We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bittersweet”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Bittersweet”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

At first glance, Wyndham Surfers Paradise is modern, clean, comfortable and offs excellent value for money. The value for money part is true, but unfortunately we found many issues withour 8 night accommodation.

Firstly, the positives: a very modern and functional apartment. Excellent views of the ocean and hinterland. The cooking facilities were excellent but the equipment provided was very light on. The pool and spa area is great for kids, although the tiles around the pool are extremely slippery. The breakfast buffet is plentiful and offers a good variety of hot food in particular. The hotel staff were exceptional, especially Jan at Reception and Bradie who works tirelessly in the Restaurant area and is always smiling and accommodating. Great showers and a full sized bath with plush and plentiful towels etc.

Now, the negatives: the beds are amongst the worst I have ever encountered. As previous reviews have identified, they slope to one side and you feel like you are going to slide off. When we arrived we found a significantly blood-stained pillow case in the washing machine and a crumpled dirty sheet in a linen cupboard. The carpets and (very comfy) sofa are in need of a serious steam clean and the TV remote control was filthy. The DVD player was broken but was replaced with a new one as soon as we mentioned it. We ended up buying rinse aid for the dishwasher as it had none and the dishes we coming out quite streaky. We asked Reception for some but they sent Jo dish detergent instead. We also had to buy pillows for our two young children as the pillows are REALLY high and the hotel could not accommodate our request for more child- friendly pillows. On four of our eight nights, thumping music was clearly audible from an adjacent apartment, although Security acted on this when we complained. It is, however, a pity that we had to endure it in the first place as it was coming from the same apartment on three of the four occasions.

Expect the hard sell on the Worldmark ownership scheme which brings a lot of curious people into the building and to the breakfast buffet.

We enjoyed our stay overall, but will look elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear Shannon,

Thank you for your feedback, we are glad you enjoyed our facilities and customer service. We will ensure both Jan & Bradie are aware of your lovely comments. In regards to the concerns you had throughout your stay, we would most definitely like to apologise and will be following up with housekeeping. Please understand that this is not the experience we want our guests to have during their stay and we do hope you give us another chance to prove this.

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    238
    75
    41
    27
See reviews for
267
213
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed here last week for the first time. As members of Wyndham, I expected a room similar to the display suite we were shown..our room looked small & needs some tlc.
The kettle was disgusting & staff replaced it with a brand new one within 30mins. The bed linen had minor tears. No blankets supplied..I do not like sleeping with heating on all night. The bed consisted of 2singles pushed together with mattress topper. The mattress topper was small & did not fit over the edges which left lumps on each side of bed.
I think staff should show perspective members a REAL ROOM ..not a show room. Thats just false advertising to me.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lexxxxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Hi Lexxxy,

Thank you for your valuable feedback regarding the apartment you stayed in. We will most definitely look into all the points you have raised to ensure all departments pay closer attention to detail. We will also pass you feedback through to the Worldmark Club.

Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

As Worldmark owners there was much trepidation about our first stay. However we were pleasantly surprised. A very warm and professional welcome which helps when you've been driving all day. Not able to get a ocean view however the " hinterland view" was stunning especially at night. Room was clean, laundry facilities, slept quite well the mattress had a bit of a slope in it needs replacing. The water from the shower escapes between the shower screen and the hob water all over the floor. The shower screen also requires a rubber stopper as it hits the toilet,could be tragic if that shatters.
Breakfast is lovely $19 or $14 if you are a owner. The decor is refreshing and modern.
The staff at reception exceptionally accommodating and professional especially their attire keep up the standard girls.
Worth the value, signing up for next level hopefully fingers crossed.
We will be back every year.

Room Tip: Hinterland view opposite of beach faces the quays Check your house keeping this may not be part of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Florathexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Floratheexplorer,

We are overjoyed that you had the chance to use your Worldmark Ownership for the first time here at Wyndham Surfers Paradise. We will pass your great comments about our front office staff to them and we will all be looking forward to you coming back again next year. Thank you for the information with regards to your room, we will be following these up for you.

Thank you again, Kind Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We just checked into our room. We are staying on the 15th floor in a two bedroom deluxe room and requested an Ocean view room, but unfortunately ended up with Hinterland views instead. We chose this accomodation for its great location, but as for the room itself, i have to say im very dissapointed! The room is very small, the sofa is dirty and stained, the curtains in the second bedroom need maintenance as the sun streams through each end where they are falling down, and in my opinion the room is not as clean as it should be. We havent even spent one night here out of our two night stay, and have already decided we wont be back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanMareeD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hi DanMareeD

Thank you for taking the time to contact us regarding your stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the lack of attention to detail of your unit.

We trust that these issues have now been rectified. We apologise that your desired location at our resort could not be accommodated.

We want you to know how much we appreciate your visit to the resort and how much we value you as a guest . We hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
218 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Room 1702 top floor 2 bed room apartment for a wed night for 3 people.
Nice modern apartment, good size with plenty of quality appliances.
The sea facing balcony are excellent for watching the sun rise out of the sea each morning and also at night time they are good for viewing everybody going about there business.
My only concern is the bed which I found to be rather impossible to sleep in, it was like sleeping on a water bed.
For all the apartments that I have stayed in on the Gold Coast this was by in far the best and cleanest.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the sea view and ask for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaunScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Hi Shaunscotland,

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back anytime! Thank you for advising us about the bed - We will have a look into this.

Kind Regards

Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have just returned home from spending 6 nights at this hotel and i am very glad to be in my own bed as i found the bed at this hotel extremely hard and uncomfortable, our 'double' bed was 2 singles together and all i could feel when i rolled into the middle was hard lumps of the joining of the beds, not ideal when on a romantic holiday. I woke up with a sore back or side every morning, i cant say i have ever had issues before with hotel beds except this one.

I did pick this hotel based on the apartment style as the laundry would come in very handy, however the dryer did not work well, i set it on 60 minutes before i fell asleep and when my partner woke at 4am the dryer was still going, my clothes had been drying for around 6 hours, thank goodness nothing shrunk, turns out the dial did not work, i was lucky to have some fine weather and hung stuff out on the clothes horse provided.

This hotel is in a good location as its not to far from the centre of surfers but just far enough out to not hear all the hustle and bustle and when the trams are working it will be perfect for families with young children to jump on the tram to get into the centre. I felt very safe walking late at night as there are always people on the streets and liveliness all around. I stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment and it was very spacious, each room had plenty of room to move. The kitchen was well equipped with everything you could need. I did have issues with the TV reception and i called reception late at night to report it and the next day they sent maintenance to sort the problem out, when we returned from our day at the theme parks the problem with the reception was all fixed and they left a note saying what they did, i was glad it was fixed promptly. I personally would choose another hotel the next time i stay in Surfers Paradise.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaylah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Kayla D,

Thank you very much for staying with us here at Wyndham. We do thank you very much regarding your feedback and will be following up on the comments you have made with regards to the apartment you stayed in. We are glad you found our service prompt & the apartment spacious and do hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I found the staff to b efficient friendly and attentive. The apartment was unfortuanly not clean on arrival in regards to the bathrooms / toilets. The kitchen sink was also not clean. There were five girls on this weekend and when we requested top up re: coffee pods toilet rolls ect it was no trouble to have then replenished . All information I requested before arrival was ready at check in. The info requested was re transport to footy and on the blues festival. I pre ordered groceries to b delivered to the room pre arrival all were delivered placed in the refrigerator. The apartment was dated but had everything u could need dish washer full fridge washer dryer large tv wi bose sound system . TV in master bedroom . Views were fantastic from the balcony . The resorts pool was warm and well maintained .As was the spa . The screen around the back of the spa was dirty and distracted from the general appearance of the area. It did not impact on the cleanliness or use of the spa. We ordered food to b brought to the pool area it was prompt at good temp and very yummy . The resort was with in easy walking distance to supermarkets bottle shop transport beach and Cavil Av. . We felt safe re the security , swipe cards to activate lift and to enter room. We were made to feel welcome at the resort and staff were happy to chat. Over all we had a most enjoyable stay and would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Sky Suite so enjoyed higher standard factures and amenities .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shirl634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WYNSurfersParadise, Front Office Manager at Wyndham Surfers Paradise, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hi Shirl634,

We are very happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities, location and the level of customer service we enjoy showing our guests here at Wyndham. We will be following up with housekeeping regarding the cleanliness in the apartment and we appreciate you advising us of this.

Looking forward to seeing you back soon.

Kind Regards

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
0.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,947 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#11 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Property: Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Address: 3018 Surfers Paradise Bvd | (Cnr Markwell Ave), Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Azzura Surfers Paradise Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#13 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Surfers Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Surfers Paradise is ideally positioned to explore the brilliant attractions the Gold Coast has to offer.Built in 2009, the 17-storey hotel boasts a fresh, contemporary design. The deluxe, self-contained apartments have been stylishly appointed and offer magnificent views of the surrounding beaches and hinterland. All rooms include iPod docking stations and double glazed glass which assists with the sound and heat transfer for your convenience. Most rooms have Ocean or River and Hinterland views.The hotel has its own ground floor restaurant and cafe precinct and other facilities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, BBQ and recreation deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Wyndham Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing