We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Ranked #12 of 32 Hotels in Surfers Paradise
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

We're still here at Hilton Surfers Paradise we checked in on boxing day. Check in was quite quick but what we hated the most was that we were told by the receptionist because we got a discounted room so we had to use our credit card for bond. We didn't need to be told because normally we'll use our credit card for bond anyways. That was so rude.

Second problem was we were given a disable room which the bathroom shower was set for disable person which pretty much means huge space with no water stoppage so when you shower water pretty much covers the floor & so much cleaning afterwards. So what we see is don't bother paying for a discounted room because they'll put you in a disable room.

Third issue was toilet was never cleaned from the last tenant. It was disgusting. Why didn't the housekeeper clean it? Isn't that their duty? This is not a good impression for a 5 star hotel with a good reputation.

We would like to see more improvements & we never had any problems with other Hilton hotels or apartments. So sad that Hilton surfers treats their Hilton loyal customers so bad!

Really disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MeLuvHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 4 January 2012
Dear Guccibabe,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay at Hilton Surfers Paradise.
I apologise that your experience of the Surfers Paradise Hilton did not meet your expectations. We have a great variety of different room types and aim to cater to all our guest needs whilst maintain the great Hilton style and service. I sincerely hope that despite the disappointments you had during your stay you found the remainder of the facilities to your liking.

Should you wish to discuss your feedback further please don’t hesitate to contact my office directly.
Kind Regards,

David Kelly
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    895
    530
    302
    179
See reviews for
1,085
1,034
104
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Had a special dinner for a group at Salt Grill- exceptional on all levels and so nice that the prices were reasonable especially compared to some older Brisbane restaurants or street side Gold Coast ones that charge a lot more for much less. Complimentary freshly made breads! Nice touch that seems to be disappearing. The staff were exceptional from the front door arrival to each waiter or host we met. The decor is gorgeous, there is space to enjoy and not be sitting on top of the guests next to you. Food is stunning and beautifully presented and the signature lime and licorice parfait is exceptional. We ordered an extra one it was so good. We were here in the middle of schoolies but had arranged transport so it was fine. The location will be a test but for a great dining experience, try it. Really well done.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TCK33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSP, Luke Mangan at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2012
Dear TCK33

Thanks very much for your comments and kind words about salt grill.
My goal in the restaurant business is to please every customer as we have seemed to please you. Sadly it doesn't happen all the time, but notes like yours helps me and all our fantastic staff understand our goal and when we manage to make the experience happen, it makes it all worthwhile.
Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards
Luke
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
135 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

This is not the luxury 5 star Hilton experience. It's more like an apartment tower than a hotel. Basic facilities are ok but its the location that is the big killer. It is right in the middle of Surfers Paradise's nightclub district. This is one of the noisiest places in Australia any night of the week after 10PM. I am pretty certain that the windows in the hotel are NOT sound proof. We got no sleep with foul language, fights and noise vibrating through the hotel

Room Tip: Try the Marriott
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BrisbaneNewDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

We had our boys only weekend to Gold Coast in Dec-11 and stayed at this hotel apartment. The 2 bedroom apartment we were in was on the 19th floor. The view of the ocean was partly obstructed by the neighboring Hilton building but since the balcony was really wide, we got really good views of the ocean and the city.

The location is one the best in Gold Coast - just go down the lift are you in the heart of the city and nightlife. The beach is just a few steps away and plenty of good restaurants everywhere. We used the pool and sauna facilities and found it to be fantastic.

We will stay here again when we visit Gold Coast next time.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank h0liday-all-the-time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
461 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

For the money, we expected something special. Getting into the car park and up to reception is bait of a trial, but the real shock was that lobby and the ticket desk which passes for reception. We really thought that someone had beamed us to an underground metro station somewhere. Grey, dark, pokey, austere ... no class or style. And this follows thru to hallways, rooms, etc. actually the halls stank of new plastic gas, most unsettling. A 2 bedroom apartment in the residences was OK, if a bit plain and de minimus. Staff tried hard and nothing particularly wrong, reasonable but unexceptional facilities, but just very little class to this joint. The hotel is pretty central if you like the strip mentality, but does get noisy at night. Don't think this place will look too good in 5 years! For the money, there is better on the Coast.

Room Tip: Higher and further away from the noise, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Constant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Recently stayed here for work and I can honestly say it was like being in holidays! What a great experience. Polite, friendly staff, beautiful rooms, lovely facilities. I would happily stay here again and will be asking for this hotel whenever I'm on the coast for business.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penylane26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Lovely new hotel with clean, smart rooms, very comfy bed (love those pillows! - in fact would like to know where I can buy them) and lovely spacious bathroom (with requested bath - thank you).

The stand out for us was the service, it was what we'd expect from a 5 star hotel and very friendly. Breakfast was also excellent with eggs and decent coffee made to order.

As other people have mentioned it was noisey on a Friday night, I had read previous reviews and brought along some ear plugs and my husband slept through it so it didn't really bother us.

I should also mention the lovely spa, well worth splashing out for a wonderfully relaxing experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HNabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiltonSP, General Manager at Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Dear HNabu,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay at Hilton Surfers Paradise.

It is great to hear that you found the service, and our friendly staff a stand out of your stay. I will ensure that your feedback is passed on to the team.

Our breakfast service in both Salt grill by Luke Mangan and at The Food Store often receive compliments and it is great that you also found this enjoyable.

eforea Spa is well worth an experience, and we encourage both guests to the hotel and locals in the area to try our Spa and Spa services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Hilton Surfers Paradise and I am delighted to hear that despite the need for earplugs you had an overall excellent experience.

Kind Regards,

David Kelly
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Surfers Paradise hotels
0.1 mi away
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
Peppers Soul Surfers Paradise
#1 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,957 reviews
0.4 mi away
QT Gold Coast
QT Gold Coast
#4 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,607 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Surfers Paradise
Novotel Surfers Paradise
#14 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
3.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mantra Circle on Cavill
Mantra Circle on Cavill
#7 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,944 reviews
0.4 mi away
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
Watermark Hotel & Spa Gold Coast
#8 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
Crowne Plaza Surfers Paradise
#6 of 32 in Surfers Paradise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel

Property: Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel
Address: 6 Orchid Avenue, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland 4217, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Gold Coast > Surfers Paradise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#6 Business Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Spa Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#7 Romantic Hotel in Surfers Paradise
#12 Luxury Hotel in Surfers Paradise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Surfers Paradise is the ultimate Gold Coast retreat, with famous beaches, shopping, dining and entertainment located right at the door step. The urban style resort offers a host of leisure facilities including four heated swimming pools, an indoor spa and sauna, pool bar, two gymnasiums and a theatre. For your comfort, the property is also home to an Executive Lounge with spectacular views of the Gold Coast from its' 15th floor location. The new signature restaurant at Hilton Surfers Paradise, Catch, offers a coastal atmosphere, and a menu focusing on fresh, sustainable seafood. As one of the newest 5 star hotels in the region, Hilton Surfers Paradise combines world class service and style with the benefits of a premier location to deliver an experience that promises life long memories. When staying at Hilton Surfers Paradise, you have the option of hotel rooms and suites, or the fully serviced, self contained, apartment style residence, which come complete with kitchen, laundry and separate living space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel And Residences
Hilton Surfers Paradise Hotel Gold Coast, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing