We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad for a first time stayer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Not too bad for a first time stayer”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Booked a one bedroom apartment for the first time at Wyndham. It was good, just like what's been described by fellow contributors on Tripadvisor. There's lightrail construction right in front of the hotel (and many more places, actually) but not affecting my stay with the noise. If you arrive by car, just need time to get adjusted with the detours and closed roads, but it's not too troublesome. Took me just a day to get used to it. Cavill Avenue is within walking distance and don't forget to visit the night market along the beach (around Cavill Avenue) that opens every Wed, Fri and Sunday, 4-9pm.

Car spaces were plenty and secure for guests, and they're also complimentary. The front desk staff were friendly and helpful. Made you feel at ease, which I appreciated very much every time I stayed in a hotel.

I booked a one bedroom apartment and got one located on the 15th floor. The view was amazing. One thing that irked me was the lifts, sometimes took ages to reach our floor and when you're staying on the 15th floor, stairs was not really an attractive option unless you have to.

The inside of the apartment was modern and clean, with normal wear and tear from frequent use. I knew some reviews mentioned that theirs was not clean, but mine was spotless and everything just perfect.

Received a discount card for breakfast, made full use of it. The variety was not large but more than adequate for a good meal (scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, hash brown, pastries, muffins, etc.) and the price was affordable compared to other hotels where they would charge you more than $20 per person.

There's a pool with sandy beach and a spa. My boys enjoyed going for a swim every single day that we stayed there. It would be helpful if extra towels were available for use on site as a complement instead of being charged. There was also a space for barbecue and seats for a meal and a chat.

Would I return ? Yes, definitely. It's a great place at affordable price. Keep up the good work!

PS : Another thing that bothered me was one morning on the weekend, I was sitting near the pool waiting for my children, trying to have a relax time but you couldn't because there were so many different "ushers" going in and out showing new guests around the hotel. Not sure whether they were staff of the hotel. Anything can be done about this?

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank girlstuckinsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear girlstuckinsydney,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback to us regarding your recent stay here at Wyndham Surfers Paradise. We greatly appreciate your comments, as they help us in our effort to continually improve our level of service.

I will be passing on your review to our team as I am sure they will love hearing about the wonderful stay you had.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you encountered during your time by our pool. We will follow up with our staff to ensure that our in house guests’ enjoyment and privacy are not being impeded by showing new guests around our facilities.

Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    326
    246
    79
    41
    28
See reviews for
278
221
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We would recommend satying at Wyndham Surfers Parardise to anyone. Its so clean, quiet and everyone is so friendly. We just love going there it is the perfect escape for us. Its is also so convenient to everything you should need.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Mel2769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 27 October 2013
Dear Mel2769

Firstly, apologies for the delay reply and secondly thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback to us regarding your recent stay here at Wyndham Surfers Paradise

We appreciate positive feedback about our property and staff and are thrilled you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. It is great to know that we are delivering on our Count On Me! service promise and it is very rewarding for the team when we share this feedback directly with them.

Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Wyndham Surfers Paradise.

Kind Regards,

Sam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here with the family,short walk to the beach and Cavill Ave and only a short drive to all the theme parks.
The kids loved the heated pool and spa and very close to every different types of food outlets ranging from Maccas and Subway through to Indian,Italian and Thai. Highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank craigw1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear craigw1812,

Thank you for taking the time to place a review of our resort on TripAdvisor

We are very glad to hear you all enjoyed your stay and that our beach sand pool was a popular attraction! We take great pride in our resort and it is great to hear when our guests have enjoyed them as much as we do.

The choice of cuisine within a short walk is endless and we hope you had the opportunity to try them all! If not we hope to see you and the kids back soon to continue your culinary (and swimming) adventures.

Kind Regards,

Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Beautiful, relaxing and elegant rooms, service and destination. Family Funtime mixed with space for two to spend romantic time together. Will return to make more memorable moments. 5 star service with 5 star decor. A luxurious home away from home

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Dear Nicole M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our staff and facilities - I'm pleased to hear that we are delivering on our Count On Me! service promise.
We are always overjoyed when our guests experience the "home away from home" feeling, and we couldn't think of a better comment for a hotel that is trying to do just that.

We are so glad to hear we have catered to your needs and thank you again for your wonderful review.

We look forward to hopefully welcoming you again in the future

Kind Regards,

The Team at Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Stayed here recently in a 1 Bedroom Apartment for a 5 night stay and would not hesitate to return here again. It's in a fantastic location - only a quick 5 minute stroll to Cavill Avenue and a 20 minute walk to Broadbeach. You avoid all the hustle and bustle of the main drag of Surfers and also avoid all the noise that comes with it!! But still in a great spot to walk everywhere. Plenty of handy shops nearby with convenience store, bottle shop, etc. so you don't have to go far for supplies.
The rooms were really fresh and plenty big enough with all the mod cons. Great kitchen - huge!
The staff were really helpful and friendly. They will offer you the "time share" spiel when you check-in but we just politely (yet firmly) declined and were not asked again so no dramas here at all.
Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristyw83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Dear aussie23_melbourne ,

Thank you for taking the time to post your lovely review on Trip Advisor.

I'm so glad to hear you had a wonderful stay with us and by the sounds of it, thoroughly enjoyed the Location of Wyndham Surfers Paradise. We may be a bit biast; however, we love our location as well - Close enough to the heart of it all, yet just far enough away to relax!

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding our apartments - I'm pleased to hear that we are providing the holiday experience our guests’ deserve.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Kind Regards,
The Team at Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Great location, easy walk to the hussle and bussle.
Rooms are a great size, modern and had everything you need but they are dirty! Hasn't been dusted in a long time, dust all over the bedside tables, dirty ovens, glass on the table wasn't clean, hairs were in the bathroom on arrival.
Beds are rock hard, thank goodness for the spa to massage my back.
Front Desk service was great, friendly and helpful but I did get called most days to see if I was able to attend a 90 minute talk about the Wyndham Properties, sorry but I am on holiday I just want to relax and enjoy my time away, this was way over board!
If you can clean your rooms then I would recommend this property.

Room Tip: High Floor with a Ocean View, beautiful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ky8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Ky8,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your comments, as they help us in our effort to continually improve our level of service.

I am so sorry to hear of the cleaning issues that you endured during your stay, please accept my sincere apologies for our lack of attention to detail and cleanliness of your unit. The cleaning issues that you have reported are completely unacceptable and I will be discussing this with housekeeping. As you may see from a couple of reviews posted this week, the cleanliness of our apartments has not been up to standard we expect to be providing to our guests. Please rest assured that we are viewing this with the utmost importance and currently have our management staff inspecting rooms prior to guest arrival to ensure that these issues are not encountered again.

We want you to know how much we appreciate your visit to the resort, and how much we value you as a guest. We hope that you will give us another opportunity at Wyndham Surfers Paradise in the future as I am confident we will exceed your expectations. Thank you again for your comments.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We booked a two bedroom two bathroom apartment for our family holiday at Wyndham Surfers Paradise. I recommend this to all families. Lots of space and a full kitchen and laundry which really helps when you have young children.
Free carpark too within the building and there is also a pool and gym.
The location wasn't the greatest in that it wasn't beach front but it was still very close to everything we needed and in walking distance to a supermarket and restaurants.
The staff were friendly and efficient although we did have to ask for a baby cot to be put into our room when we arrived even though this was requested in the booking.

There was one thing however that did niggle me - the oven had not been cleaned prior to our stay - it was still dirty with crumbs and dropped food from the previous guests and a few surfaces in the kitchen such as the fridge, had not been wiped down. We had to reclean this ourselves upon arrival.

Room Tip: Ocean facing rooms best - otherwise the view is not very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xenia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Dear Xenia F,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. We greatly appreciate your comments, as they help us in our effort to continually improve our level of service.

I am glad to hear that you and your family had a great stay with us and hopefully the lack of attention to detail has not marred your holiday experience. Please rest assured that I will be following up on this with the housekeeping team.

I will also follow up on the cot with the reception team to ensure our staff are following through with all of our guests requests.

We want you to know how much we appreciate your visit to the resort, and how much we value you as a guest. We are looking forward to hopefully welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,518 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#12 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,255 reviews
0.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,684 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Property: Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Address: 3018 Surfers Paradise Bvd | (Cnr Markwell Ave), Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Azzura Surfers Paradise Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Surfers Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Surfers Paradise is ideally positioned to explore the brilliant attractions the Gold Coast has to offer.Built in 2009, the 17-storey hotel boasts a fresh, contemporary design. The deluxe, self-contained apartments have been stylishly appointed and offer magnificent views of the surrounding beaches and hinterland. All rooms include iPod docking stations and double glazed glass which assists with the sound and heat transfer for your convenience. Most rooms have Ocean or River and Hinterland views.The hotel has its own ground floor restaurant and cafe precinct and other facilities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, BBQ and recreation deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing