will make all the difference.

Kind Regards
Terry and Justine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks. Great views and was central to everything we wanted. We were in room 72 floor 7 and found that the unit needs some TLC. There was broken chairs, the washing machine didnt work properly and the laundry door kept falling off. We couldn't really cook while we were there as only one hotplate worked and the latch on the balcony door was broken, which made it difficult to close the door ( a little stressful as I have 3 kids in the apartment). If these things are fixed, value for money it would be great.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kazzacowan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shore-Manager, Manager at The Shore Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thanks for your review and feedback.

We're thrilled you rated us so highly on the location, we really are in a fantastic spot with awesome views and close to all the action, transport and lots more.
Appreciate the positive feedback on the great value too.

Thanks for the heads up about the various issues needing a little TLC - on it. As you know, we can't provide maintenance of these bits and bobs until we know about them (if a guest breaks something they generally don't tell us!).

I'm on the TLC right now and it'll be sorted for our next guest.

Thanks again for the feedback, we really appreciate it. Happy travels.

Best Regards

Terry and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights whilst travelling round Australia. We arrived at 9am after our 24hr flight from the Uk. The lady allowed us to check into our apartment early so we could catch some sleep. However once we entered our apartment on the 10th floor our view blew us away. Amazing view! The apartment was spacious, equipment well and had Foxtel(Sky) TV. Great value for money and amazing location. Couldn't have selected a better location... Could have paid 4x as much for a well known hotel brand and we'd have been further away from the beach.

It was lovely to wake up and have breakfast watching people surf from our apartment.

Would recommend to anyone

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lhaare9 H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shore-Manager, Manager at The Shore Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Hello Lhaare9 H,

Thanks so much for taking the time to leave a review. We really appreciate it.

Glad we could help you out with the early check-in - fortunately the room was already empty and had been cleaned. It's nice when it works out like that!

I was pleased to read your comments on the views, value and location - they're the big things we try to get across, so it's fantastic to see you found those things so good.

Kind regards,

Terry and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

We stayed here for our Gold Coast Holiday and it was perfect. It had everything we needed. We had views of the beach and it was a quick walk into town. It had basic cooking facilities which allowed us to save even more money. It is incredibly practical.

The room did look a bit run down. We were expected to clean the room prior to check out or face an additional fee. Also, the ladies at the service desk weren't as knowledgable when it came to discounts compared to the service I got the month prior at QT hotel.

I was fine with these limitations because the price and location was amazing. We weren't looking for somewhere grand, we just wanted a relaxing place to crash at the end of the night. We were there during the V8 Races so many nearby places were blocked off - something to keep in mind if you aren't actually going there for the races.

I felt the area itself was a bit touristy but were fine with it. The buses took us to two of the theme parks within 30 minutes. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shore-Manager, Manager at The Shore Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 26 December 2013
Hi Jade C,

Thanks for the review.

Great to see you loved the view - it is pretty special! I was also pleased to you found the kitchen and location so practical.

It can be quite busy for the race - we're in a perfect spot if you're there to watch!

Kind regards,

Terry and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
1.5 mi away
Wharf Boutique Apartments
Wharf Boutique Apartments
#44 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pacific Plaza Holiday Apartments
Pacific Plaza Holiday Apartments
#66 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
BreakFree Beachpoint
BreakFree Beachpoint
#25 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Focus Apartments
Focus Apartments
#33 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#12 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suntower Holiday Units
Suntower Holiday Units
#55 of 122 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore Holiday Apartments

Property: The Shore Holiday Apartments
Address: 2 Ocean Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 122 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Shore Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shore has just recently undergone a building refurbishment and is superb value Gold Coast accommodation. Directly opposite the beach we offer 1 bedroom fully self contained apartments, friendly staff and great facilities on the Esplanade in Surfers Paradise.Relax in secure accommodation and enjoy amazing views, the heated pool and spa, along with the cafe/bar on the ground floor. Right on the light rail system for easy travel around the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Shore Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Shore Holiday Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing