We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude staff member ruined our enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rude staff member ruined our enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

Positive-clean rooms, nice views, stylish spa and pool

Negative- not very friendly staff and very pushy to try and make us go for a seminar, stayed for 7 nights and only serviced once (not ideal for parents with kids), after checking out we waited in the foyer for a pick up, a very rude man then came and asked the concierge what WE were doing sitting there and asked if we checked out and that we were making too much noise and there was too many of us. It was very upsettting considering we as a group (with two babies) were sitting quietly and were there for a max of 10 minutes. I felt they were like THANKS FOR STAYING NOW GO AND HURRY UP!
Would not join time shares after a Wyndham sales guy turned nasty at dreamworld when we said we wernt interested

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    241
    77
    42
    27
See reviews for
272
218
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

The apartments were very modern and clean and a short walk to shops, restaurants and the beach. The buses to Seaworld and Pacific Fair stop right in front so we could leave our car in the undercover secure parking at the hotel.
The apartments are part of RCIS (timeshare) and they will try to book you into a seminar to buy. My friend however, who left her husband at home on this trip, was advised that she was not allowed to attend without her husband present ( a bit of a snub really and she was not too happy about that). But all in all a very pleasant and relaxing break. I would be happy to stay there again at the discounted rate we had booked.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petal000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

We stayed 3 nights at the Wyndham after booking on Wotif. We got a pretty good deal, being $140 per night with breakfast for 2 adults and 1 child. Check-in was quick and easy, and the free secure underground parking was great. Our room was modern and spacious, with a king main bedroom, and fold-out sofa in the loungeroom. Only sheets were provided for sofa-bed, so we rang reception to get a blanket. We had to wait for over an hour for them to find a blanket, but as they are serviced apartments and not really a hotel, we understood delay. All the pillows in the room were really big and hard, which left us all with sore necks the next morning - a quick trip to supermarket to buy cheap pillows gave us good sleeps the next couple of nights. Excellent fully-equipped kitchen with new, full size appliances, and even a dishwasher. We had a lovely big balcony with two tables and four chairs, and separate access from the main bedroom a bonus. Added bonus was a full size washing machine and dryer which were well used by us. Bathroom was nice and clean. The Wyndham is in a really great location - only a couple of blocks (about 5 mins walk) from the action of Cavill Ave, but far enough away not to be disturbed by noise. Only one block from the beach, and really close to supermarkets, take-aways and restaurants (we highly recommend the little Italian place directly over the road - looked a bit dodgy from the outside, by meals were divine!). Buffet breakfast was pretty average, with very basic items (toast, small selection of fruit, scrambled eggs, hash browns, bacon) and trays were quite often empty, however, for the price, it was still pretty good value for money. Swimming pool was lovely, with a little sandy beach for littlies to enjoy, and long enough for the adults to do some laps. Spa was nice and clean. Outdoor bbq dining area was a great idea, and if staying longer, we definitely would have used it. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at the Wyndham, and would definitely recommend it to family and friends - it was clean, convenient, good value, and the staff were all friendly, and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newhinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I stayed in one of your 2 bedroom apartments while attending a work conference - The fridge was leaking and you immediatly sent someone in to fix it. Customer service was amazing - all amenities were supplied - breath taking views and an amazing luxuary spa in the ensite!

If I was moving to the Gold Coast I would want to live here!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Corina86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed in Wyndham Surfers Paradise for business and it was the best. Location is close to everything; beach, restaurants, night life and theme parks

For the best place to book accommodation please visit: http://biyahengsydneyaustralia.com/

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PinoySydneysider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

When we arrived we were greeted by Gary at the front desk, rude and short. didnt advise where anything was, how breakfast was served or where it was. had to ask all the questions. Signs through out the hotel advise the breakfast is cooked on the BBQ with fried eggs mushrooms and other items.. there was no BBQ in sight there was no fried eggs or mushrooms.. only baked beans, cold bacon and sausages, tomatoes and scrambled eggs. the hash browns tasted like cold oil.
the rooms were very nice. great colors and everything was very clean. we requested a king bed but got two singles pushed together. the balcony was large and plenty of room great view if we didn't have a Ray white sign on our balcony covering the glass where you look out. the ad said absolute ocean view..all we got was a back on a sign that was tied to our balcony. i would stay again but in a better room and higher up. the great point about breakfast was the serving staff were very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEEDEE1307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Spent a night at this fantastic property in July and was very pleasently surprised!! Apart from the location, which is spot on, the property was extremly well decored and maintained which definitely went a long way in proving to be a great overall experience. My compliments to the designers and staff for their fantastic effort!!

Cheers!!

Amit

Room Tip: Try getting an ocean view appartment. Can't best that one!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelovkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,468 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,658 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Property: Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Address: 3018 Surfers Paradise Bvd | (Cnr Markwell Ave), Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Azzura Surfers Paradise Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Surfers Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Surfers Paradise is ideally positioned to explore the brilliant attractions the Gold Coast has to offer.Built in 2009, the 17-storey hotel boasts a fresh, contemporary design. The deluxe, self-contained apartments have been stylishly appointed and offer magnificent views of the surrounding beaches and hinterland. All rooms include iPod docking stations and double glazed glass which assists with the sound and heat transfer for your convenience. Most rooms have Ocean or River and Hinterland views.The hotel has its own ground floor restaurant and cafe precinct and other facilities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, BBQ and recreation deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing