We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantanstic Trip with SC4WD to Mt. Tamborine”

Southern Cross 4WD Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$119.19*
and up
Gold Coast Lamington National Park and Tamborine Mountain 4WD Eco Tour
More Info
US$78.92*
and up
Mt Tamborine National Park 4WD Nocturnal Rainforest and Glow Worm Tour
More Info
US$70.87*
and up
World Heritage Springbrook National Park Tour Including Natural Bridge
Ranked #6 of 42 Tours in Surfers Paradise
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Southern Cross 4WD offers a range of 4WD Eco-Tours and customized packages throughout the Gold Coast Hinterland and surrounds. From Guided nature walks, animal spotting and bird feeding to off-road driving, wine tours, conferences and overnight camping, every tour is a unique experience and is catered around what YOU want to do! A day with SC4WD as a real experience not just another bus tour.Over 16 years of Hinterland Tour experience
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Klang, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantanstic Trip with SC4WD to Mt. Tamborine”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

I have engaged a full day tour with SC4WD for my family group of 16 people to Mt Tamborine and Lamington on 25/05. We were sit in a Mercedes 16 pax 4WD and toured by Darran. Everyone was happy and have a great experience. No one ever thought that can have 4WD experience in a 16 pax MPV but Darran did that. The kids enjoying the whip cracking and boomerang very much. I should said it's a must join trip when you are in GC.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank orange_ohayo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    42
    6
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"A fabulous start to our holiday"”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

As there is major roadworks in Surfers, we appreciated being picked up from our hotel by Royd as guide and Trent as driver. We spent a wonderful day at Mt Tamborine and Lamington National Park. Royd's commentary and sense of humour throughtout the day was great. It is a well planned itinery with morning tea and lunch and a lot of fun with whips and boomerangs. At O'rielly's we walked through the rainforest and did the canopy walk, which is magnificent. Fed birds before returning to Surfers. It was a great day and a lot of fun. My husband and I really enjoyed it, and highly recommend this tour.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Veronica J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

We did this tour as part of a Queensland cruise with Royal Caribbean. It was marketed as "Mt. Tamborine 4WD Experience" in the Shore Excursions for Brisbane. We were picked up at the port by our guide, Neville, who was extremely friendly and knowledgeable. We were in a group of about 12 people, and we all piled into a large minivan with huge 4WD tires. We were on the interstate for about 45 minutes, and then went offroad up a mountain, which was bumpy (to say the least...if you hadn't been wearing a seatbelt you would have been thrown out of the car). He pulled over for a few scenic stops, then at the top we had scones and tea/coffee at a little garden house that is used for weddings, which was very nice. We then drove to the entrance to a hiking trail, where we did a short 20 minute hike to a waterfall. We got back in the van for a trip to the shopping area nearby, which has mostly touristy souvenir shops (nothing you would really want to buy). We then went to a campground for a delicious BBQ lunch, and Neville showed us how to throw a boomerang (though you could tell the Aussies at the campground thought we were ridiculous tourists). Next was a quick wine tasting at a vineyard nearby, then we headed back to the ship. All of that really took the whole day, from 8:30 to about 5:30. It was nice riding in the van from stop to stop, just to see the beautiful countryside. The only bad thing that happened was that Neville miscounted the passengers once and left a solo traveler behind in the shopping village! He got a call after we were about 30 minutes away, so we had to go back and get him. You could tell Neville felt horrible about it and that this was not a normal occurence.

The only negative thing about this tour was all of the bumpy, windy, mountain roads you have to ride on. It seems like they never end. If you easily get carsick, this is not the thing to do, but otherwise it's great!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lmccurdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
1 review
“This was the best tour we have ever done”
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Picked up from hotel, spent a very pleasant day with Royd as a guide. The Itinerary was well thought out and we were never rushed along as has happened to me before on tours. Excellent morning tea and lunch provided at beautiful locations added to the experience. My mum is a fit 83 year old and managed all the physical parts of the tour although did not try the boomerang throwing lessons which we enjoyed as well. We had Royd ducking a few times which added to the entertainment as he is such a good sport. My partner was not keen to go but ended up the biggest fan and voted this the best tour ever.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue-Ellen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great day out away from busy Surfers”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are on a weeks holiday staying in Surfers and we've spent our days at theme parks and the busy beaches. This tour was a wonderful way to see more of what Queensland has to offer. Our guide, Chris was friendly from the get go and informative about anything and everything throughout the trip. Very entertaining! We were also lucky enough to meet the boss, Darren, who picked us up after the morning as we were doing the half day tour. Darren chatted away like we were old mates and kept up the interesting facts about the area but also shared stories about what life is like living in the region. The only reason we didn't do the full tour is because I get motion sickness and the roads were very windy! If I had of been better prepared and taken something for it, I reckon we would've had a brilliant full day. Highly recommended

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kyliekelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Southern Cross 4WD Tours also viewed

 

Been to Southern Cross 4WD Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing