We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay for couples!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Shore Holiday Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome stay for couples!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend & I stayed in this apartment from 11 April to 16 April. It was a pleasant stay indeed! Loved the ocean view & the fact that our apartment is just opposite Surfers Paradise Beach. And the location is very ideal. Just behind the apartment is a convenient store, & it's also a walking to distance to the bus stop to go to all the theme parks & even to harbour town! The room was very clean even the toilet! I'm very particular about toilets in hostels or apartments that I stayed in. Haha! There's a small kitchen so it was very convenient for us. We are able to cook during our stay which was fun. In summary, I would recommend my friends & family to stay in this apartment & would definitely come back here again the nxt time I visit Gold Coast!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ervy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shore-Manager, Manager at The Shore Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi Ervy S

Thanks for choosing The Shore Apartments for your Surfers Paradise holiday.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found everything close and handy. Being so close to public transport makes it very easy to get around and visit out local sites.

Thanks for taking the time to write us such a nice review. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards

Lily, Alan and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    105
    27
    9
    10
See reviews for
67
130
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Overall these apartments were great value for money. Our apartment was on the 10th floor with spectacular views of the ocean from the entire apartment and it was incredible waking up to the sound of the sea every morning. It was also very spacious and the kitchen was well equipped. We appreciated the secure undercover parking, gave us peace of mind after hearing about break ins. Staff were wonderful, ladies at the desk extremely friendly and a pleasure to talk to.

They are very clear that we need to pay for toilet paper, washing liquid, tea etc after we finish the starter pack they provide and they also clearly state that the kitchenette needs to be left clean on departure so I don't understand why others complain about this. The prices they charge are low so this should be expected.

The location was great, 10-15mins walk into the main area and supermarkets which was far enough from the noise but close enough not to need transport.

We only have a couple of criticisms. The main one is the water in the shower - the pressure is by far the worst we have experienced in the past 15 months of travelling. The water was hot but the pressure made it difficult to enjoy the shower. The other thing is the sofa and curtains were absolutely filthy and need to be deep cleaned or replaced. We had to move a sofa cushion and were disgusted with what we found underneath and the back of the cushion was coated in food and filth - it had just been turned over instead of being cleaned. The knobs on the cooker were also coated in a layer of grease and dirt.

Despite the negatives, we have rated based on with what we received for the price we paid and would recommend to others looking for apartments on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank innocent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shore-Manager, Manager at The Shore Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi Innocent26

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the views from your room. We have a great location and are just a short walk to all the busy activities of Surfers Paradise.

Thanks for letting us know about the few issues in your apartment. We have passed these on to our cleaning staff and they will be addressed immediately. We aim to keep our rooms in as good a condition as possible but unfortunately we are often unaware of some issues unless our guests tell us.

Thanks again for the review. Happy traveling.

Kind Regards

Lily, Alan and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

As a regular to the Shore,I was so satisfied once more, with the reception received from the ladies,the 2 Kay's and the lovely Lily.The room was so clean and the view are terrific.
Right on the beach and so close to Cavill Avenue.In reality, it is so nice in the apartment one doesn't want to move to explore.The pool was beautifully clean and warm so one could swim after dark.
Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alan9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shore-Manager, Manager at The Shore Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Hi alan9999

Thanks for coming to stay with us again. We are glad you enjoy staying with us and keep coming back.

Thanks also for writing us another wonderful review, and your kind words about the staff were very appreciated.

Until Next time.

Lily, Alan and the Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

As a first time user of wotif I would love to offer some feedback. Firstly I love your website, I was recommended by some friends to use wotif as it offered a vast selection of accommodation at discounted rates. Just recently I used one of your mystery selections and was shocked with what I had received. I would just like to say that "The Shore Holiday Apartments" are no where near a 4star rating for price of $175.00+ per night. The standard of the room and what was in the room was absolutely appalling, additional charges for towels, washing of glasses/dishes, empty the rubbish bin and paying for toilet paper is a joke. No face washers, one small soap, two small thin towels and having a no check-in before 2pm and the motel isn't even staffed at the front counter. All I can say is never again and will never recommend this option to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MOFF1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shore-Manager, Manager at The Shore Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Hi MOFF1304

Thanks for writing us a review - we appreciate all the feedback we receive.

I think I'd be correct in saying you paid a lot less than $175?? We're a 3 star resort and don't have control over 3rd party sites saying we're 4 star. So that's a bit of a problem with expectation there that we find rather difficult to address.

With our self catered apartments it's a pretty standard deal, leave it clean and tidy (pretty much as you found it within reason) on checkout. Like every apartment accommodation on the Gold Coast, there is an additional charge if the apartment is left in a state that requires significantly more resources.

And yes, we do charge additional for extra towels and toilet paper. I can't remember off the top of my head what the previous record for toilet rolls was before we brought this policy in, but it was something crazy where it wasn't so much as being used as stockpiled in a suitcase!

Our front desk is staffed between 8.30am - 5pm Monday to Friday, 8.30am - 12pm Saturdays and 9am to 12pm Sundays and Public Holidays. If you arrive outside those hours there are simple instructions on how to get to get your key to your room. No biggie there.

Our check in time is 2pm which I believe to be fairly standard for most places and we are always happy to store your luggage until your apartment is ready so you can go and enjoy the start of your holiday.

I am sorry that you feel that the Wotif deal mislead you and you did not receive the accommodation that you were expecting. It can be very challenging and damaging for us when The Shore is promoted by external parties as something we're not.

Thanks again for giving us a try and we'd be delighted to welcome you back for a second chance.

Regards

Lily, Allan and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Really nice experience, good service from staff, clean and comfortable unit.
Strategic location and Convenience.
Very recommended for good accommodation in Gold Coast. Surely will be back again someday.

Room Tip: Good Service for a reasonable price
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airlangga G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shore-Manager, Manager at The Shore Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Hi Airlangga G

Thanks for writing us a review.

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We love our location. Being so close to all of the fun things in Surfers Paradise and also being directly over the road from such a fantastic beach is awesome. We are glad you liked the location also.

Hope to have you stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards

Lily, Alan and the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biloela, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

THE ROOM – The apartments were simple but had everything you need. We stayed in room 142 on the 14th floor. We were really lucky to get the top floor apartment. The view of the beach and ocean was amazing. The apartment had one bedroom, bathroom and open planned lounge, dinning and kitchen. The TV in the lounge was tiny. I’m sure most people have a computer screen bigger than it. It’s something that is so easily replaced that I don’t know why they haven’t done it. There were normal channels and some Foxtel channels. The kitchen was a bit small and basic, but with all the amazing restaurants and takeout places nearby we never wanted to cook.
The thing I didn't like about this apartment was it was one of the ones that you can see clearly into nearby hotels and they can see into yours. The bathroom windows were high up but didn't have any curtains. Since we were on the top floor no other building could see in. But I do wonder if we were in a lower room, if they could view straight into the bathrooms.
Also there is no air con in the hotel, there was a great sea breeze, and there is ceiling fans. We did keep the windows open overnight but with all the NON-STOP construction outside with the tramlines at the moment, expect to be woken up very early.
We stayed here because we could stay here for 5 nights for the same price as we could stay in the center for 2 nights. It was a bargain and we did enjoy our time staying here.

CHECK IN – We drove there and we had a lot of trouble getting into the drive way to the hotel mainly because of the joining cafes set up all over it. Its one thing to put outdoor seating but when it’s blocking the path making a very sharp turn it’s not good. We got to the hotel around 2pm on the Saturday (normal check in time) and the office was closed. We had to use the phone outside and access our key from the safe. It felt very unwelcoming, especially when they would be expecting guests from that time.

CLEANING – We were there for 5 nights and no one cleaned anything in that time. There were bins outside our door to put rubbish.

LAUNDRY – There are laundries on a few floors, you have to pay gold coins to use them.

KEYS – We received two keys for the one bedroom apartment. The main door is always locked after reception hours, and you need the key to access the lift from the common areas.

PARKING – The car park is on a steep slope so if you have a low car it might be had to access this. You need to turn the key to enter and you can park anywhere you find a park.

FACILITIES – There is a pool spa and BBQ area just outside the hotel. The hotel can arrange bookings for you, and were very helpful with this.

LOCATION – The location was a little out of center. The beach was right across the road, so took no time at all to get there. The hotel was about a 15 minute walk to the Surfers entrance. There were plenty of people walking around at night so we always felt safe walking to dinner and coming back late. There is a liquor and convenience store just behind the hotel. And King Tutt’s Putt Putt is only 2 minutes walk. We pretty much walked everywhere when we were staying here.
There will be a tram stop here when the tram lines are complete which will link to the main and other beaches perfectly.

I stayed in the Gold Coast in February 2014.The time of year was great as it wasn't school holidays and there were fewer people around. If you are planning a holiday to the Gold Coast soon I would try to wait until the tram lines are completed, as there is construction all threw the main streets. Once they are running they will be great, linking the different parts of the coast.

As always with all my reviews I’ve added some useful photos, of things that no one else has added. Rather than adding ones of worn out furniture. Thanks for reading

Room Tip: The higher the better for amazing sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alanna1622
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shore-Manager, Manager at The Shore Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Hi Alanna

Thanks for taking the time to write your review to tell people about your stay at The Shore Holiday Apartments.

We are so glad you enjoyed the location and the view. Being a short walk from the centre of Surfers Paradise is great because you can access all of the restaurants and activities easily but can just as easily escape the hustle and bustle when you return to the hotel.

And Surfers Paradise does have some fantastic places to eat. So glad you were able to make the most of them.

The spectacular Surfers Paradise beach is right there on our doorstep (well just over the road). The surf and beach are just beautiful and February is a great time to see them at their best.

Things are a bit hectic and noisy at the moment with the construction of the Light Rail but thankfully that is coming to an end and soon we will have an efficient public transport system that will make getting around the Gold Coast so much easier for our guests.

Kind Regards

Lily, Alan & the Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

From the ease of the after hours check in to the cheery farewell on departure I have to say that my experience of The Shore was brilliant. I was allocated Apt 132 on the 13th floor and it was excellent. I think it may have been recently refurbished with a new kitchen and bathroom. Everything you could wish for was provided from a very welcome "welcome" pack with tea/coffee/milk etc to things like an iron, hairdryer, clothes airer etc. The whole complex is super clean. Nice pool area to the side and wonderful ocean views from my unit. 3 laundry areas are available on a pay as you wash basis.
Adjacent to the apartments is a smashing bistro/bar which serves fantastic breakfasts/dinners at a very reasonable price with friendly service. Thursdays are "Roast" nights - Awesome.
The Shore provides a manned reception during office hours and can book and advise on all manner of trips etc. Security is good and you need your main door key to operate the lifts.
Being just a short walk from the main Surfers strip it is a bit quieter and a good nights rest is guaranteed. No aircon but 2 powerful ceiling fans worked perfectly. I used the service bus from the airport - the 777 - takes about 45 mins and is only 9 dollars. Don't get off at the main Surfers Paradise area but count 3 more stops and you will end up at the junction with Ocean Drive and the Shore is moments away. Buses are every 20 mins to and from the airport.
Be very wary of the power of the Pacific and also the sun. Might be a nice breeze blowing but the strength of the sun is frightening. Saw to many people with severe sunburn.
I would recommend The Shore without hesitation.

Room Tip: Try for a high floor - Ocean views are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barton2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The-Shore-Manager, Manager at The Shore Holiday Apartments, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thanks for your kind review Barton

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Shore Apartments.

We are very fortunate to be located in such an ideal spot where you can enjoy fantastic views and are an easy distance to the main Surfers strip without being in a noisy location.

Glad you were able to enjoy some meals at the bistro/bar. Their meals are great value and always a popular choice.

Thanks also for the tips. To get the best out of your Gold Coast holiday you need to be very sun conscious. A bit of "slip,slop,slap" will make all the difference.

Kind Regards
Terry and Justine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 mi away
Pacific Plaza Holiday Apartments
Pacific Plaza Holiday Apartments
#66 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chateau Beachside
Chateau Beachside
#13 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
1,680 reviews
0.7 mi away
Trickett Gardens Holiday Inn
Trickett Gardens Holiday Inn
#51 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartments
Hi Surf Beachfront Resort Apartm...
#1 of 11 in Surfers Paradise
316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Artique Surfers Paradise
Artique Surfers Paradise
#1 of 123 in Surfers Paradise
1,386 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ipanema Resort Apartments
Ipanema Resort Apartments
#6 of 11 in Surfers Paradise
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Shore Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Shore Holiday Apartments

Property: The Shore Holiday Apartments
Address: 2 Ocean Ave, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 123 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Shore Holiday Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Shore is superb value Gold Coast accommodation which includes 1 car park per apartment, 500MB of free WIFI daily & cable TV. Directly opposite the beach we offer 1 bedroom fully self contained apartments, friendly staff and great facilities on the Esplanade in Surfers Paradise. Relax in secure accommodation and enjoy amazing views, the heated pool and spa, along with the cafe and licensed bar on the ground floor. A 12 minute walk to the Surfers Paradise shops, restaurants and right on the light rail system and bus routes for easy travel around the Gold Coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Shore Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shore Holiday Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
The Shore Holiday Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing