We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very mixed feelings on Surfers Riverside Apartments” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfers Riverside Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Surfers Riverside Apartments
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very mixed feelings on Surfers Riverside Apartments”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our family of four stayed here in a two bedroom apartment for 5 nights over Easter and school holidays. We have very mixed feelings about our stay. For the price I wasn't expecting flash but clean and nice.
Location is great, a very short walk to Cavill Ave, shops and restaurants, supermarket.
Size of the apartment is also good, plenty of room, we had two bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, lounge, dining and large kitchen.
Reception was not open at all over the weekend, they sent us an email the day we departed New Zealand to let us know this and how to get in, access the locked box for our room key. If I hadnt checked our emails for that one last time before leaving home for the airport we would never have received this and therefore not been able to get in. I booked in February so feel they could have sent the email sooner than the day before.
We paid for a deluxe apartment, and do not believe we received this.
First impressions were not good, the floor in the kitchen was filfthy, pots in the cupboard still had food stuck on them, the top of the dishwasher was still full of dirtly glasses and coffee mugs. Broken glasses in the cupboard. the couch needs replacing as it has broken springs, full of dirt under the cushions. the dryer did not work. The screen door we could not open, but luckily my husband was able to fix this. therefore we were not happy that we had to wait 3 days for the office to open to address some of the issues, which when I did bring them up with the lady at reception, she really didn't have much to say so therefore I do not feel she took anything seriously.

So would I recommend these apartments and stay here again, maybe, they are a good price and in a good location, maybe if you ask for the apartment numbers some others mention you will be ok.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5fromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    19
    10
    5
    11
See reviews for
37
12
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Maroochydore, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Just stayed in unit 6 whilst visiting for a conference. It was recommended to me and lived up to all my expectations. This unit has been newly renovated and furnished and has awesome views of the water. It also has a huge outdoor living area and direct access to the pool. Definitely the best unit in the block. Will be sure to stay in unit 6 again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for Unit 6 - it's the best in the block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shana L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here for 4nights, we were unsure of what to expect but we were very surprised once we opened the door. Firstly the apartment was a great size for a 1bedroom, it had a great size kitchen which included all the amenities needed ( large fridge freezer, large dishwasher, cooker and all utensils), great size living and dining room and the bedroom with its en-suite was amazing. The apartment also included a utility room which included a washing machine and dryer along with double shower and toilet, which you also get in the en-suite. I would highly recommend this rather than paying for a hotel in the area of a hostel. The one other thing is that if you venture down to the pool you will see that the property backs onto a river which is a plus, it really is beautiful. The only thing I would say is that reception seems to be closed a lot, even when it is suppose to be open, and with a wooden sign saying closed it is not very professional. If you stay here request apartment 8 its great.

Room Tip: Ask for apartment 8!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

We went into this unit not expecting much, and it wasn't terrible, but it wasn't great either. For the cheap price you are paying its alright. I'm sure there's more expensive places out there that are worse.

The 2 bedroom unit itself was decently sized, and was generally clean. The ensuite shower need a good scrub, but the main bath was cleaner.

The airconditioner was new & worked well. The pool area was clean and tidy whenever we went down there. The main issue I had was that being so close to the neighbouring unit blocks you get a lot of noise coming into the unit from both sides, which is something you can't control.

It is close to Cavill Ave & the shops. It is a walkup unit block so don't expect lifts, however, you can park pretty much adjacent to the stairwell which makes it easier to unload / load the car.

Overall for the price its ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b_long176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

We arrived at approximately 2.10pm on the Sunday (5/1/2014). Reception was not open!!! The phone just before the gate was very hard to get working and when it did we had to leave a message for management to find out how do we get in. Guess what: there was no answer: 3 times we tried. We were fortunate that the old manager was driving out of the garage and saw we were standing there like idiots. The key was in the little locked box. We would have still been standing there if she didn't come along.
We walked up the stairs excited of course only to be greeted by a disgusting smell when we opened the door. My heart sank! We paid for a deluxe apartment which we got but it was a disgrace. Vertical blinds were missing, the floors/carpets were filthy, kitchen cupboards smelt when you opened them. The balcony was dirty and on the little table was an astray; which was home to 10 cigarette butts. The shower in the main bedroom had mould growing so I decided to wear thongs in the shower. The tracks for the windows were caked in dirt & grime, there were holes in the walls which were also severely marked by dirty grubby hands. To top it of the couch smelt and looked yukky and when you lifted the cushions up, there was food underneath mixed with lots of dirt.
The family decided to go for a swim. The pool looked inviting but as you walked toward the area it was a filthy mess. The garbage bin was over flowing with rubbish, a pair of shoes were left behind, cigarette butts on the ground, alcohol bottles and the smell of stale alcohol was putrid. We decided to cook breakfast before we went to Wet 'n' Wild, on the Monday morning only to find the frypan was still dirty and there was no egg lifter. Also one of the hotplates was not working when we tried to hurry things along.
The advertisement of this holiday apartment for me was misleading. I wasn't expecting the world and to have champagne waiting however I was expecting to start our small holiday with a good, clean well maintained apartment.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Surfers Paradise hotels

Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Didn't get off to a good start when we arrived late and realised the extra bed we ordered hadn't been provided. One guest had to sleep on the couch for the first night & the extra we paid for the bed was not refunded.

There were marks all over the walls & the air-conditioning did not work. There was also a bad smell in the apartment.

The furniture was cheap and uncomfortable. One of the beds gave way while one (60kg) girl was laying on it. We rang management straight away and told them what happened. We requested a new bed or to be moved. They didn't arrive until 7.30pm that night to move us but we had to leave to go to a concert. So we had to come back and sleep on the broken bed.

The next day when we checked out they told us we were going to be charged $200 for the bed! We argued the point for about half an hour but they wouldn't budge.

Positives were that it was cheap, had two bathrooms and a nice kitchen. Close to Surfers. But it was probably the worst customer service experience I've had with the bed situation. Would definitely warn against staying at these apartments.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed for a week and had the best time.The apartment was better than we expected, very big,modern and clean.The place provided us with all the kitchen supplies,washing machine, TV, fridge.We felt the place just like home. The staff was very friendly and helpful.Rate was very reasonable compared to many other apartments.We had a beautiful view.The location was great!
Walking distance to surfers beach,minutes from bus stop to theme parks.Everything was perfect for us, no complaints....Definitely come back:)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephygeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.0 mi away
Surfers Del Rey Apartments
Surfers Del Rey Apartments
#97 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise Island Resort
Paradise Island Resort
#98 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chevron Palms Holiday Apartments
Chevron Palms Holiday Apartments
#73 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Warringa Surf Apartments
Warringa Surf Apartments
#66 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Trilogy Surfers Paradise
Trilogy Surfers Paradise
#33 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacapri Holiday Resort Apartments
Anacapri Holiday Resort Apartmen...
#122 of 125 in Surfers Paradise
3.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfers Riverside Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfers Riverside Apartments

Property: Surfers Riverside Apartments
Address: 41 Peninsular Dr, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 125 Speciality Lodging in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfers Riverside Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surfers Riverside, the name says it all! Located on the Nerang river, Surfers Riverside is situated just 5mins walk from the heart of Surfers Paradise, and just 7mins from one of Queensland's best beaches. What's even better is that while it's so close to all the action, Surfers Riverside is located in a quiet family friendly area.Surfers Riverside is a 3½ star complex, perfect for you and the whole family. It features a heated pool, outdoor BBQ and a private jetty for fishing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Surfers Riverside Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfers Riverside Apartments Hotel Surfers Paradise
Surfers Riverside Apartments Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing