We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor customer relationships”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Ranked #11 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Bendigo, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poor customer relationships”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

The 8 days that we as a family stayed at this resort was very enjoyable but terribly soured in the last hour of our stay!
Being stuck in a lift is bad enough but to be trapped with a 14 month old toddler is terrible.
The Wyndham's staff had no idea of the situation,three different people communicated with us via the lift's emergency communications facility but each of them gave us different updates of what was happening to free us. When we were finally released by a very apologetic technician from the Lift company it was with great relief. The heat inside the lift was unbelievable. Luckily 35 minutes saw us all survive...including the young fella.
When we finally arrived at checkout, the staff were absolutely terrible. They showed no empathy towards us and only apologized when we asked why they hadn't! Granted,it was not their fault because of the lift breaking down,but a little compassion when people are under a bit of pressure doesn't hurt. After all it is the lasting impressions that count.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Larry W,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on Trip Advisor

Firstly we would like to sincerely apologise for the lift breaking down while you and your family were inside - this can be a terrifying situation and to read that you were stuck for 35 minutes is mortifying. The assistance button in the lift is directed straight to the lift service company - they are to inform the property that someone is stuck although sometimes we do not find out until a technician arrives. This is a serious concern for us and we will be discussing this with them again to ensure we are always notified. It is disappointing that our staff were not empathetic at what is always a horrible situation. Without making excuses and without the full information, it is possible they were not aware that you were the guests stuck although this does not excuse them not being empathetic once you advised them of the situation. For this, we extend our sincerest apologies

We would love to welcome you back and hope that this does not deter you from staying with us again

Thank you again for your review

Kind Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    235
    75
    41
    23
See reviews for
262
209
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Location, location, location! Beautiful ocean views, close to shops and restaurants and a view to die for. Floor to ceiling windows, spacious, clean and two bathrooms for our family of four was an absolute bonus.
Negative points: pool area is small and the sand is pointless?! One morning I noticed there was a green hue to the sand (not good)
The restaurant smelt of stale fat.
The strange balcony whereby someone could come onto your area by climbing over.

Room Tip: Get a sea view on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Hello Lynda S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we really do appreciate it. We would love to welcome you back to our beautiful property very soon. Feel free to drop us a line at surfers@wyn.com or call us on 0755 796 520 to speak with our Reservations team if you are travelling to the Gold Coast again.

Until then....

Kind Regards,

Wyndham Surfers Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

This is our second time to stay here, I just love our spacious room (more like an apartment), big lounge/ dining area overlooking the beach, in room laundry facilities and good sized bathroom. The fully equipped kitchen meant we didn't have to eat out all the time. It was close enough to Cavill Avenue (the main shopping and entertainment strip) but away from all the noise of revellers at night. Our big balcony was great so as the swimming pool, spa, gym, and bbq area. The room is not serviced everyday but if you're staying for 7 nights or more, you get a mid stay service. We will come back again..

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandM26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Hello Lynda S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we really do appreciate it. We would love to welcome you back to our beautiful property very soon. Feel free to drop us a line at surfers@wyn.com or call us on 0755 796 520 to speak with our Reservations team if you are travelling to the Gold Coast again.

Until then....

Kind Regards,

Wyndham Surfers Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

I have just returned from a great 3 day weekend with my wife and 3 grandchildren at the Wyndham resort hotel in Surfers Paradise, check in was smooth and efficient, room (a 2 bedroom apartment) was spacious and well appointed with fantastic views. Location is very good, amenities are first class (pool, bbq area etc)
Room was spotlessly clean.
Plenty of eateries nearby and only a 5 minute strll to Caville Ave and the patrolled beach.
We'll be back

Room Tip: northern corner rooms are great, ocean and city lights view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Hello Lynda S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we really do appreciate it. We would love to welcome you back to our beautiful property very soon. Feel free to drop us a line at surfers@wyn.com or call us on 0755 796 520 to speak with our Reservations team if you are travelling to the Gold Coast again.

Until then....

Kind Regards,

Wyndham Surfers Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

A long weekend away from Melbourne in the Sun. Hotel is in a great locations right next to the Q1 tower. Room was very large with a view of the hinterland and over looking the pool. Very clean and well appointed with everything you need to cook and dine for yourself. Reception staff were friendly and help plan out what we should see. Realy enjoyed the stay for our first time at a Wyndham Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarathonManMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Hello Lynda S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we really do appreciate it. We would love to welcome you back to our beautiful property very soon. Feel free to drop us a line at surfers@wyn.com or call us on 0755 796 520 to speak with our Reservations team if you are travelling to the Gold Coast again.

Until then....

Kind Regards,

Wyndham Surfers Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed Mid Feb on a Friday night as was on coast to watch golf. One bedroom apartment good size large living space,clean, furniture was good,large balcony overlooking hinterland. Laundry area was good size would be good for long stay.
Staff were friendly and well trained. Location is good close to everything. Restaurants downstairs were good not too touristy bottle-shop across the road was a bonus. Pool & spa area was clean BBQ area good size. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Hello Lynda S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we really do appreciate it. We would love to welcome you back to our beautiful property very soon. Feel free to drop us a line at surfers@wyn.com or call us on 0755 796 520 to speak with our Reservations team if you are travelling to the Gold Coast again.

Until then....

Kind Regards,

Wyndham Surfers Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Room #1704

Very impressed. $189 per night bought my a guaranteed top floor apartment with ocean view in Surfers Paradise, which is one of the largest tourist destinations in Australia. Now, if you don't *need* the top floor and view guaranteed you can pay $20 less per night and hope for the best. For me i'd rather pay up and enjoy.

On arrival I was presented with two free DVD hire, one free breakfast and free WiFi for 7 days. Not bad at all!

The apartment was very spacious with full kitchen including oven, microwave and full sized fridge. Large shower with room for two and full balcony for both bedroom and main room. Washing machine and dryer. Everything was very clean. I'd have to say it's the best apartment i've stayed in within Australia. Hugely worth the price. To give you an idea, I stayed at the Watermark hotel as well across the road for $10 less and the Wyndham is miles ahead.

The best points for me was the silence. Double glazed windows, thick walls and heavy doors. I couldn't hear anything when everything was shut, which is how it should be. Another thing the Watermark should have but doesn't. But that's for another review :)

Other reviews have noted the 'hard sell' the Wyndham puts on their timeshare. At check-in I was offered to go for the 90 minute presentation and in return get two free tickets to Dreamworld which is worth $180. Really that's not bad, so we said we'd think about it. We ended up getting half price tickets via our car hire (Avis) so we just used that instead. We didn't hear anything more from the Wyndham until 7 days later when they called the room and asked since we were thinking about if we'd like to join them downstairs for the presentation. I declined and they said have a good day. That's not a hard sell. That's just being polite! Didn't bother me at all.

Now this is a review site, so I need to pick on four 'bad' points.
1. The bed was two singles put together. Come on guys, this shouldn't happen at a four star hotel.
2. While there was a TV in the main room, there wasn't one in the bedroom. I like falling asleep to the districts TV shows on holiday and was surprised that there wasn't one, especially when there are fittings to the wall for the antenna connection right where the TV would go.
3. The balcony while having great views did not feel safe because the way the balcony works is that it's one continuing balcony across the entire floor. So while there are dividers, your next door neighbour if they were game enough could jump it from their balcony to yours. I doubt this would ever happen due to the large fall to your death but I still didn't feel comfortable going to sleep with the balcony doors open.
4. This is not really a bad point just a bit disappointed. I wanted to stay a further night but all rooms were taken apart from a 2 bedroom that night, which would've been fine apart from it being $289 per night when I was currently paying $189. Now it would've been nice to be offered a discount seeing as I had already spent 10 nights but alas. Am I asking too much?

Overall, very pleasant, of course i'd go back!

Room Tip: You can pay $20 extra per night to be guaranteed a high room with whatever view you prefer. This bou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VippiN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 2 December 2014
Hello Lynda S,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review, we really do appreciate it. We would love to welcome you back to our beautiful property very soon. Feel free to drop us a line at surfers@wyn.com or call us on 0755 796 520 to speak with our Reservations team if you are travelling to the Gold Coast again.

Until then....

Kind Regards,

Wyndham Surfers Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#16 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
0.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,817 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,150 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#12 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Property: Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Address: 3018 Surfers Paradise Blvd | (Cnr Markwell Ave), Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Azzura Surfers Paradise Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#11 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Surfers Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Surfers Paradise is ideally positioned to explore the brilliant attractions the Gold Coast has to offer.Built in 2009, the 17-storey hotel boasts a fresh, contemporary design. The deluxe, self-contained apartments have been stylishly appointed and offer magnificent views of the surrounding beaches and hinterland. All rooms include iPod docking stations and double glazed glass which assists with the sound and heat transfer for your convenience. Most rooms have Ocean or River and Hinterland views.The hotel has its own ground floor restaurant and cafe precinct and other facilities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, BBQ and recreation deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing