We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be called double standard hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I have lived in this building for nearly 2 years now and find that it has double standards towards hotel guests and residents. I mean I don't expect house keeping and hotel services etc...
What I mean is I have my music up (no louder than a vacuum cleaner) during the weekdays (no later than 7pm) and get a knock on the door telling me to turn it down, I have family over for my birthday for a couple of hours before we go out for dinner on a saturday night (before 8pm) I get a noise complaint?!! But yet the hotel guests can have their music up all hours of the night till early hours in the morning, be as loud as they like, smoke cigarets on their balcony which the smoke comes straight into my lounge room so can't even have the doors open for fresh air, people can be as loud as they like yell and scream in the pool, so have to close the doors again! Where as if we were to behave like that I could imagine it would be a different story!!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sara l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2012

Hi Sara

If you have been asked to turn your music down, it is because a resident or guest close to you has reported it. We cannot hear music from reception on level 1 and do not ask guests/residents to turn it down unless someone has advised us. If there are guests around you and their music is disturbing you, please let us know and we will ask them to turn it down. We do not treat residents any differently to our guests.

If you have any issues please see reception/management or your Rental Manager if you rent through an external agent.

We are here to help and treat all of our guests and residents the same.

If you wish to discuss this further, please see reception.

Thank you

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (755)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

670 - 676 of 756 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2012

we stayed here for four nights from the 2nd to the 6th of feburary! i cannot fault the place, the apartment was a great size and contained everything from washing up liquid to laundry powder! the kitchen had everything you needed. the balcony was huge, it lead out from our bedroom and the living room-we happily had breakfast sitting on the balcony every morning, we had a room with an ocean view and it was a lovely view to wake up to in the morning! the location was perfect, 5 minutes to the beach and 5-10 mins to Cavill Avenue where all the shops, bars, restaurants are. the pool and sauna were also really nice although they were quite busy when we were there. although we didnt take advantage of the BBQ area, i still really liked this facility and it wouldve been nice to have a BBQ one of the evenings if we had more time! the only thing that i can complain about but it didn't bother me too much is that the TV channels didn't work so well, but I guess holidays isn't for watching TV!! the receptionists were very friendly and they helped us book tours/buses etc. All in all, I will definately recommend to friends and hope to return in the near future.

Room Tip: do request an ocean view room, we were accomodated and the view was beautiful-17th floor had an amaz...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank karena1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2012

Dear Karena1987,

Thank you for taking the time to place your lovely review of Wyndham Surfers Paradise on Trip Advisor.

We take pride in our resort and believe we have great rooms, facilities and are in a perfect location. Close enough to town but not right in the 'hustle and bustle'. I am so glad to hear you think the same and enjoyed your stay with us.

If you decide to stay with us again, let us know you are a return guest and we will offer you a further discount

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

The Team at Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

the apartment was in great conditiion with all the facilities that you can ask for. Fully contained kitchen with a dishwasher and laundry facilitys. the bus stop was at the front of the hotel so it easy to get around the place. i would def stay again. the service was great as well

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brigette1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyndhamsp, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Dear Brigette1972,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of our resort on Trip Advisor

We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and our facilities. We take great pride in our resort and it is great to hear when our guests have enjoyed them as much as we do

I have forwarded your review onto all staff to congratulate them on our great service

Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Management
Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We stayed in a 2-bedroom apartment during the Xmas and new year holidays. Here are the likes and dislikes:

Likes
1. Location is near Skypoint and walking distance to the beach, restaurant and shopping.
Fully equipped apartment with dishwasher, washer and dryer, flat screed TV in living room and master bedroom, kitchen utensils.
2. Apartment was very clean. Bathroom was clean.
3. Bed was comfortable.
4. Service is good. The front desk is very helpful to arrange taxi, car rental, restaurant reservations.
5. Apartment is new and you can tell by the modern architecture and internal design.
6. Good for family to stay.

Dislikes
1. Have to pay for wi-fi. Nowadays wi-fi should be free just like the air we breath.
2. No housekeeping unless you rent more than 8 days.
3. Swimming pool water is murky. Maybe too many people during the Xmas/new year holidays.
4. Rooms are small.

Overall, the place has nothing special to remember except maybe the parakeets that dropped by to feed at the balcony in the morning.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trailblazer88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyndhamsp, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Dear Trailblazer88,

Thank you for taking the time to place your review of our resort on Trip Advisor

We appreciate all feedback whether positive or negative as it makes us aware of what areas we need to improve

We are very glad that you enjoyed the location and room facilities. We think we have a great resort and we are thrilled when our guests think the same

The difference between a resort and a hotel is that we are generally cheaper than hotels of the same standard as we do not provide daily servicing and free internet, etc. We keep the rate as low as possible as we do not offer these inclusions. Most guests prefer to stay at resorts as they have all of the extra facilities in the room such as a full kitchen & laundry, and are happy to not receive any servicing. If guests wish to have their room cleaned, we can definitely arrange this at an extra cost or we can replace your towels/amenities/condiments free of charge if requested. Most resorts normally charge for such replacements

Our rooms may not be overly large, however we provide everything that may be required, and very rarely receive any complaints of the size. Compared to most resorts of our standard, the size of our rooms are the same

As we had 120 units occupied over December/January, there were a lot of guests using our facilities. Our maintenance team check the pool on a regular basis everyday and keep it as clean as possible. Our pool is always per Health & Safety guidelines

Aside from the internet, size of the room and pool, we hope you enjoyed your stay with us.

Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future

Kind Regards,

Management
Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

We did not have a reservation when first arriving in Surfers Paradise so we decided to wing it using our experienced "nose" to find a 2BD residence. There are tons of available residences online but for us we like to see what we get prior to spending.

The two bedroom was, ok, 17th floor with a distant ocean view. The biggest problem was that they service the apt. only once a week and not well at all so we felt like we were living rough. Once a week for $249 AUD is some expensive.

The pool area was ALWAYS filthy. The elevators often full with armies of potential clients for the time share options. Buyer beware! Breakfast was just plain bad.

Avoid this one...

P.S. Full disclosure, we were there over Christmas/New Years 2010/2011 the drop down starts only in Feb. 2011

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EskB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wyndhamsp, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Dear EskB,

Thank your taking the time to place a review of our resort and your stay from 1 year ago

We appreciate all feedback whether positive or negative as it makes us aware of which areas need improvement

As we are a resort and not a hotel, we do not offer daily servicing. We keep our rate as low as possible due to not offering the inclusions that a hotel would. When the room is serviced the rubbish is removed, towels are replaced, bed linen is replaced and remade, light bathroom clean, vaccum and mopping of floors, replacement of condiments and amenities. If the service was not completed to our standard, please let us know so we can follow up with housekeeping. We do not know if there are issues unless we have been notified. In the rare occasion the rooms have not been serviced to standard, the cleaners are sent up to re-service the room.

Our public area cleaners work constantly throughout the day from as early as 3am, to ensure our resort is spotless. This includes cleaning of 17 corridors, the large pool and BBQ area, reception, bar & cafe, ground floor, etc. This is a very big job for the small team and they keep up a great standard. As the pool area is occupied by guests all throughout the day, there is always going to be something that needs tidying. Our cleaners roam this area throughout the day and clean constantly. I do apologise if this was not up to standard when you used the pool and BBQ area.

As we have 192 units in the resort including in-house owners, permanent tenants, guests and Worldmark Club Owners, we are constantly busy all through out the day. Unfortunately we cannot help that our lifts are busy which is why the resort was built with 3 rather than 2

When you stayed in February 2011, almost 1 year ago, we had only just implemented our buffet breakfast & breakfast menu. It was only on a trial basis to see if our guests liked the service and to get as much feedback as possible to provide what our guests wanted. After a few months, our breakfast was up and running properly and we have had a full bar/lounge almost every morning for the past year. I apologies that you did not enjoy your breakfast, if you happen to have breakfast with us again you will find that it is now a great success and provides a range of everything

Our high season is the end of December & all of January, where we run at nearly always 100% every night over this period. Because this is high season, our rates are higher than if you were to stay in the mid year. The rates drop again at the very end of January. February although being 'low season' is also a very busy time of year with guests waiting until after the Christmas/New Year rush. Our rates are also determined by the current market - we keep our rates inline with all of the other resorts in Surfers Paradise, and most of the time we end up being cheaper.

I apologies if our resort was not as you expected and if you did not enjoy your stay

Hopefully we can welcome you again in the future so we can show you how great our resort and standard really is

Kind Regards,

Management
Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

We stayed for 2 nights 21st December as a family of 7, in 3 Delux apartments. If we had realised we could have saved the cost of one apartment as advertised as "2 double beds" meant one double bed in 2 rooms. Spacious is the word for the apartments with all facilities, kept clean and smart with wonderful balcony views both inland and towards the Ocean. We could have stayed longer very happily but we had other visits planned within Oz. The resort was superb with easy access to the local attractions which pleased our grandchildren. Our special thanks go to the staff who were without exception, extremely helpful, cheerful and efficient. From our first experience with reception, which included a helpful guided tour from a young lady of the facilities (swimming pool, bar and BBQ area), to being given helpful "tourist information" to aid our short visit, we could find no fault with the staff. Our only minor criticism relates to the cost of internet access, which should be free in all hotels as it is in many hotels around the world, but appears to be an "extra" in most Australian hotels. A minor annoyance for holidaymakers looking to book local attractions as opposed to "expense account" of business people. Rooms had evidence of occupation from previous visitors with minor "scuff marks" on the walls. There is no restaurant but there are many excellent restaurants within easy walking distance (many of which have free wi-fi access). That aside, we are looking forward to a further visit to Wyndham on a future visit to Oz (we visit every other year to family ex-pats).
Anita & John

Room Tip: From our experience, the relatively low extra cost for delux rooms is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beancounter69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Hi Anita & John,

Thank you for taking the time to place your lovely review of our resort on Trip Advisor

We love our resort and think we are in the perfect location and have great facilities. We are so glad to hear you think the same!

As we are a resort and not a hotel, free internet service is something that we do not provide. You will find that most resorts do not offer this these days, whereas hotels still do. However, we provide the service of being able to book ANYTHING you wish, any tours, transport or themepark tickets, even checking you in for your flight. Next time you stay with us, please remember we are here to help you enjoy your stay, and can book anything for you rather than you having to do it yourself.

I have forwarded your review onto all of our staff to thank them for their outstanding service

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Management
Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

My wife and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment on the 13th floor for a week in early December. The rooms are spacious, well appointed and comfortable. The air conditioning in particular was excellent, having separate controls for the bedroom to the living area. our room faced the hinterland rather than the ocean, but the views were still excellent. The staff were generally very friendly and helpful. Our only gripe with our stay was the over zealous attempt by one if the staff members on check in to have us sit through a presentation to sell time share or something like that. We made it very clear to her that we were not interested, though she tried multiple times to encourage us to merry with get at a later time. She even asked if she could contact us later in the day in or room. After declining the offer she did get the message and the remainder of our stay was hassle free. The proximity to quality restaurants and the beach made it an excellent choice. We wouldn't hesitate to start here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AntonRic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2012

Dear AntonRic,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our resort on Trip Advisor

We are so glad to hear your enjoyed our resort and rooms! I am also glad to hear you enjoyed our hinterland view. Most guests tend to request and ocean view, however it is not much of a view of a night time. The hinterland view on the other hand, is beautiful at night.

Thank you for notifying us of the issues regarding our sales staff. As we are a combined property of regular resort rooms and Worldmark Club rooms, our sales staff want everyone to experience the Club and what it has to offer. However in saying that, they should also not be making our guests uncomfortable and pushing them into attending a presentation. We will be following this up with our sales department to ensure all staff are trained thoroughly.

Thank you again for taking the time to post your review, hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future!

Kind Regards,

Management
Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
600 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,717 reviews
0.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,885 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Address: 3018 Surfers Paradise Bvd | (Cnr Markwell Ave), Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Azzura Surfers Paradise Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £74 - £248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Surfers Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Surfers Paradise is ideally positioned to explore the brilliant attractions the Gold Coast has to offer.Built in 2009, the 17-storey hotel boasts a fresh, contemporary design. The deluxe, self-contained apartments have been stylishly appointed and offer magnificent views of the surrounding beaches and hinterland. All rooms include iPod docking stations and double glazed glass which assists with the sound and heat transfer for your convenience. Most rooms have Ocean or River and Hinterland views.The hotel has its own ground floor restaurant and cafe precinct and other facilities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, BBQ and recreation deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing