We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will definitely stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 9 February 2014 via mobile

My partner and I recently completed a 4 night stay at Wyndham. We were extremely happy with the apartment and service provided by the hotel staff. While the rooms are not serviced (which we prefer) unless you stay for a longer period the hotel staff make every effort to help you out during your stay. Location is perfect for going out and eating in surfers and also for travelling around as the bus stop is less than a 2 minute walk.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Lucyde12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Hello Lynda S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we really do appreciate it. We would love to welcome you back to our beautiful property very soon. Feel free to drop us a line at surfers@wyn.com or call us on 0755 796 520 to speak with our Reservations team if you are travelling to the Gold Coast again.

Until then....

Kind Regards,

Wyndham Surfers Paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (731)
There are newer reviews for Wyndham Surfers Paradise
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

501 - 507 of 731 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

I stayed with my family in their 2 bedroom apartment.. It was 17th floor .. the view were great, it looked nice as we entered but it all ended there ... The furniture looked ancient and broken ( I found a nut from the table and had to fix it back so that it doesnt fall on my kid , there was a metal thing hanging out from lounge which actually caused laceration to my leg). Service is non existent.
They charged me quiet a bit of money but they did not service even once during our 4 day stay.. If you need any replacement only way you MIGHT get it is by going down to reception yourself and even then you are not guaranteed. Compared Oaks, Essence, Quest etc staying here felt like living in a third world country hotel ( well rather I think they are even better than Wyndham).

Room Tip: If you unfortunately do decide to stay here go for the top floors and ocean facing...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrGNagaraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2015

Hello DrGNagaraj,

Thank you for your review, apologies to have missed it from so long ago.

We would love to invite you back to experience the true Wyndham standard, in which we have built upon over the recent years since your last stay with us.

We always open the door for our previous guests to come back and allow us to right our wrongs of the past due to an experience of a shortfall.

Please feel free to contact Chris Walker, on 0755 796 520, or surfers@wyn.com.

Would love to welcome you back during your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Kind Regards,

Wyndham Surfers Paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

**Will never stay here again and would not recommend this hotel to anyone**

Initially when you walk into the room, it is nice and modern. However when I decided to try out the sofa bed which was already made, it was wet and smelled funky. We called reception who came into and felt the wet bed also. They sent housekeeping to come and change the bedding. The mattress was left while the housekeeper went to get new bedding. It was also wet and smelled of urine. We called reception again to advise them. Took them a while to take the mattress away so we were left smelling and staring at this urinated mattress. Finally it was gone and replaced with a roll away bed. We had to unplug the fridge in the middle of the night as it was extremely loud as was the constant wind noise whistling through the crack of the door.

The next morning when we expressed how annoying it was to have hopped into a peed bed, the duty manager did agree and admit how unacceptable it was she was unwilling to offer any kind of compensation. No discount, no breakfast, nothing. She would not negotiate anything and advised that a rollaway bed was provided and we still got to sleep in the room. This hotel didn't seem worried about customer satisfaction.

Paid $246 p/n to sleep in a peed in bed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank CarrieBleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2015

Hello CarrieBleh,

Thank you for your review, apologies to have missed it from so long ago.

We would love to invite you back to experience the true Wyndham standard, in which we have built upon over the recent years since your last stay with us.

We always open the door for our previous guests to come back and allow us to right our wrongs of the past due to an experience of a shortfall.

Please feel free to contact Chris Walker, on 0755 796 520, or surfers@wyn.com.

Would love to welcome you back during your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Kind Regards,

Wyndham Surfers Paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

In summary: Poor experience in a timeshare.

In detail: If I had realised this was a timeshare resort at the time of making a reservation I wouldn't have let my travel agent book it.

We stayed at the Wyndham for a week after Christmas.

There were lots of little things that together took away from our experience. No one single thing was enough by itself, but cumulatively they were really annoying. The attitude of the staff made us feel like second class citizens. It started at check in.

We were allocated a room on the 4th floor. I had requested a high floor and an ocean view at the time of booking several months before we arrived. We got neither. I accept that we were staying at a busy time. But the response I got from the woman at reception was not believable. It went along the lines of "because you're staying for 8 nights we couldn't possibly do that."

After check in we were greeted by a host who was really only interested in getting us to the Wyndham's timeshare presentation. She added no value. All she did was delay my family getting to our room. Then we received a call asking us to attend a sales session for the time share. Surely saying no once should be enough?

The apartment wasn't clean. It demonstrated a general need for more elbow grease to be used and more attention to detail. I would swear we left the apartment cleaner than we found it.

There were cigarette butts on the balcony. The Wyndham allows guests to smoke on the balconies of the apartments and encourages it by supplying ash trays under the kitchen sink.

The queen size bed was one of those horrible ones where they push two single beds together which gives a hard ridge down the middle of the bed.

Then there was the smell from the garbage chute on our floor for the whole week. It looked like someone had blocked the chute with cushions or a pillow. I reported the issue and the blockage was cleared initially. But the smell continued as the chute was continuously full. The staff blamed the council for not clearing the garbage often enough. Said it happens every time the Wyndham gets busy. Surely if they know the problem they could hire a garbage contractor during the busy times. At least the smell didn't come into our room.

On the first 6 days of our stay we borrowed a towel at reception to use in the pool, no problem. On the 7th day we were told that we had to pay to borrow them. Only a small one off charge. But surely we could have been told earlier?

The underground car park filled up on New Year's Eve. Other guests were allowing friends to tailgate them through the security gate. Again, I'm sure it's something the Wyndham staff knew about and could have made some effort to prevent by hiring a security guard for that night.

On our final day we came back from our last trip to the beach to find our room key didn't work. I went to reception to get it fixed to be told "Oh you booked through a travel agent. Your check out time is 10am." The implication was that there was a later check out time for timeshare owners. My mood didn't improve when she charged me $40 to stay until noon. I was even less impressed when I got back to our room to find our welcome letter clearly said check out time was noon. At least they reversed the extra charges at check out.

On the plus side the Wyndham is close to the beach and right in the middle of Surfers Paradise. The apartments are reasonably well fitted out.

However there are plenty of other places to choose from.

I will give them credit. After we checked out I received an online survey. I was quite frank in my response about how poor our experience had been. An assistant manager made the effort to send an email back to me to apologise. I won't be rushing back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank Oshanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2015

Hello Oshanda,

Thank you for your review, apologies to have missed it from so long ago.

We would love to invite you back to experience the true Wyndham standard, in which we have built upon over the recent years since your last stay with us.

We always open the door for our previous guests to come back and allow us to right our wrongs of the past due to an experience of a shortfall.

Please feel free to contact Chris Walker, on 0755 796 520, or surfers@wyn.com.

Would love to welcome you back during your next visit to the Gold Coast.

Kind Regards,

Wyndham Surfers Paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed in a deluxe 1 bedroom apartment on the 13th floor. Unfortunately, due to our late booking, an ocean view apartment wasn't available. But the view on the hinterland from our room was equally stunning! We even got to see the sunset from our balcony.
The room was huge and very clean and had all the mod-cons. It even had a fully equiped modern kitchen and a laundry with washing machine, dryer and detergent. Our room had a huge balcony that we could access from the living room and the bedroom. The sliding doors are made from good quality glass so you don't hear the traffic noise when they're closed.
It's only a short walk to the beach and into the centre, but far away enough from noisy nightlife.
The hotel offers free off street parking in their garage, but for vehicles with limited height.
Breakfast at the hotel is convenient but doesn't have a lot of variety. There are lots of restaurants in walking distance of the hotel to have breakfast though.
Staff is very friendly and deliver excellent service. It takes a while before you get your bond back, we've checked out 3 days ago and still haven't got it back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Hello Lynda S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we really do appreciate it. We would love to welcome you back to our beautiful property very soon. Feel free to drop us a line at surfers@wyn.com or call us on 0755 796 520 to speak with our Reservations team if you are travelling to the Gold Coast again.

Until then....

Kind Regards,

Wyndham Surfers Paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We absolutely loved the apartment we stayed in at the Wyndham Surfers Paradise - one large double-bedroom with an ensuite bathroom, another smaller bedroom with two double-beds, wonderfully-equipped open plan kitchen facing into the lounge which also featured a sofa bed. There was even a laundry with washer and dryer, providing the perfect boogie board storage. Parking was free and very welcome. The apartments have a nice swimming pool with a little sand "beach" area, but it was a little shaded because of the surrounding buildings. My only complaint is the lack of service - the apartments are not cleaned at all, and we were even forced to remove all the rubbish from the bins before we left (sorry, but why can't the cleaner just throw away a bag of rubbish?). Also be aware that there is a hard-sell focus on timeshare - if you are not interested just be firm.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor - we were on the third and had horrible views of the tram line construction
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelieL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Hello Lynda S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we really do appreciate it. We would love to welcome you back to our beautiful property very soon. Feel free to drop us a line at surfers@wyn.com or call us on 0755 796 520 to speak with our Reservations team if you are travelling to the Gold Coast again.

Until then....

Kind Regards,

Wyndham Surfers Paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

My partner and I stayed in a 1 bedroom deluxe room in January 2014 for one night. Our room was on the 13th floor overlooking the ocean. The room was great, the kitchen has everything that opens and shuts, an oven, cook tops, full-size fridge, dishwasher, pots and pans. The loungeroom was nice with a good LCD TV and a dining table. We had a king size bed, with a large wardrobe and a big glass sliding door out onto the ocean-view deck. We even had our own washing machine, laundry sink and dryer. The bathroom was tastefully done, with a nice big shower at one end. The balcony had nice glass banisters and went the whole length of the loungeroom and our bedroom. The glass sliding doors are double glazed, so when they are shut you cannot hear any noise from outside. We had two AC controls in our rooms, so we could adjust the temperature to what we wanted. We felt really spoiled here, as the staff were very friendly on arrival and made you feel special. I asked one of the staff members if we could have late checkout. Due to the hotel being booked out in peak holiday season this was not possible, however I was impressed to be told that they could issue me with a temporary key card even after we had checked out. This meant that we could use the luggage room, pool, gym and carpark after the 10am checkout time. This would be useful for guests who have flights later in the day, so they can enjoy the features of this resort just that little bit longer. There are a number of resturants downstairs. We picked the italian resturant Alfresco. It was rated #5 for area, and the food was lovely. You also get a discount if you are staying at Wyndham. We will be back because one night just wasnt enough.

Room Tip: When booking, ask if you can have an ocean-view room.. as some of the rooms are on the western side...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2014

Hello Lynda S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we really do appreciate it. We would love to welcome you back to our beautiful property very soon. Feel free to drop us a line at surfers@wyn.com or call us on 0755 796 520 to speak with our Reservations team if you are travelling to the Gold Coast again.

Until then....

Kind Regards,

Wyndham Surfers Paradise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,602 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
#13 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#6 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
3,293 reviews
0.8 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Address: 3018 Surfers Paradise Bvd | (Cnr Markwell Ave), Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Azzura Surfers Paradise Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £76 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Surfers Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Surfers Paradise is ideally positioned to explore the brilliant attractions the Gold Coast has to offer.Built in 2009, the 17-storey hotel boasts a fresh, contemporary design. The deluxe, self-contained apartments have been stylishly appointed and offer magnificent views of the surrounding beaches and hinterland. All rooms include iPod docking stations and double glazed glass which assists with the sound and heat transfer for your convenience. Most rooms have Ocean or River and Hinterland views.The hotel has its own ground floor restaurant and cafe precinct and other facilities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, BBQ and recreation deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing