We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, bad beds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Wyndham Surfers Paradise
Ranked #14 of 33 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Reviewed 18 December 2010

Very nice hotel. However I am writing this the morning after having no sleep for the second night due to the very uncomfortable beds! My back is killing me. Beds are just too soft compared to the many other hotel beds we have slept in. Otherwise great location with very good hinterland views and modern decor. Hotel is only 14months old.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kiwipride1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (761)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 761 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2010

Front desk help was the worst I have EVER experienced. Holly, specifically did not have and inviting customer friendly attitude needed in this industry. We were long term guests and felt unappreciated or as though we were putting them out of their way when we had a request of any kind. It is sad to say, we will never consider a stay, long or short term with this company.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank vanvore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2010

Great hotel in a great location. Now called WYNDHAM SURFERS PARADISE. Not beachfront but only 2 min walk, 3 min walk to Cavill Mall/ Cole/Woolies. The apartment was spotless and well stocked with all the necesseties.
The only complaints/downfalls are - not overly small child friendly in the apartments. Lots of sharp corners and glass tops. I ended up with things like toilet brush in the laundry to keep away from 2 year old hands. Also Qantas cxld our flight and put us on a new one ( not a problem ) but our luggage wasn't on new flight and was being delivered to the hotel ( not a problem ) the problem was the guy on reception didn't call to tell us it had arrived. I took restless/in need of shower 2 year old down to reception for a walk and there was our luggage- had been delivered 1/2 hour before. We had been in room whole time and no phone call. On a final note- pool is in shadow most of the morning but has a great sandy area for the little ones to play in. We had a great stay all in all.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justine_littlefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

My husband and i recently stayed at the Wyndham hotel and overall found it to be of a very good standard in an excellent location.
Rooms very clean and well equipped and spacious with everything you need for a self contained apartment. We were on the 6th floor and had pleasant views over the Nerang river.
During our stay the audible fire alarm was activated and it would appear that the staff were not familiar with the evacuation procedure with many guests using lifts to evacuate
instead of stairwell. Perhaps better signage and staff training need to be implemented.
Overall a most enjoyable experience

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vvienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2010

We stayed at the Wyndham for a weekend in October. Had been hoping to get away from the Melbourne cold for a bit but it rained for our entire stay on the Gold Coast.

We found it very handy to have an apartment when the weather was so bad. There isn't so much to do in Surfers Paradise when it is pouring down with rain the whole time.

The apartments are very new and modern. When we got to our apartment it was very clean. The kitchen was well equipped although we didn't use it much. We had what would have been nice views from our apartment if it had not been grey the whole time with a grey ocean. Parking was free. Check in was quick. The location was pretty good. Our room was quiet. I couldn't fault it on anything

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scez79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Wyndham Surfers Paradise in a 1 Bedroom Apartment. In the same booking, I booked a separate 1 Bedroom Apartment for my parents. I did this on hotelclub.com and paid just over $100 per room per night.

Upon check-in the facilities all looked nice, but to our surprise my parents were placed on a different floor. When we asked receiption if we could be on the same floor we were told it was going to be a full house for the weekend and we could not be moved. Might I offer some advice - if guests are staying for 4 nights (ie longer than the weekend) they should be given priority over those staying 1 or 2 nights... Lucky we didnt have children in another unit (because it was cheaper to hire 2x1br than 1x2br.

Apart from that, the rooms were very clean (no bath though). Rations were provided for dishwasher detergent etc. There was not enough provided to do the dishes daily and there were only 4 cups, plates etc.

We stayed on the 8th floor and had a great view of the hinterland. The verandah doors opened right up so great fresh air. Air conditioning worked with doors shut. My parents were upgraded to an ocean view on the 2nd floor. When they arrived, there was no view and they could barely see over the shops in front. Glad we werent paying for an ocean view, because it was a full house and they couldnt be moved. A room higher up on the hinterland side is much nicer!

Overall I would recommend it, especially over a small hotel room. Rooms were a very good size for 2 guests.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gillie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2010

I booked a 1-bedroom apartment for 1 night via the Agoda.com website and unfortunately, the booking did not reach the hotel. Luckily, the reception staff were fantastic - they were friendly, very apologetic and managed to find a room for me despite being booked out completely (note: they have emergency rooms for this type of situation). With evidence that I had already paid for the booking, they did not charge me further for the room. We were also able to utilise their complimentary carpark space.

The apartment itself was exceptionally clean, modern, trendy and comfortable. They rooms were also decent in size and had everything we needed. On the 13th floor, we had great views of Surfers Paradise and the Gold Coast hinterlands.

They are located close to public transport, restaurant and amenities (all walking distance).

Only one minor note to make: the hotel does request that you take rubbish to the rubbish chute located on the floor and we didn't have a problem with that.

Overall, our experience with the hotel was excellent and I would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank applemintfrappe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.3 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#13 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
629 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#8 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,725 reviews
0.1 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#7 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
1,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#5 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
2,881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mantra on View Hotel
Mantra on View Hotel
#10 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Surfers Paradise
Hilton Surfers Paradise
#12 of 33 in Surfers Paradise
3,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Surfers Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Surfers Paradise

Address: 3018 Surfers Paradise Bvd | (Cnr Markwell Ave), Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia (Formerly Azzura Surfers Paradise Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#8 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#14 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £77 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Surfers Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wyndham Surfers Paradise is ideally positioned to explore the brilliant attractions the Gold Coast has to offer.Built in 2009, the 17-storey hotel boasts a fresh, contemporary design. The deluxe, self-contained apartments have been stylishly appointed and offer magnificent views of the surrounding beaches and hinterland. All rooms include iPod docking stations and double glazed glass which assists with the sound and heat transfer for your convenience. Most rooms have Ocean or River and Hinterland views.The hotel has its own ground floor restaurant and cafe precinct and other facilities include an outdoor heated swimming pool and spa, BBQ and recreation deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Wyndham Surfers Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Hotel Surfers Paradise
Wyndham Surfers Paradise Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing