We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude Staff”
Review of D'Arcy Arms Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
D'Arcy Arms Motel
Reviewed 5 August 2013

A group of about 7 of us stayed in 3 rooms. The staff were rude and the service in the bar is dismal at best. Would not stay here ever again. Upon arraigning to pay for the rooms when everybody arrived, a staff member spoke rudely and insinuated that we were trying to get out of paying, even though another staff member asked us to return later. Badly managed, very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittney24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (41)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 41 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2013

My husband and I, my son and his girlfriend AND my nephew stayed just the one night and had a great time at the bar before heading out for dinner in Surfers. What a fabulously friendly place and fantastic value for money. Parking on site at no extra charge and large family rooms very suitable to a family get together.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

We were met by the manager with a handshake and told our trailer was no trouble at all. He could not have been anymore welcoming or helpful. A great value for money place to stay with take away mini convenience and bottle shop close and the hub of surfers within a short beach walk. Will certainly stay again when passing through.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I used to stay here all the time, but it changed management about 12months ago and I don't bother anymore. The food isn't as good, and the new managers are not great. They are more into having a drink with mates up at the bar (just around the corner from the front door) than looking after the people at the hotel reception.
The rooms are basic, but clean and the beds are comfy.
The location is great and it was always very well priced.
The atmosphere in the irish bar is great, I just wish the old chef and management team (older lady??) were still there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Small, clean and very happy with the stay a lot better then the large big name hotels, you feel like a person here not a booking number. Will always stay here when on the Gold Coast, I have no need for cooking facilities. Will be back

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeraKol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is a great little place to stay if visiting Surfers Paradise.
It's on the outskirts of the resort, so you're away from the hustle and bustle, but within walking distance of the resort centre.
The rooms are clean and well maintained, staff are friendly, and a warm Irish welcome awaits you in the bar! The D'arcy also offers an excellent restaurant, with an extensive menu to suit most tastes.
I've stayed there twice, and can't wait for my next visit in 2013!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulN09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2010

Firstly the staff are very friendly
The rooms are clean & the property every offers a swimming pool
The restaurant gets quite busy on a Saturday night & is definately worth a try!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MSCBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,677 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mantra Legends Hotel
Mantra Legends Hotel
#9 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,479 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Peppers Soul
Peppers Soul
#1 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
2,316 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
Alpha Sovereign Hotel
#17 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
867 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#7 of 31 in Surfers Paradise
1,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Arcy Arms Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Arcy Arms Motel

Address: 2923 Gold Coast Hwy | Cnr Fredrick St, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Surfers Paradise
Price Range: £64 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — D'Arcy Arms Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your D'Arcy Arms Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
D'Arcy Arms Motel Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing