We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical 4 star complex”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A typical 4 star complex”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We booked a room thorugh Wotif for a friends birthday in GC over the weekend. Was very impressed with the greetings and then the tour of the complex by a "hostess" which was a good start. Our one bedroom unit had all requirements of a 4 star resort. Also was clean, roomy and airy. We had lovely hinterland views and the balcony was spacious and equpped with decent chairs. The only downer was that I asked for two single beds but we received a split-king bed. We could have requested the bed be split up or we coud have done it ourselves but due to time constraints and tiredness we decided just to crash.

We did not get the time to use any of the resorts facilities like the pool, spa, gym, BBQ nor the restaurants so cannot comment but looked good anyway. Security is tight as the card can only take you to the floor you are booked for.

Car parking is tight but that is normal in most resorts. We ended up parking outside on the street on Saturday night as the carpark was full when we returned in the early hours of the morning.

Pleasant stay overall.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hash2602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Dear Hash2602,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor.

We are glad to hear your enjoyed your stay and were impressed by our service and hotel.

I apologise that your beds were not made to 2 single beds as you requested. This is seldom an issue for us as we arrange all beds to the requests, however unfortunately this time yours must have been missed for which I am very sorry.

In regards to the parking, unfortunately of a weekend the basement fills up quite quickly. We do have enough parking for 1 car per apartment, however we have found guests are parking 2 or more cars in which unfortunately we currently cannot control. This is something we are aware of and are brainstorming to see if this can be stopped.

Apart from the above, I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay regardless and look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    241
    78
    42
    27
See reviews for
272
219
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Just back from a week staying in the Wyndham, Suerfers Paradise and can not express enough how fantastic our stay was. We rented a two bedroomed appartment, it was tastefully decorated and roomy, we were in a corner appartment on the 16th floor- so had views to die for! It was very quiet inside and I had the best sleeps all week that I have had in months! The staff were helpful and the vanilla slice in the cafe was delish! No internet in the rooms, but was not a problem to connect down stairs in the foyer and at the same time enjoy a Latte! The bus stop was very close by. Loved the ease of connecting to our floor with the key that took you only to your floor, that ensured safety, infact it had a very safe feeling all round.
Great restaurants right beside the appartment, enjoyed chinese and pasta. The small convienence store over the road was pretty much all we needed to buy from, for our meals in. Fantasic location. Very clean and appartment was serviced on our fourth day, with fresh linen all round. AC was very efficent.
We both decided that we will definetely stay at the Wyndham any time we are back in Surfers, totally impressed. Can't wait!

Room Tip: A corner suites has amazing views, out to the ocean and out to the river and hinterland, always some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Linda608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Stayed there for a week. Got special of the web to stay there - when checking asked for a beach facing room. Got told that they were kept for guests who pay more. Disappointed that they didn't have an option for me to pay more. Hate it when hotels lure you with marketing and keep better rooms for others to maximize revenue and margins.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hitesh_khatri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, Director of Sales at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 16 July 2012
We at Wyndham Surfers Paradise strive to meet all requests to give guests the optimum experience. Unfortunately in times of high demand not all requests can be met.
Ocean view rooms are a highly sort after commodity and as such preference given to those who have paid to guarantee these rooms. Ocean view rooms can be secured at the time of booking or check-in if available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

it was the queens birthday long weekend, rainy and horrible and cold! but the standard room was so comfy and clean. Only downside really trashy neighbours partying into the night. we complained to reception and it was kinda fixed but trash will be trash. if you let ten 16 yr olds pack into a posh apartment, thats what you will get. we were on the lowest floor. no view, nothing. i mean could have gotten a higher floor, didnt seem like full occupancy at the least. breakfast was included. very basic, could be 100 times better. please replenish your stock, F&B staff. customers are paying for it! Rooms are really comfy and neat. nice central heating, good bathroom and shower. over-all a good stay, but weather really let us down. couldnt use the pool or anything. lower floor means heaps of noise and our bad luck trashy neighbours.

Room Tip: pls ask for a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank palls19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

We got a 2 bed apartment which consisted of a master bedroom with king bed (2 singles together), walk in 'his and hers' robe through to reasonably sized ensuite. The 2nd bedroom consisted of 2 single beds with mirrored wardrobe. Both bedrooms faced the ocean with sliding doors in each room out to balcony.

Main bathroom is a good size but had a shower over the bath, which I detest. Also the fan turned on with the light and could be a bit noisy.

The living areas were of good size with a nice sized kitchen, seperate laundry off kitchen and open living/lounge all facing balcony. Floor to ceiling glass also made for a nice bright room if you wished or blackout curtains if you wanted privacy. The staff had made up the sofa bed for us which was nice, so few take note of no. of guests nowadays. We were on the fourth floor and had pretty good ocean views, through building gaps, but good all the same.

Upsides: far enough away from cavill (opposite Q1) to be away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to walk to. Proximity to restaurants, convenience stores etc good. Also free untimed/unmetered parking in opposite side street.
Pretty new so everything is modern and clean with features such as soft closing toilet seats.
Well stocked crockery and plenty of towels for everyone. We thought the beds were comfortable but sofa bed tended to roll into middle.

Downsides: dishwasher was hopeless at cleaning anything. The fridge/freezer drawers and shelves were very flimsy. The saucepans provided were useless and everything just burnt to them despite every effort.

The hotel is not serviced, fine for our two night stay but hate to think of the state of the room after longer than that with 6 people. Also had to ensure all rubbish was taken out, all dishes washed and generally clean. Was charged min $25 if not up to standard. Also disliked that you'd be charged $3 per towel for a new one. Only provided enough for bathing, not for pool.
Would also be charged if smoke detectors were set off. We were quite worried at one stage, despite having the balcony doors open the smoke was quite bad, due to useless exhaust fan and cheap saucepans.

When we arrived we checked out all the rooms and you could see every wipe mark on the shower glass from housekeeping and the main bedroom smelt like eggs, thankfully it aired out.

Also could only get one car park despite having a two bedroom apartment booked for 6 people. I was forced to run around to surrounding hotels asking to park there with no luck due to being school holidays. After much wandering I found the side street opposite the hotel that had the untimed/unmetered parking. I just wish the hotel staff had told me about it when I was asking for help on where else I could park. In there defence they did tell us prior to arrival that they were fully booked and could only provide one car park. I found this hard to believe as many people fly in, not drive, so they obviously don't have enough car spaces for each room or others had been allowed extra car spaces prior to us booking.

Overall I would go back due to its good
size, proximity and being new. Don't get me wrong we really enjoyed our stay but things could be improved with minor adjustments.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucypoocy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2012

We stayed in Wyndham for 4 nights under the special Gold Coast marathon package. We got the 1-bedroom apartment with fabulous sea views so that was great. There's a huge balcony to sit and enjoy the view. We found the apartment to be clean and homely with just everything that a family needs - fridge, microwave, oven, TV with DVD/CD player, dishwasher, laundry room etc. The place looked new. The Italian restaurant below serves delicious pasta.

Since it is an apartment, there's no housekeeping services available so we pretty much have to clean up ourselves, which is no big deal.

Service at the reception is cordial and efficient. We find Ben particularly friendly and very helpful.

It is about 5-10 mins walk to Cavill Avenue but there are convenience stores neaby the apartment. Overall, a great stay and I would definitely come back.

Room Tip: Get the sea-facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisatgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Lisatgg,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review on Trip Advisor

We believe we have a great hotel and great staff and we are so glad to hear you think the same.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding Ben, he continues to provide outstanding customer service and for that we have congratulated him again.

I hope the rest of your group enjoyed their stay, and we look forward to welcoming you for the next Marathon!

Kind Regards,

The Team at Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We shared a 2 bedroom apartment in June 2012 with another couple over the weekend, and had a fantastic time. The view from our floor 16 apartment was amazing, being on the corner we had views over the ocean and looking south down the coast. Car parking in the basement and buffet breakfasts were all included, and staff were helpful and friendly. The apartment itself was very well appointed, we will be returning!

Room Tip: Try to get a higher floor with ocean view. Well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nz_rachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear NZ_Rachel,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review on Trip Advisor.

We are so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you will be returning.

If you book direct, let us know you are a return guest so we can offer you a discount.

We look forward to welcoming you again!

Kind Regards,

The Team at Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,469 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,232 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Property: Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Address: 3018 Surfers Paradise Bvd | (Cnr Markwell Ave), Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Azzura Surfers Paradise Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#13 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Surfers Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Surfers Paradise is ideally positioned to explore the brilliant attractions the Gold Coast has to offer.Built in 2009, the 17-storey hotel boasts a fresh, contemporary design. The deluxe, self-contained apartments have been stylishly appointed and offer magnificent views of the surrounding beaches and hinterland. All rooms include iPod docking stations and double glazed glass which assists with the sound and heat transfer for your convenience. Most rooms have Ocean or River and Hinterland views.The hotel has its own ground floor restaurant and cafe precinct and other facilities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, BBQ and recreation deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing