We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Tamborine Mountain Tour.”

Southern Cross 4WD Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$119.46*
and up
Gold Coast Lamington National Park and Tamborine Mountain 4WD Eco Tour
More Info
US$79.10*
and up
Mt Tamborine National Park 4WD Nocturnal Rainforest and Glow Worm Tour
More Info
US$71.03*
and up
World Heritage Springbrook National Park Tour Including Natural Bridge
Ranked #6 of 42 Tours in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southern Cross 4WD offers a range of 4WD Eco-Tours and customized packages throughout the Gold Coast Hinterland and surrounds. From Guided nature walks, animal spotting and bird feeding to off-road driving, wine tours, conferences and overnight camping, every tour is a unique experience and is catered around what YOU want to do! A day with SC4WD as a real experience not just another bus tour.Over 16 years of Hinterland Tour experience
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Perth
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Tamborine Mountain Tour.”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

This tour is one of the best we have been on.
A full day tour with everything included.
Pick up and drop off at where ever you are staying.
It includes all entrance fees, morning tea and lunch.
There are lots of pit stops which is very good for old farts like us with weak bladers.
Royd, our tour driver was very good. Lots of fun and jokes.
He is very good at spoting wildlife and with explanations of what we were looking at. He also knows how to throw a boomerang and is good at cracking a stock whip.
You get up close and personal with some of the birds. A tree top walk and a walk through some rain forrest. The views of the valleys and hills are very good.
We thought the cost of the tour was cheap for what you get.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank RossNPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    42
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun family adventure”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

What a fab full day tour this was. Was a little concerned as we took our 7 year old son. But it was full of fun,sightseeing, whip cracking, along with a great lunch. Everything provided, so whilst the tour does cost a bit - it's well worth it. Definitely value for money.
Our tour leader was Royd - and he was fantastic - very knowledgeable about the area, nothing was too much trouble, and he was great with junior!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BPaulVRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great day tour at Tamborine Mountain and Lamington National Park”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Overall, our party of five (two couples and one elderly) enjoyed the day tour. Neville was a great guide and proved to be very knowledgeable. There was even an incident that he had to give up his "fish" to us, as someone else swapped beef for fish (our lunch order, where we could choose between chicken, beef or fish). Great sense of humor too. Spend the majority of the time on the bus (as expected of most tours), but all of the checkpoints were enjoyable one way or another.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb and excellant”
Reviewed 26 September 2012

Dont let the cost affect your decision in booking a full day private tour.
I would say money well spent when me, my brother and my boyfriend decides to go on this tour.

Firstly, our tour guide Royd was a excellant.
We were kinda of late in the mornings but royd was patiently waiting at grosvenor beachfront patiently for us.

He is an excellant tour guide and knows his facts and work.

the off road driving was excellant but a little bit to short. Feels like a rollar coaster and we had fun trying to spot for koalas in the trees. You can hear them but never seee them.

Trying of boomerang was fun, royd teach us how to make a good try and how to make it turn back towards us.
Next of we had my superb morning tea of scones with jam. nice morning tea, no so sweet. had long black and chocolate and cappuccino.

He shows us alot of stuff and teaches us more about tree, spiders, and turkeys

we went on the gallery walk and enjoy some club red and moon shine. Be sure to get both when u visit. Club red and moonshine is fantastic.

we also went to see a million dollar view and enjoy the tours and tree top walks.

along the way down we had an adventure of helping another camper pushing his camper van which had sunken into the soft side.
He mention that any Australian who see people in need in the mountains will usually stop to see what help they might need. My brother and boyfriend had the luxury of helping to push the camper van off and onto the road.
Unexpected experience which you never get to enjoy in singapore.

He even showed us wallabies..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank meowfy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, Northland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Helen & Margy”
Reviewed 22 August 2012

This trip was the highlight of our week on the Gold Coast. Our driver/guide Royd made the trip. His knowledge of the area and its history was awesome and he also made the day fun.
Everything about the day was well done. Lovely morning tea & lunch. Some laughs with the attempts at Boomerang throwing. And we gave the whip cracking a miss but enjoyed watching the others. And it was the most comfortable 4WD we have travelled in. All in all a highly recomendable trip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Cross 4WD Tours also viewed

 

Been to Southern Cross 4WD Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing